We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay but wheres my coffee?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge
Ranked #7 of 177 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
South Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good stay but wheres my coffee?”
Reviewed 24 July 2012

I recently stayed here on a business trip to the Charlotte area. I travel to Charlotte often and this was my second stay at the Ballantyne Hotel. Let me first start out by saying it is a nice property with a golf course and located within the Ballantyne Office Park.

The room was spacious with very high ceilings. The bathroom as well was large and air conditioning was good. There was a refrigerator stocked with beverages and snacks, not free, but available.

My only 2 gripes were these. No complimentary coffee either in the room or in the lobby. I was charged each morning. Secondly, Internet access was $ 9.95 a day. This hotel is part of the Starwood program but that got me nothing. As a business traveler I would have been better off staying at a chain for half the cost and twice the amenities.

Nice place to stay but I think they need to look at what is considered normal in a hotel room, especially at the rate they charge.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PackerBacker7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlotteTravel, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Dear PackerBacker7,

Thank you for staying with us again at The Ballantyne Hotel & Lodge and for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate your kind comments regarding our hotel, accommodations and bathroom and value your feedback regarding our coffee service and internet policy. We take all feedback very seriously and have shared your comments with hotel management. Based on guest feedback, we are in the process of unveiling in-room coffee makers. In addition, we offer complimentary internet access in our lobby. At The Ballantyne Hotel & Lodge, we strive to provide great service and elegant accommodations. Again, we appreciate your feedback and hope you will consider returning to the hotel.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    544
    163
    45
    23
    3
See reviews for
168
254
27
205
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We were looking for a hotel in Charlotte for a short stay and chose the Ballantyne based upon other reviews. One thing I did not realize was that Ballantyne is actually a live-work-play community. So there are many restaurants, a movie theatre, and offices within walking distance. I think that is important to note, because based upon pictures I was expecting a secluded, nature setting and it really is more vibrant and suburban.
I have to say the hotel has some of the best staff I've ever encountered. Everyone was very friendly and helpful without being intrusive. We arrived very early but the hotel front desk had a room for us so we were able to relax before heading down to the pool. The pool was the highlight for our family, is was very pretty overlooking the golf course and the bar/restaurant service was great. It rained part of the day but we were able to use the indoor pool which was equally tranquil.
We were in a two double bed room which was spacious but the beds were way too small for my husband, myself and two kids to share. Rollaways were not permitted so we managed to make the best of it, but I would stay in a larger room next time. A bonus was the well appointed bathroom with a large shower and separate jacuzzi tub.
In the morning, there are pastries and coffee in the lobby. The gentleman working there was so nice and helped pack everything up for me to take to the room. It was a bit on the pricy side though. All in all, we really enjoyed our short time at the Ballantyne.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank I_L0ve_Travel_Too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlotteTravel, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear I_L0ve_Travel_Too,
Thank you for staying at The Ballantyne Hotel & Lodge and for taking the time to share your feedback. We were pleased that you chose the hotel based on guests’ review, and we appreciate your kind words regarding our staff, pool and bathroom design. At The Ballantyne Hotel & Lodge, we are dedicated to providing exceptional services to our guests. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Lenox Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

I stayed at the Ballantyne for 3 nights last week. I went alone to give myself a relaxing getaway at the spa. Every single person I came in contact with during my stay were so friendly and professional, If I asked a question, someone took me over and showed me what I needed. The room was so beautiful and spacious. Loved having the view of the golf course. I would most definitely return in the future. Class and elegance combined with a warm, friendly and professional staff. What more can you ask for!!!

Room Tip: It's worth getting a room with the balcony. So nice and peaceful looking over the golf course!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Retiredtraveler07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlotteTravel, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear Retiredtraveler07,
Thank you for staying at The Ballantyne Hotel & Lodge and for sharing your positive feedback. We really value your comments regarding our helpful staff, accommodations and ambience. Our goal at The Ballantyne Hotel & Lodge is to provide every guest with an exceptional and memorable experience. We are happy that you enjoyed your visit with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We held our wedding reception here and the staff was excellent to work with- they made the planning process much easier and really worked with you to accommodate your needs. Our catering manager consistently demonstrated professionalism, clear communication skills, and careful attention to detail. We were extremely pleased with how smoothly our event went. If any issues or questions arised, Ballantyne staff were quick and efficient to address the problem at hand. Our out of town guests stayed at the Ballantyne and were extremely pleased with their stay as well. We also used Ballantyne's in-house audiovisual company, Scott Brown Media for videography and as our DJ and our experience with them was positive as well.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoganAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlotteTravel, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Dear LoganAR,

Thank you for celebrating your wedding at The Ballantyne Hotel & Lodge and for taking time to share your positive feedback. We were delighted to read that you found the planning process to be easy and that you were pleased all aspects of your reception. At The Ballantyne, we are dedicated to providing an effortless and enjoyable wedding planning process – from the beginning planning stages to the big event and guest hospitality. We’re so happy that your guests had a great time staying with us. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
144 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

My wife and I stayed here recently for 3 nights around the 4th of July. This hotel sets the bar for guest service. Every individual we encountered, from any department of the hotel, was professional and on point regarding guest interaction. It was pleasantly noticeable throughout our stay. Concierge, front desk, bellman, housekeeping, restaurant staff, etc...
Would love to stay here again. Beautifully appointed and classy retreat.

Room Tip: Try to get a golf course view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodwinesports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Dear foodwinesports,

Thank you for staying at The Ballantyne Hotel & Lodge and for sharing your feedback. We are so appreciative of your kind comments regarding our service, staff and décor. Our team is dedicated to providing warm, helpful service, and we are happy you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Had a fantastic 1-night stay at this beautiful resort. This lush hotel wasn't crowded when we were there, and it made the stay very relaxing. Feels almost like a resort. No waits. No hassles. Rooms are top. Service is very good. Excellent bar keeper in the lobby. A little walk to the breakfast restaurant, but it's worth it! Enjoyed the biggest breakfast of the year. Try their amazing almond butter croissant. This hotel was one of the finest I have ever been to. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soe75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Dear soe75,

Thank you for staying at The Ballantyne Hotel & Lodge and for taking the time to share your experience. We really appreciate your kind words regarding our hotel, relaxed setting, service, accommodations and cuisine. Our team works hard to provide an effortless and memorable escape for our guests. We were excited to read that you had the chance to try our almond croissant – it has quickly become a guest favorite. Thank you for recommending our hotel, and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, NC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Excellent grounds and all of the employees go out of their way to assist you. They really make the effort to offer excellent service whether dining inside or having poolside snacks and drinks. I booked a dinner reservation and received a call from the restaurant informing me of the dining room's hours for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Nice touch!

Room Tip: We really liked the second floor. The second floor has very comfortable sitting areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPritchett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of eCommerce at The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Dear JPritchett,

Thank you for staying at The Ballantyne Hotel & Lodge and for sharing your experience. We are so pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and value your positive comments regarding our service and staff. At The Ballantyne, we are committed to providing exceptional service and a memorable stay experience. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
First Ward
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
#15 of 177 in Charlotte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Second Ward
Westin Charlotte
Westin Charlotte
#29 of 177 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barclay Downs
Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel
Fourth Ward
The Dunhill Hotel
The Dunhill Hotel
#38 of 177 in Charlotte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Second Ward
Omni Charlotte Hotel
Omni Charlotte Hotel
#41 of 177 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge

Property: The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge
Address: 10000 Ballantyne Commons Pkwy, Charlotte, NC 28277-2484
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Charlotte
#3 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#3 Green Hotel in Charlotte
#6 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#12 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ballantyne, located in Charlotte, North Carolina, is a member of Starwood Hotels & Resorts' The Luxury Collection. Guests are welcomed with exceptional service, complemented by a timeless elegance. Enjoy resort-style amenities including spa, golf, fitness, exquisite dining and leisure offerings. The Ballantyne features beautiful hotel rooms, a cottage and lodge retreat with sophisticated meeting, wedding and event venues in a vibrant setting. The Ballantyne is located within 18 miles of Uptown Charlotte and Charlotte Douglas International Airport. In addition to its great accessibility to Charlotte, the hotel is set amidst shopping, dining, retail and a thriving business community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ballantyne Hotel Charlotte
Ballantyne Hotel Charlotte
Ballantine Resort Charlotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing