We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
HYATT house Charlotte Center City
Ranked #10 of 180 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2012

We flew to Charlotte on 11/10/12 for the sole purpose of going to see the Denver Broncos play the Carolina Panthers and stayed in this hotel for two nights. We had a king bed and the room had a little sitting area with a couch and another chair. Mini kitchen had everything you could need for a few night stay, including utensils, a dishwasher, full fridge, and a wine bottle opener. Hotel was great- bed was comfortable (on the firm side, which I love, but not everyone does), bathroom was nice, room was clean, etc. Front desk staff were great and helpful. The business center was right in front of the elevators and we had no trouble printing off our boarding passes for our flights. The hot breakfast was good and the omelet station was fantastic! Staff during breakfast was extremely nice, funny, and friendly. Actually, everyone we made contact with during our stay was friendly- from housekeeping to the maintenance man we talked to in the elevator! We did walk onto the outside patio area that had the very small outdoor pool - it was off of the 7th floor. Good area to take a glass of wine or a cocktail and sit outside and look at the city. For our purposes, the hotel was about a mile from the NFL stadium (Bank of America Stadium). It was an enjoyable walk through the downtown (or uptown as they call it) area. Yes, the hotel is near the bus terminal station but we did not feel unsafe as some of the other reviewers mentioned. There were police/security outside whenever we walked by, no matter the time of day/night. The hotel is within walking distance to most of the restaurants/bars in the uptown area. The hotel is right next to Time Warner if you are traveling for a basketball game or concert. We were able to go to a bar at the Epicenter (about two blocks away) called Howling at the Moon. It was a dueling piano bar and we highly recommend! We didn't use any bus or train services while there. We did take a taxi from the aiport to the hotel and it was $25.00 each way (not including tip). The hotel was less than 10 miles from the airport. This was our first trip to Charlotte and we enjoyed every second!

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank INBroncosfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matthew_allen30, Director of Sales at HYATT house Charlotte Center City, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2012

Wow! Thank you so much for your review! It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay so much while you were with us. Please come back and see us anytime you are in Charlotte.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,142 - 1,148 of 1,334 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2012 via mobile

Very nice and clean! Up to date rooms and very clean. Great hot breakfast and the bar is loaded with good beers and spirits! The hotel has a great location and its easy to walk just about anywhere in the up-town area! I'll stay there again!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Capt Jot O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matthew_allen30, Director of Sales at HYATT house Charlotte Center City, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2012

Thank you so much for your fantastic review, I hope we will see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We stayed at the Hyatt House when we were in town for a Panthers game. The room was very well laid out and everything is new and clean looking. The bed was VERY comfortable and the bathroom is nicer than mine at home. Breakfast was pretty good but the waffles were a little hard. Next time I would wait in line for the omelette station, it looked really tasty.

My only complaint (which is not necessarily the hotel's fault) is that we could hear other (loud) guests coming in at all hours of the night. Maybe a little soundproofing would help? Other than that, our stay was great.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bsutherland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matthew_allen30, Director of Sales at HYATT house Charlotte Center City, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2012

Thank you for leaving such a great review for us! It is too bad you did not have a chance to try one of our omelets, they are fantastic!
Please come back and see us anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012 via mobile

Flew to Charlotte with my son for a Panther game. The hotel was a block from where the Bobcats play so we happened upon tickets while walking to dinner Saturday night. Hotel is close to everything & it is one of the nicest hotels I've stayed in & I'm a hotel snob! Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gdonavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matthew_allen30, Director of Sales at HYATT house Charlotte Center City, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2012

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, and were able to see so much of Charlotte!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

This hotel WOWED me right away when I got into my room. The room's spaciousness and features were just great and sold me. The bed was INCREDIBLY comfortable and the bath was nice, with a walk in shower. The kitchen area was super nice, with the ability to store plenty of food and make plenty too. It was really a studio apartment. My only problem with the room was that there was no remote for my TV and even after asking for it twice, I never received one. The hotel gave me a small adjustment on the price of a room due to this issue, which was appreciated. Additionally there were a couple areas in the room that weren't as clean as I thought they should be (smudges on the windows, areas on the sink that weren't super clean, etc) and I really hate the in room toiletries they provide as they are extremely perfumed.

The lobby and breakfast were very nice. The breakfast makes the price even better. Parking is a bit weird, esp. if you aren't familiar with it before you go. It is valet only (22/night, with in/out privileges) and you pull in as if you would go into a garage, right next to the hotel lobby entry doors.

Gym area looked nice enough, but I didn't g3et a chance to use it.

Overall...really enjoyed this hotel and will stay there again, along with trying to find this hotel in other cities.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank efm16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matthew_allen30, Director of Sales at HYATT house Charlotte Center City, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us.
We do apologize for you not having a remote, and again for not getting one. We have discussed the policies with our front desk staff about room requests/needs so this does not happen again.
Also, we have brought your housekeeping issues to our housekeeping department. We do pride ourselves on cleanliness, and want to make sure we do not overlook something like this again.
As far as the bathroom products, we do get a lot of people that love them, and some that do not. We are going to be changing our products soon, still keeping the Gilchrist & Soames name, but a new line that will not be as fragrant.
I hope you come back to see us again in the future, and we are happy you will become a new HYATT house guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

We were in town for business & this hotel was perfect.

Nice size room, super comfy beds, free WiFi, pool, 24hr gym & a full breakfast spread including omelette station which was awesome!

Right beside the arena, close to the football stadium (unfortunately no games were in town) & a few minutes walk to everything else downtown.

On top of all that the staff was very friendly. Shout out to the chef at the omelette station Tuesday morning (30th) who re-opened & made us breakfast even though we rolled in a half hour after it was closed. These are the little things that add up to a great stay.

A few tips in the town. For fine dining check out Blu on N College. Great food with a different menu (try the wild boar) & live jazz. For a solid sports bar with good bar food, lots of TVs & many beers on tap hit up the Carolina Ale House on S College. Both are a 5-10 min walk from the hotel.

Overall I was impressed with the city of Charlotte. Hopefully I'll have a reason to return & if so I wouldn't hesitate to book this hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matthew_allen30, Director of Sales at HYATT house Charlotte Center City, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2012

Thank you so much for your great review of our hotel. It is good you were able to explore a little bit of our city as well and enjoyed yourself. Please come back and see us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012 via mobile

The hotel is amazing. Super clean, modern, and the location couldn't be better. The breakfast was great and the staff was friendly and helpful. I travel to the area frequently and this is where I will be staying for the future visits.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matthew_allen30, Director of Sales at HYATT house Charlotte Center City, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2012

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel! We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Charlotte.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Second Ward
Hyatt Place Charlotte Downtown
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Second Ward
The Westin Charlotte
The Westin Charlotte
#34 of 180 in Charlotte
1,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Third Ward
Charlotte Marriott City Center
Fourth Ward
The Ivey's Hotel
The Ivey's Hotel
#1 of 180 in Charlotte
180 reviews
Second Ward
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT house Charlotte Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Charlotte Center City

Address: 435 E Trade St, Charlotte, NC 28202-2427 (Formerly Hotel Sierra Charlotte Center City)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 180 Hotels in Charlotte
Price Range: £115 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Charlotte Center City 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt house Charlotte Center City blends urban chic with the convenience of guest-empowered travel thru intelligent design, stress-free service and free-flowing amenities. Its 163 smartly designed guestrooms + suites feature flat panel TVs, MP3 docking stations and waffle terry bathrobes while free details include breakfast with made-to-order omelets, Starbucks brewed coffee and WI-FI throughout. Sample small plates, sip and socialize at the HBAR or Rooftop Terrace with lounge pool, alluring fireplace and cozy seating. Conveniently located adjacent to Time Warner Cable Arena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your HYATT house Charlotte Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing