We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night business stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
HYATT house Charlotte Airport
Ranked #24 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Illinois
Level Contributor
149 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“One night business stay”
Reviewed 16 December 2011

I chose this airport hotel because I had to fly out of Charlotte after a long day of meetings in the Asheville area. The front desk clerk was very friendly and quick, which I certainly appreciated! The lobby was simple but nice. The rooms are large and well appointed, but could use some updating (carpet especially). Breakfast was very good And I especially liked the coffee! Overall, I would give this hotel high marks and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MLB33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    130
    47
    37
    19
See reviews for
159
90
27
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

My wife and I planned a one night getaway and our experience at this Hotel was wonderful.
Booking my Reservation was fast and easy and the Sales Manager whom I spoke with was very Professional and Friendly. Upon Check In and Check Out, both Front Desk Agents were very pleasant and extremely accommodating. Our Suite was outstanding! The Living Room offered a Sectional Couch with a Pull Out Sofa Bed and also include a Chaise. Two flat screen TV's, one in the Living Room was 42" and the other in the Bedroom was 37". The Suite was very clean and offered a full service Kitchen with a Dishwasher! Breakfast was awesome. Not a single complaint from either my wife or I and both of us will be back again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vinny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matthew_allen30, Director of Sales at HYATT house Charlotte Airport, responded to this review, 1 December 2011
Wow! Thank you so much for your excellent review! We are all very pleased to hear you and your wife enjoyed your stay here. Please let us know if you ever need another weekend getaway, we would be happy to host you!

Best regards,

Matt Allen
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

I stayed here for business in early November. While I have been to Charlotte a few times, this was my first time here as most of the city was sold out due to a convention. On the plus side, the staff was very friendly and helpful. The exercise room was very nice, considering the size of this property. The hotel was clean, quiet and located near my work in a safe area. On the downside, this hotel is in desperate need of a upgrade/renovation. The walls and carpets in the halls are scuffed up from repeated wear. The air conditioner units and bathroom vents are full of dust and grime. The decor is straight out of the 1980's. The rooms are dark and depressing. While I appreciated the kind service I received, I was never happier then on my check out day.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelman1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matthew_allen30, Director of Sales at HYATT house Charlotte Airport, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your total stay. I am sorry that our decor and style were not up to your standards. Please note however we will be changing from a Hyatt Summerfield to a Hyatt House over the next year. With that will bring a full hotel renovation from our Guest House, Guest Rooms, Outdoor Patio, and our Food and Beverage options.
Please keep us in mind the next time you come to town, we promise that we will keep the hotel clean and friendly for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
201 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

I selected this property based upon the positive reviews posted on Trip Advisor. I was not disappointed. The property is clean, quiet, safe, the breakfast is very good, the people are friendly.

One warning, the driver and the front desk attendant in the evening did not advise that in the morning the shuttle only runs on the hour to the airport. The driver did make a second run for me, but the morning desk clerk initially indicated that I would have to wait, which could have caused problems at the airport.

Other than this potential issue with the shuttle van, which only requires clear communication upon check in,

this property is superb!~

Room Tip: The hotel is already in a quiet area. Other than guests who create noise, any room should be fine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bdsbjmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matthew_allen30, Director of Sales at HYATT house Charlotte Airport, responded to this review, 4 November 2011
Thank you for your review of our hotel, we appreciate all the feedback we get from our guests.
I am very happy you enjoyed your stay overall, and I do apologize we did not communicate our shuttle policy to you. We have gone ahead and added the shuttle policy during our check in "Tour" of our hotel and we hope to make sure this problem does not occur again.
Thank you again, and please let us know if you need anything additional from us. We look forward to seeing you the next time you come through Charlotte!

Matt Allen
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Stayed 2 nights at this mid-rise (5 floors) hotel not too far from the airport. The good: Parking lot is well lit and free. Main lobby is bright and cheerful, nicely decorated but stuffed chairs beginning to show wear. The staff is friendly. Interior hallways are well-lit with lights over each doorway. I had a 1 bedroom suite which was clean, roomy, 2 tv's, fridge, stovetop,dishes, coffeemaker, & dishwasher. The dark wood and dark carpet make the room seem a bit gloomy for my taste but there are enough lamps to brighten it up. Small workstation desk Bathrooms are small but functional. Breakfast is complimentary, basic foods but tasty with a variety of offerings - the muffins were delicious. Exercise room had adequate equipment for a quick workout. If you don't need a car, this hotel offers a free shuttle to/from airport. Unfortunately, I cannot comment on housekeeping since the housekeeper never came to tidy up our room or make the bed. In conclusion, this hotel serves well for both business and pleasure travelers. However, It could use an interior facelift - elevator is old and doors to rooms need updating.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandSunDancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matthew_allen30, Director of Sales at HYATT house Charlotte Airport, responded to this review, 23 September 2011
Thank you for choosing our hotel, it was definitely a pleasure to host you here. Thank you for taking a moment to review our property and providing us with your feedback. You had mentioned that our hotel needed an interior facelift, and we are getting that very soon. I hope you think of us if you travel to the Charlotte area again as we would love to show you some of our new changes that we have coming!

Thank you,

Matt Allen
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhode Island
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2011

This was my first visit to Charlotte in a very long time. I was not familiar with the airport market but decided to stay close enough without having to rent a car. The hotel shuttle picked us up at the airport within a timely manner. We arrived at the hotel and was greeted by Carol. She is a very friendly person and will do whatever she can to make your stay enjoyable.

All the rooms are suites which gives you plenty of space. We didn't come to Charlotte to stay in a hotel room all weekend but the room was very spacious, clean and has all the amenities you would need for a short or long stay. The only thing missing from the rooms is an oven. Otherwise, you could stay in this hotel comfortably and easily for 30 days.

I would have to say, the best surprise is the variety of hot items for breakfast. I did not know it was part of the price but was even more surprised by the quality of it. They also offer social hour during the week which includes a calendar in each suite as to what they are serving. You cannot go wrong if you are traveling alone or with a bunch of people.

Lastly, the hotel has a shuttle which goes within a 3 mile radius of the hotel. This is also a nice amenity which can get you to a fair amount of restaurants in the area.

I'll be back again in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Senioruno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matthew_allen30, Director of Sales at HYATT house Charlotte Airport, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
Thank you for the kind review, we really appreciate all of the feedback we get and enjoy the chance to show off a bit as well. I am glad you had the opportunity to try all of our amenities, we hope you keep us in mind if you plan to travel back to Charlotte.

Thanks again, and see you the next time around.

Matt Allen
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
58 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

I stayed at the Hyatt Summerfield Suites Charlotte Airport in late August 2011. The facility, including the room, was very nice and comfortable. The one bedroom suite was good-sized with two good-sized flat screen TVs and mostly updated furnishings. The bed was good. The couch in the living area was not very comfortable (and definitely not the style of couch pictured on the hotel's website!). Some of the appliances in the room kitchenette were older, but all worked just fine. This hotel was very quiet and appeared mostly patronized by business travelers.

My one complaint is regarding the airport shuttle service and the van driver. After multiple phone calls to the hotel, it took 45 minutes for a pickup. I was finally picked up by a gentleman who appeared to not be in any sort of a hurry whatsoever. Upon pulling up to the airport curb, he sat in the van for a minute before getting out to help me. I actually had opened the rear door to put my own bag in the back of the van! Then, he turned out to be the scariest driver ever -- not aggressive, but overly passive and not in control. The van wavered out of the lane several times, and he would speed up as we approached traffic at a red light, then slam on the brakes. It was almost like he wasn't paying attention. This was not an enjoyable start to my stay. At check-in, the same man got me my room key card (everyone else was busy). I asked him if there was a shopping mall or restaurant nearby and he said no, as if he had no clue about the surrounding area. As I was walking away, what appeared to be a hotel maintenance worker who had witnessed that interaction came up to me and offered several tips for places to go. It was if he was trying to make up for the other guy's lack of helpfulness.

So overall, I give the hotel and room very high marks, but the one staffer I dealt with was not helpful and was the worst (scariest) van driver I've ever experienced in several years of business travel.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are a far walk. If you can't walk far distances, ask for a room near an elevat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matthew_allen30, Director of Sales at HYATT house Charlotte Airport, responded to this review, 2 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we truly value your input. We strive to make all aspects of your stay pleasant, and we were pleased that for the most part you enjoyed our hotel. Your shuttle ride however is very troubling to us. This is not the typical behavior or level of service we have to offer here, and would like the opportunity to speak with you regarding the incident. Please contact us here at the hotel, and ask for either Nina Shirk our General Manager, Nicole Neuendorf our Director of Guest Services, or myself as we would appreciate the opportunity to make this right for you. Please call us at 704-525-2600. Thank you again for your feedback, and we look forward to hearing from you again.

Best regards,

Matt Allen
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Eagle Lake
Hyatt Place Charlotte Airport/Lake Pointe
Eagle Lake
Hyatt Place Charlotte Airport/Tyvola Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eagle Lake
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charlotte
Eagle Lake
Renaissance Charlotte Suites Hotel
Eagle Lake
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlotte Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT house Charlotte Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Charlotte Airport

Property: HYATT house Charlotte Airport
Address: 4920 S Tryon St, Charlotte, NC 28217-2404 (Formerly Summerfield Suites Hotel by Wyndham)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#44 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — HYATT house Charlotte Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring a visitor-friendly city center known as Uptown and numerous corporate headquarters, North Carolina's largest city is quickly becoming a top destination for both business and leisure travelers. With several large universities, thrilling theme parks, opportunities for outdoor recreation and shopping parks, Charlotte is an exciting destination. Relax and enjoy our outdoor pool, open seasonally and weather permitting. Our newly renovated, upscale, extended stay hotel in Charlotte is conveniently situated for vacation, corporate and government travelers. HYATT house(R) Charlotte Airport hotel is newly renovated and conveniently located in the center of a Fortune 500 corridor, just six miles from downtown and the Charlotte Convention Center. Our friendly Charlotte Airport hotel offers travelers access to popular tourist destinations including Carowinds Amusement Park, Lynx- Charlotte's Light Rail, Billy Graham Library, Discovery Place, Spirit Square Center for the Arts, Bank of America Stadium and Charlotte Motor Speedway. For the business traveler, we're centrally located to the corporate offices for Wells Fargo/Wachovia, Bank of America, AT&T and US Airways. Ideally located for all types of travelers, our hotel in Charlotte is a top choice for your next trip to North Carolina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your HYATT house Charlotte Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Summerfield Suites Charlotte Airport Hotel Charlotte
Hyatt Charlotte Airport
Summerfield Suites Charlotte
Charlotte Summerfield Suites
Charlotte Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing