We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for golfers” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge
Ranked #7 of 176 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
101 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Good for golfers”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

Stayed here one night in August with my partner. All in all it was an okay stay, but I must admit I expected more as this hotel is a part of Starwood Luxury Collection.

Cons
- location: The pictures of the hotel are a bit deceiving. The hotel is not secluded or in a nature enviroment, its smack in the middle of a rather congested area. If you do not pay for golf view, you will look directly into a parking lot and a freeway.
- a gap between door and the floor meant a lot of light and noise in the room. Lack of soft lock mechanism (dampener) at the door meant noises when people in the hallway were coming and going.
- the rooms seemed pretty old. Furniture had seen it better days.
- the suite we had was just two adjoining, similar rooms, with one large bed in each.
- our virtuoso rate included breakfast, but it turned out that this only meant cereal boxes and a quick coffee at the bar. No entry to the breakfast restaurant.
- service at pool area was bad, after waiting 20 min or so, we had go over to the bar and ask for a drink.

Pros
- nice pool area
- golf view was lovely, this must be an excellent choice for golfers in the area (we were not).
- great welcome (hot towels andi a drink).
- free parking (I think).
- good SPG platinum treatment (all though we had to ask for the upgrade).
- wonderful follow-up when we directed the breakfast/virtuoso issue: They promised to change this and threw us some reward points as well.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jens h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlotteTravel, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, 14 November 2011
Dear jechho,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate that you enjoyed our pool area, golf view, free parking and service follow-through. We apologize that our hotel did not meet your expectations. We take all feedback very seriously, and we are working with our engineering, rooms and food & beverage teams to address your respective comments. We really strive to offer a true Luxury Collection experience, and we thank you for your comments, which will help us in our continuous efforts to improve our facilities and deliver great service. We hope you will consider returning to the hotel, as we would love to welcome you back.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    527
    162
    45
    22
    3
See reviews for
162
249
27
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

What a beautiful venue! The grounds are beautiful and the newly redesigned spa lounge is a peaceful place to clear your mind before getting the most fabulous massage! Sandra Weber is such a find that I don't want to go public with how great she is, but she is excellent!

Can't wait to book another service!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darla D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlotteTravel, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
Dear Darla D,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback. We really appreciate your kind words regarding our facilities, grounds and spa experience. We are delighted that you had the opportunity to relax in our lounge and enjoyed your massage. We are so lucky to have Sandra on our team! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

We have lived in Charlotte for several years and have both stayed and entertained at the Ballantyne. We recently hosted an event for over 200 people at the Ballantyne. Not only were the rooms and facilities for my guests wonderful, but everyone raved about how great the whole staff was. When a family member needed something, the folks at the Ballantyne bent over backward to make sure everything was exactly as it should be. As for being the hostess of a large event, the catering staff was INCREDIBLE. They were always working tirelessly on our event, but they would always think of or recommend something I would never think of. Erin on the business end and Alli on the catering end were like the dynamic duo. Nothing was overlooked and everyone raved about what a great time they had. What more can I say?

Room Tip: Just to call when you book to make sure you can get what you like. Matt in group reservations was am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beth s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlotteTravel, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, 14 November 2011
Dear beth s,
Thank you for choosing to host your event at The Ballantyne Hotel & Lodge and for taking the time to share your positive experience. We really appreciate your complimentary comments regarding our accommodations, facilities and staff. Our goal is to provide exceptional service and ensure all guests are comfortable and having an enjoyable experience. We strive to make the whole event planning process effortless, and our catering team works hard to anticipate guests’ needs. Thank you for your kind words regarding Erin, Alli and Matt; we are very fortunate to have them on our team. We’re delighted to hear that your guests had a wonderful time at your event. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

My friend and I had the Luxury Pedicure. Unfortunately, there was really nothing luxurious about it. Whenever I go for a pedicure, my favorite part is the massage but for their service, I basically received a quick rub down. The pedicures at my local place blows this place out of the water and it's cheaper. I also felt the service was a bit rushed. I was quite disappointed. On the plus side, the nail grooming and polishing was done well. The majority of the employees were friendly and accomodating. The locker rooms downstairs are on the small side and they don't have dressing rooms - just a screen in one of the locker rooms. The lounge area is also on the small side but it's quiet and relaxing. My friend and I also went to the pool area which is where the hot tub is located. The pool area was clean and there were ample towels available. We also ordered lunch (salmon and quinoa) and were lucky enough to score seats in the balcony area, although we were initially told they were taken already. The food is delicious but I did find the quinoa to be on the salty side. Our hostess was very friendly and cheerful. She made the visit well worth it.

My overall point of view is if you need basic services done then this place works well but if you're expecting something more, you may leave disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LM1708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlotteTravel, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, 4 November 2011
Dear ABA17,

Thank you for visiting The Spa at Ballantyne and for sharing your experience. We appreciate your kind comments regarding our pedicure technique, friendly service, pool facilities and cuisine. We apologize that your pedicure fell short of your expectations. We really strive to offer an elevated spa experience, and we want all of our guests to feel pampered. Our spa director would like to speak with you to discuss your experience further. Again, thanks for taking the time to post a review. We appreciate all the feedback we can get, which will help us improve our services. We hope you will reconsider returning to The Spa, as we would love for you to have the luxurious pedicure that we strive to provide.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
118 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

A friend and I had massages at the Spa at the Ballantyne Hotel. We were expecting a first class experience but had one that fell way short of our expectations.
The ambiance is austere - no art, no plants, dreadful lighting.
The locker room is small and cold - with no amenities and again, with horrid lighting.
The attendant that toured us around barely spoke English.
The hot tub by the indoor pool had it's jets set the wrong way, so the water simply shot up and out of the pool.
There was garbage by the whirlpool that no one had bothered to remove.
The relaxation area was poorly lit and not very relaxing - leatherette chaises without any blankets.
I had a decent masseuse, but my friend's service provider didn't know what she was doing.

For the cost of this place - it's just not a good, restful experience. Ambience counts and this was sorely lacking.
If you want to relax and be pampered, definitely look elsewhere!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank irinalapin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlotteTravel, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, 2 November 2011
Dear irinalapin,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent visit to the spa. We apologize that you and your friend were disappointed with your experience. We strive to exceed guest expectations by providing personalized service in a warm and relaxing setting. We have shared your comments with our spa director, and he will be reaching out to you soon to discuss your experience in greater detail. We do take all feedback very seriously, and we thank you for your comments, which will help us in our daily efforts to provide a better experience.

Kind regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

There are two properties: the Hotel and the Lodge. The Lodge is about a five minute walk from the hotel. The Lodge rooms are large: they have a great seating area and they have a balcony. There was a great, large updated bathroom with a deep tub and a separate shower. The decorating in the actual room was pleasant but not recent. The Lodge had a pool table and ping pong table on the second floor. However, most amenities are connected to the hotel (spa, bar, restaurant). Although there is a fitness room at both places, the hotel work out center is larger and Lodge guests will want to work out there. The grounds are beautiful. I was there on a business trip and it is about 25 to 30 minutes from the airport..For a conference center, this was a great place.

Room Tip: Lodge rooms are larger!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chic001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

Me and my girlfriend enjoyed our 1 night stay for my best friend's wedding. This is a luxury 5 star type of hotel. They great your with sanitized towelettes and the rooms are beautiful. They have an indoor and outdoor pool, the indoor pool area was heated and it felt nice in the summer. The jacuzzi was also very nice, but it can really fit only 4 adults max at 1 time.

They have beautiful grounds and the food and drinks were VERY good for the wedding I was there for, as I'm sure it would be in the restaurant. I was there for 1 night, but I can also tell you that there is a few places to eat across the street because every place outside of Nyc has there own community of shops and restaurants.

Very nice, I would stay there again depending on the current offers.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the golf course because the only other view I can think of is facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gmoNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlotteTravel, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, 26 October 2011
Dear gmoNyc,
Thank you for taking the time to share you experience at The Ballantyne Hotel & Lodge. We appreciate your kind comments regarding our amenities, accommodations, cuisine and grounds. We are so happy to hear that you had a chance to enjoy our wellness facilities during your stay. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
First Ward
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
#18 of 176 in Charlotte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Second Ward
Westin Charlotte
Westin Charlotte
#30 of 176 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barclay Downs
Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel
Fourth Ward
The Dunhill Hotel
The Dunhill Hotel
#42 of 176 in Charlotte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Second Ward
Omni Charlotte Hotel
Omni Charlotte Hotel
#36 of 176 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge

Property: The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge
Address: 10000 Ballantyne Commons Parkway, Charlotte, NC 28277
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Charlotte
#3 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#3 Green Hotel in Charlotte
#6 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#12 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ballantyne, located in Charlotte, North Carolina, is a member of Starwood Hotels & Resorts' The Luxury Collection. Guests are welcomed with exceptional service, complemented by a timeless elegance. Enjoy resort-style amenities including spa, golf, fitness, exquisite dining and leisure offerings. The Ballantyne features beautiful hotel rooms, a cottage and lodge retreat with sophisticated meeting, wedding and event venues in a vibrant setting. The Ballantyne is located within 18 miles of Uptown Charlotte and Charlotte Douglas International Airport. In addition to its great accessibility to Charlotte, the hotel is set amidst shopping, dining, retail and a thriving business community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ballantyne Hotel Charlotte
Ballantyne Hotel Charlotte
Ballantine Resort Charlotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing