We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Party perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ballantyne, Charlotte
Ranked #7 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We had a party at the Ballantyne hotel and many out of town guests stayed for the weekend. Not only was the service impeccable but everyone raved about the food. We highly recommend this hotel as well as the catering facilities. All in all it was party perfection!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBallantyne, General Manager at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Stacey S,
Thank you for hosting your event at The Ballantyne and sharing your comments. We are so pleased that your guests enjoyed their experiences at the hotel. We are committed to providing great service, delicious food and versatile facilities to ensure a memorable event. Thank you for recommending our hotel, and we hope to partner with you again on a future event.

Sincerely,
Peter Grills
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (808)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

421 - 427 of 808 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014

First class hotel. Great staff. Very friendly . My family stayed for a weekend to attend an affair. Everything was top shelf. Food & accommodations were all super. Played golf on premises. Tough course but fair. Enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms face golf course. Even numbered rooms face parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBallantyne, General Manager at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Jerry G,
Thank you for visiting us at The Ballantyne. We appreciate your feedback and are delighted you and your family had a great stay. Our entire staff is committed to providing our guests with warm and gracious hospitality, and we are happy you experienced that firsthand. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Peter Grills
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stayed here one night for a conference. I was warmly greeted at reception and that warmth was seen in all employees from room service to turn down service to valet and beyond. I had a first floor room (my choice) and had a beautiful view of the golf course and its pond with ducks. The bed was so comfortable - I slept like a rock. The standard room was spacious and the bathroom was large. The towels were soft and thick. My dinner was delish - onion soup and a salad. I would love to return here again for a longer stay not related to work!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBallantyne, General Manager at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Jeana P,

Thank you for staying with us on business and taking the time to share your experience. Our associates are committed to providing our guests with warm, accommodating service, and we’re pleased you experienced that consistently firsthand. Thank you for your compliments regarding our accommodations and cuisine. We look forward to a future visit and hope you will be able to spend more time with us and perhaps have a chance to visit our spa.

Sincerely,
Peter Grills
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

This is a top shelf hotel full of luxurious upgrades and opportunities. Possibly the most comfortable room in NC, except for home. Surrounded by trendy restaurants and shopping opportunities. Only negative was traffic and congestion in the area, something the hotel has no control over.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank R_Seagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBallantyne, General Manager at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear R_Seagle,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments. We are delighted you had a comfortable stay, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Peter Grills
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We spent last weekend at the Ballantyne Lodge to celebrate a 95th Birthday. The birthday boy could not have been more pleased with all 90 of his relatives in attendance. We found the lodge very clean, comfortable and welcoming. Even though it's intent is to be used as a conference space it was absolutely perfect for the party/reunion. The event planning department was helpful and knowledgeable. Once we arrived, the staff could not have been more wonderful, nothing was too much trouble. There were 38 kids and they had a ball running around without disturbing others as they might have in another setting. The meals were all served in situ and were terrific...on time, at temperature and served by a staff that was always smiling. We brought in our own entertainment and the staff was happy to accommodate a set up for them with tables, chairs, microphones, etc. Would I recommend the Lodge for a party, reunion, wedding or meeting space? The answer is: absolutely.

The hotel and lodge also provide a shuttle service between facilitlies and it was always available for those who wanted to go to the pool. The pool area was beautiful and well kept with clean towels aplenty.

We arrived the night before the festivities and stayed at the hotel...lovely; dinner at The Gallery...delicious; drinks by the fireplace that night...warm & cozy. And again, the staff, the staff, the staff - they make your stay a pleasant one!

We booked a massage at the spa and it was glorious...among the best I have ever had.

The only downside was that the Village, where we went to shop and walk around one afternoon, was pretty much desserted and only 3 or so restaurants were open. Without a car there isn't much to do outside the hotel as the shuttle only takes you within a one mile radius.

But otherwise, pack your bags for a delightful stay in a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBallantyne, General Manager at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Ellen D,
Thank you for celebrating such a special occasion with us at The Lodge at Ballantyne. We are happy that the guest of honor had a great birthday with his extended family and The Lodge made for a perfect venue. We appreciate your kind comments regarding our staff, accommodations, spa and cuisine, and we enjoyed assisting your family on such a momentous event. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back for future visits.
Sincerely,

Peter Grills
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

Stopped here on our way from Toronto to Orlando. My husband had stayed here for work and wanted us to see how nice this hotel was. After a very long drive (14hrs) it was a great place for our family of 4 to relax. Our 2 and 5 year olds loved the pool area, room service was great and the beds were super comfy. Well maintained modern rooms. Wish we would have had more time.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank curlz77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBallantyne, General Manager at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear curls77,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your family trip and for sharing your comments. We were pleased to read that you had an enjoyable visit and appreciate your kind feedback regarding our pool area, room service and accommodations. Our entire team is dedicated to providing our guests with memorable and comfortable stay experiences, and we hope to welcome you back for another relaxing stay soon.

Sincerely,
Peter Grills
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at this resort; It was nice with a very friendly doorman and great landscape. The check in lady was ok, not super personable but not rude either. The pool was heated and felt great. There was also a very nice looking spa, however we did not make use of it. The area has great eating and shopping within 15-20 minutes drive. The rooms were large and spacious, however the decor was old and needed updating (chairs and tables were tattered and needed replacing). The bathroom was also pretty nice, with modern styling. All in all, nice peaceful stay with a great view of the golf course and pond. would stay again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBallantyne, General Manager at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Emma M,

Thank you for staying with us at The Ballantyne. We are happy that you had a peaceful visit and appreciate your feedback regarding our hotel, amenities and décor. We have shared your feedback with our executive team. Thank you for sharing your comments, which will help us in our continuous efforts to improve the guest experience. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Peter Grills
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
First Ward
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
#11 of 178 in Charlotte
673 reviews
Fourth Ward
The Ivey's Hotel
The Ivey's Hotel
#1 of 178 in Charlotte
136 reviews
Second Ward
The Westin Charlotte
The Westin Charlotte
#33 of 178 in Charlotte
1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fourth Ward
The Dunhill Hotel
The Dunhill Hotel
#47 of 178 in Charlotte
442 reviews
Second Ward
Omni Charlotte Hotel
Omni Charlotte Hotel
#55 of 178 in Charlotte
2,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ballantyne, Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ballantyne, Charlotte

Address: 10000 Ballantyne Commons Pkwy, Charlotte, NC 28277-2484
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Charlotte
#3 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#3 Green Hotel in Charlotte
#6 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#12 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range: £149 - £369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ballantyne, Charlotte 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ballantyne, a Luxury Collection Hotel by Marriott, Charlotte welcomes guests with gracious service, elegant accommodations and abundant amenities. Explore the spa, seasonal outdoor pool, indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna, tennis, golf, fitness, exquisite dining, 24 hour room service, afternoon tea and leisure offerings. The Ballantyne features beautiful hotel rooms, a lovely cottage and The Lodge at Ballantyne, a 35 room group retreat. Meeting and event planners are invited to view meeting and event facilities with spacious and picturesque outdoor venues, on-site group activities and creative culinary offerings. The Ballantyne is located within nine miles of SouthPark and Carowinds and within 18 miles of Uptown Charlotte and Charlotte Douglas International Airport. In addition to its great accessibility to Charlotte’s impressive recreational and entertainment offerings, the hotel is set amidst shopping, dining, retail and the thriving Ballantyne community. Guests enjoy a complimentary shuttle within one mile and access to many dining and conveniences within walking distance and even more within a short drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Ballantyne, Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ballantyne Hotel Charlotte
Ballantyne Hotel Charlotte
Ballantine Resort Charlotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing