We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I Love this Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge
Ranked #6 of 177 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“I Love this Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

I have stayed here twice and rave about it every time. This is a luxury hotel with a very casual feel to it and the customer service is the best as they really do care about your stay. The hotel is in a great location in a town called Ballantyne which is in South Charlotte. There are tons of places to eat and things to do in the area and you are only a 15 minute ride from uptown. The rooms are very big and very nice and the bathrooms are top notch. We had a balcony room which they say is overlooking Ballantyne Village but it is really over looking the parking lot. The other side is overlooking a very nice 18 hole golf course. I don't play golf but from speaking to others it is a fun course to play. They also have a very nice, newly built pool area with drink service. They also have an indoor pool, jacuzzi, and a very good spa that my wife got a massage that she really enjoyed. The restaurant was nice but we didn't eat there just got a drink at the end of the night.

Like I said I have stayed twice and definitely plan on staying again as the value in the summertime for this hotel cannot be beat.

Room Tip: A Balcony Room on the golf course side would be my first choice but any room in this hotel is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nyflanctraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlotteTravel, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, 16 November 2011
Dear nyflanctraveler,

Thank you for visiting us again at The Ballantyne Hotel & Lodge and for taking the time to share your positive feedback. We appreciate your kind words regarding our atmosphere, location, accommodations and amenities. We strive to provide a setting that is welcoming and comfortable yet elegant, and we’re delighted that you have had enjoyable, valuable experiences at our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    536
    163
    45
    22
    3
See reviews for
165
252
27
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
109 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

We enjoyed a couple nights at the Ballantyne and found it to be very relaxing for our family. We enoyed burgers and grilled cheese by the fireplace, relaxing at the beautiful indoor pools, and walking the property. The spa was top notch, recommend Tanya as an excellent deep tissue therapist! The relaxation room for women had snacks and a fireplace and was very nice to spend time in. The men's was nice with a TV, but less space and amenities.
The big complaint here is the lack of coffee in the room or lobby. At $10 a pot delivered it should be amazing coffee, and it was just ok. Step up with siver service of french press greatness or give me my in room starbucks please!
My daughter, 7, enjoyed the special kids turndown with milk and cookies and her sized robe a lot! As well as the loaned board games from the concierge. Right across the street we recommend the Terrace Cafe with Breakfast(omelets,red Velvet waffles and Smores french toast,& great coffee), Lunch, and Dinner(fresh fish,fried chicken, and regional food) as well as some shops and other dining choices. A movie house as well.
Overall we enjoyed our time here and would recommend it for romantic getaway or family time.

Room Tip: We got a suite with a pull out sofa bed and it was perfect for traveling family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thf077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlotteTravel, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
Dear thf077,

Thank you for sharing your experience staying as a family at The Ballantyne Hotel & Lodge. We are happy that you enjoyed our cuisine, facilities and amenities. Thanks for your compliments regarding Tanya and the spa – we really do strive to offer a relaxing and memorable spa experience. We’re glad your daughter enjoyed our kid’s turndown service, as we want all kids to feel welcome and that the hotel is like a home away from home. We apologize that you were disappointed with our coffee service. We have shared your comments with our team for their consideration. The nearby Ballantyne Village offers convenient shopping and dining options – those red velvet waffles at the Terrace Café are to die for! Thanks again for sharing your feedback, and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
101 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

Stayed here one night in August with my partner. All in all it was an okay stay, but I must admit I expected more as this hotel is a part of Starwood Luxury Collection.

Cons
- location: The pictures of the hotel are a bit deceiving. The hotel is not secluded or in a nature enviroment, its smack in the middle of a rather congested area. If you do not pay for golf view, you will look directly into a parking lot and a freeway.
- a gap between door and the floor meant a lot of light and noise in the room. Lack of soft lock mechanism (dampener) at the door meant noises when people in the hallway were coming and going.
- the rooms seemed pretty old. Furniture had seen it better days.
- the suite we had was just two adjoining, similar rooms, with one large bed in each.
- our virtuoso rate included breakfast, but it turned out that this only meant cereal boxes and a quick coffee at the bar. No entry to the breakfast restaurant.
- service at pool area was bad, after waiting 20 min or so, we had go over to the bar and ask for a drink.

Pros
- nice pool area
- golf view was lovely, this must be an excellent choice for golfers in the area (we were not).
- great welcome (hot towels andi a drink).
- free parking (I think).
- good SPG platinum treatment (all though we had to ask for the upgrade).
- wonderful follow-up when we directed the breakfast/virtuoso issue: They promised to change this and threw us some reward points as well.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jens h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlotteTravel, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, 14 November 2011
Dear jechho,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate that you enjoyed our pool area, golf view, free parking and service follow-through. We apologize that our hotel did not meet your expectations. We take all feedback very seriously, and we are working with our engineering, rooms and food & beverage teams to address your respective comments. We really strive to offer a true Luxury Collection experience, and we thank you for your comments, which will help us in our continuous efforts to improve our facilities and deliver great service. We hope you will consider returning to the hotel, as we would love to welcome you back.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

What a beautiful venue! The grounds are beautiful and the newly redesigned spa lounge is a peaceful place to clear your mind before getting the most fabulous massage! Sandra Weber is such a find that I don't want to go public with how great she is, but she is excellent!

Can't wait to book another service!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darla D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlotteTravel, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
Dear Darla D,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback. We really appreciate your kind words regarding our facilities, grounds and spa experience. We are delighted that you had the opportunity to relax in our lounge and enjoyed your massage. We are so lucky to have Sandra on our team! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

We have lived in Charlotte for several years and have both stayed and entertained at the Ballantyne. We recently hosted an event for over 200 people at the Ballantyne. Not only were the rooms and facilities for my guests wonderful, but everyone raved about how great the whole staff was. When a family member needed something, the folks at the Ballantyne bent over backward to make sure everything was exactly as it should be. As for being the hostess of a large event, the catering staff was INCREDIBLE. They were always working tirelessly on our event, but they would always think of or recommend something I would never think of. Erin on the business end and Alli on the catering end were like the dynamic duo. Nothing was overlooked and everyone raved about what a great time they had. What more can I say?

Room Tip: Just to call when you book to make sure you can get what you like. Matt in group reservations was am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beth s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlotteTravel, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, 14 November 2011
Dear beth s,
Thank you for choosing to host your event at The Ballantyne Hotel & Lodge and for taking the time to share your positive experience. We really appreciate your complimentary comments regarding our accommodations, facilities and staff. Our goal is to provide exceptional service and ensure all guests are comfortable and having an enjoyable experience. We strive to make the whole event planning process effortless, and our catering team works hard to anticipate guests’ needs. Thank you for your kind words regarding Erin, Alli and Matt; we are very fortunate to have them on our team. We’re delighted to hear that your guests had a wonderful time at your event. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

My friend and I had the Luxury Pedicure. Unfortunately, there was really nothing luxurious about it. Whenever I go for a pedicure, my favorite part is the massage but for their service, I basically received a quick rub down. The pedicures at my local place blows this place out of the water and it's cheaper. I also felt the service was a bit rushed. I was quite disappointed. On the plus side, the nail grooming and polishing was done well. The majority of the employees were friendly and accomodating. The locker rooms downstairs are on the small side and they don't have dressing rooms - just a screen in one of the locker rooms. The lounge area is also on the small side but it's quiet and relaxing. My friend and I also went to the pool area which is where the hot tub is located. The pool area was clean and there were ample towels available. We also ordered lunch (salmon and quinoa) and were lucky enough to score seats in the balcony area, although we were initially told they were taken already. The food is delicious but I did find the quinoa to be on the salty side. Our hostess was very friendly and cheerful. She made the visit well worth it.

My overall point of view is if you need basic services done then this place works well but if you're expecting something more, you may leave disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LM1708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlotteTravel, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, 4 November 2011
Dear ABA17,

Thank you for visiting The Spa at Ballantyne and for sharing your experience. We appreciate your kind comments regarding our pedicure technique, friendly service, pool facilities and cuisine. We apologize that your pedicure fell short of your expectations. We really strive to offer an elevated spa experience, and we want all of our guests to feel pampered. Our spa director would like to speak with you to discuss your experience further. Again, thanks for taking the time to post a review. We appreciate all the feedback we can get, which will help us improve our services. We hope you will reconsider returning to The Spa, as we would love for you to have the luxurious pedicure that we strive to provide.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
118 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

A friend and I had massages at the Spa at the Ballantyne Hotel. We were expecting a first class experience but had one that fell way short of our expectations.
The ambiance is austere - no art, no plants, dreadful lighting.
The locker room is small and cold - with no amenities and again, with horrid lighting.
The attendant that toured us around barely spoke English.
The hot tub by the indoor pool had it's jets set the wrong way, so the water simply shot up and out of the pool.
There was garbage by the whirlpool that no one had bothered to remove.
The relaxation area was poorly lit and not very relaxing - leatherette chaises without any blankets.
I had a decent masseuse, but my friend's service provider didn't know what she was doing.

For the cost of this place - it's just not a good, restful experience. Ambience counts and this was sorely lacking.
If you want to relax and be pampered, definitely look elsewhere!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irinalapin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlotteTravel, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, 2 November 2011
Dear irinalapin,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent visit to the spa. We apologize that you and your friend were disappointed with your experience. We strive to exceed guest expectations by providing personalized service in a warm and relaxing setting. We have shared your comments with our spa director, and he will be reaching out to you soon to discuss your experience in greater detail. We do take all feedback very seriously, and we thank you for your comments, which will help us in our daily efforts to provide a better experience.

Kind regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
First Ward
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
#18 of 177 in Charlotte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Second Ward
Westin Charlotte
Westin Charlotte
#29 of 177 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barclay Downs
Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel
Fourth Ward
The Dunhill Hotel
The Dunhill Hotel
#43 of 177 in Charlotte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Second Ward
Omni Charlotte Hotel
Omni Charlotte Hotel
#38 of 177 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge

Property: The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge
Address: 10000 Ballantyne Commons Parkway, Charlotte, NC 28277
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Charlotte
#3 Green Hotel in Charlotte
#3 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#6 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#12 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ballantyne, located in Charlotte, North Carolina, is a member of Starwood Hotels & Resorts' The Luxury Collection. Guests are welcomed with exceptional service, complemented by a timeless elegance. Enjoy resort-style amenities including spa, golf, fitness, exquisite dining and leisure offerings. The Ballantyne features beautiful hotel rooms, a cottage and lodge retreat with sophisticated meeting, wedding and event venues in a vibrant setting. The Ballantyne is located within 18 miles of Uptown Charlotte and Charlotte Douglas International Airport. In addition to its great accessibility to Charlotte, the hotel is set amidst shopping, dining, retail and a thriving business community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ballantyne Hotel Charlotte
Ballantyne Hotel Charlotte
Ballantine Resort Charlotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing