We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Ballantyne, Charlotte
Ranked #7 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Loganville, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great time”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My fiance and I stayed here for my birthday from June 5th- 9th. What a great hotel. The staff was excellect. From the time we drove up until it was time to leave the staff was great.
The only I don't want to call it a complaint but maybe a misunderstanding is with the restaurant. While everyone was friendly and warm the first time we ate there the waiter didn't add 29% on the bill for his tip (we are star rewards members). We gladly gave him his 20% without question when we paid. The second time we ate there my fiance ordered eggs over easy, they came back over hard, the waitress in my opinion should have caught this and made the cook redo before she brought them to the table. The restaurant was not crowded so it's not as though she was over run with customers. Then she added 20% without saying anything. When we asked about the charge she said well we are supposed to add that to anyone who uses the star rewards. Granted we have no problem tipping, but if we hadn't read the check carefully I would have double tipped. The card states we are to tip on the entire check not the discounted rate there was nothing I read that said the tip would be added by the server.
Everything else was great. The pool, room service housekeeping. I really enjoyed my time there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swanzae61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballantyne H, General Manager at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear swanzae61,

Thank you for celebrating your birthday with us. We are delighted you had a great stay and apologize for any inconveniences related to preparation of the eggs and miscommunication in the restaurant. Servers may opt to add an 18% gratuity to HOT discounted meals. Again, we are sorry for the inconvenience and have shared your comments with our food & beverage team to ensure consistency in the future. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Peter Grills
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    547
    165
    46
    23
    3
See reviews for
169
257
28
206
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here for the 2nd time over Memorial Day weekend. We wanted to have a quick weekend getaway and immediately thought of The Ballantyne's country club-esque pool overlooking their golf course. The room was immaculate and cool. We immediately went outside to sit by their outdoor pool and grabbed a table with an umbrella. We ordered drinks from the pool bar--a bucket of beer (a little pricey but worth it.) We were told that a chef would be grilling burgers and chicken for lunch. It was nice addition to their menu. Music was played by the pool (Jimmy Buffett, Bob Marley) adding to the ambiance. After lounging in and by the pool all afternoon, we headed inside to the indoor pool/spa area and relaxed in the jacuzzi and both used the sauna in our respective dressing rooms. We went back to the room and dressed and then walked across the street to Duckworth's, one of the many restaurants within walking distance. The next morning we went over to Einstein Bagels in the same area. The hotel is in a great location, only one exit from South Park for great upscale shopping. We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LMSunFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballantyne H, General Manager at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear LMSunFun,
Thank you for staying with us again over a recent holiday weekend. We are delighted you had a nice visit. Thank you for your kind words regarding our pool facilities. We aim to deliver a relaxing getaway experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Peter Grills
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
90 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Great location with a beautiful hotel. The staff was very attentive. Both times I was here was for business. The food served at each event was very good. I did room service one night and had their crab cakes. Sooo good! I did visit their Lounge and found their bartenders friendly and not snooty like some lounges I've visited. The internet was responsive. The desk area offered plenty of space for my computer and paperwork. I was amazed at how much space the bathroom offered! I can't wait to come back to this awesome hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redd9063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballantyne H, General Manager at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear redd9063,
Thank you for visiting us again at The Ballantyne for business travel. We appreciate your wonderful feedback and are happy you enjoyed our room service, spacious accommodations, food and service. Out entire staff is dedicated to providing our guests with exceptional stays, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Peter Grills
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartsville, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
378 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Stayed here with two children under 7. They have a nice indoor pool area and an outdoor pool. The room was comfortable but the bathroom double doors do not lock. It seems like lot's of hotels are abandoning the locking bathroom. It's so much fun to try and use the restroom while your children burst in and out at their leisure. A simple door lock would go a long way and returning privacy to the one place it really belongs. Aside from the non-locking bathrooms, the hotel was fantastic. Restaurant had some good food. Order the Crab Cakes! Do it! Seriously...just get them, you deserve it. You had to blockade the bathroom during your stay. Reward yourself!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomasja37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballantyne H, General Manager at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Thomasja37,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your comments. We value your feedback, and we’re delighted you enjoyed the restaurant, especially our crab cakes. We apologize if bathroom access provided any inconvenience. We have shared your comments with our team, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Peter Grills
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendersonville
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We took my avid golfer dad here for a 60th birthday present. We an amazing time. My children loved the pool and they many outdoor games to offer as well. We ate lunch in the restaurant and it was fantastic. I cannot wait to go back here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TMagee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballantyne H, General Manager at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear TMagee2013,

Thank you for choosing to celebrate your father’s birthday with us. We are delighted you had an amazing visit, and thank you for your positive comments regarding our pool and food. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Peter Grills
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, Sc
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I've been here 3 or 4 times now, always a great experience. Rooms very nice, spacious, love the bathroom, with large soaking tub and glass shower. Grounds maintained superbly, beautiful resort. All conference food has been well above typical banquet style...between meals and snacks I probably gain a few pounds each visit. Lol! I highly recommend for any event or personal getaway. It can accommodate many events at once without your attendees even noticing the others. This place is huge. The service has always been excellent! This was my 1st spa visit....it is huge, and wonderful, too!
I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimnSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballantyne H, General Manager at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear KimnSC,

Thank you for being a loyal guest of The Ballantyne and for sharing your feedback. We really value your comments, and thank you for your kind words regarding our accommodations, grounds, food, overall meeting experience and spa. We are committed to consistently providing exceptional experiences for our guests. Thank you for recommending our hotel for an event or leisure travel, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Peter Grills
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tega Cay, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband and I just got married on 5/24 at the Ballantyne Lodge. We worked with Alli Hall who made our event flawless. Our out of town guests stayed at the Hotel with us. There were nothing but excellent reviews. The rooms are beautiful. We were able to stay in a room with a view overlooking the golf course. We all enjoyed the great customer service and loved relaxing by the pool. I can not say enough great things about our experience there. We plan on making it a yearly weekend getaway.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballantyne H, General Manager at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Kristen H,

Thank you for selecting The Ballantyne to host your wedding. We are pleased that you had a wonderful experience working with Alli and that you and your guests enjoyed staying with us. We were thrilled to be a part of such a special occasion and value your kind feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to celebrate many anniversaries to come!

Sincerely,
Peter Grills
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
First Ward
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
#14 of 178 in Charlotte
615 reviews
Second Ward
Westin Charlotte
Westin Charlotte
#33 of 178 in Charlotte
1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fourth Ward
The Dunhill Hotel
The Dunhill Hotel
#47 of 178 in Charlotte
416 reviews
Second Ward
Omni Charlotte Hotel
Omni Charlotte Hotel
#43 of 178 in Charlotte
1,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ballantyne, Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ballantyne, Charlotte

Property: The Ballantyne, Charlotte
Address: 10000 Ballantyne Commons Pkwy, Charlotte, NC 28277-2484
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Charlotte
#3 Green Hotel in Charlotte
#3 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#6 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#12 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ballantyne, Charlotte 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ballantyne, a Luxury Collection Hotel by Marriott, Charlotte welcomes guests with gracious service, elegant accommodations and abundant amenities. Explore the spa, seasonal outdoor pool, indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna, tennis, golf, fitness, exquisite dining, 24 hour room service, afternoon tea and leisure offerings. The Ballantyne features beautiful hotel rooms, a lovely cottage and The Lodge at Ballantyne, a 35 room group retreat. Meeting and event planners are invited to view meeting and event facilities with spacious and picturesque outdoor venues, on-site group activities and creative culinary offerings. The Ballantyne is located within nine miles of SouthPark and Carowinds and within 18 miles of Uptown Charlotte and Charlotte Douglas International Airport. In addition to its great accessibility to Charlotte’s impressive recreational and entertainment offerings, the hotel is set amidst shopping, dining, retail and the thriving Ballantyne community. Guests enjoy a complimentary shuttle within one mile and access to many dining and conveniences within walking distance and even more within a short drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Ballantyne, Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ballantyne Hotel Charlotte
Ballantyne Hotel Charlotte
Ballantine Resort Charlotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing