We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel--Bad location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ballantyne, Charlotte
Ranked #9 of 180 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Unless you're staying in Charlotte for business in the Ballantyne area, I'd recommend a hotel uptown for a similar experience and better location for less cost. The hotel is extremely nice, the views of the golf course are spectacular, but the rooms themselves leave a little to be desired. They're relatively small and the bathrooms are awkwardly arranged--very small sink with no counter space and no shower curtain. I will say the room service is spectacular, but I won't be a repeat visitor.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JAR14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballantyne H, General Manager at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear allenrigby,
Thank you for sharing your feedback. We appreciate your kind words regarding our hotel, golf course and room service and value your comments related to our accommodations. We apologize that our guest rooms fell short of your expectations, and we have shared your feedback with our executive team. Thank you again for your comments, which will help us in our efforts to elevate the guest experience.

Sincerely,
Peter Grills
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (824)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

415 - 421 of 824 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

From the monogrammed towels and bathrobes, spa quality toiletries, and comfy bed, everything is first class at the Ballamtyne. Great service and rooms. Only had catered food for a conference but it was very good. Deserves its high ratings.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballantyne H, General Manager at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Mark S,

Thank you for staying with us during a conference and for your positive comments. We value your feedback regarding our accommodation, amenities and catering. Our entire team is committed to providing our guests have wonderful experiences, and we appreciate you affirming our top marks. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Peter Grills
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I hadn't been in Charlotte, NC, for some time, and I attended a meeting there with a large group. The service at the hotel was very good, and the rooms quite comfortable. The food for our large group was very good. The views are nice overlooking the golf course. We did a trip to the NASCAR Hall of Fame, which was a lot of fun. The group rate we received was reasonable for a quality hotel such as this. The Ballantyne would be great for a short getaway. Enjoyed it.

Room Tip: Golf course view is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caukwiphyllis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballantyne H, General Manager at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear caukwiphyllis,
Thank you for staying with us for a meeting and for sharing your feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed our service, accommodations, food and views. We are happy that you had a chance to visit one of the Queen City’s top attractions and appreciate that you found the hotel to be a good value. Thank you for recommending our hotel, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Peter Grills
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I can't begin to explain how awsome my stay was. I went on a "boys weekend" with a friend to golf, drink wine, see Elton John and go to the US open at Pinehurst. The Ballantyne is one hell of a place to stay and desk manager Alan Grant is top shelf when it comes to hospitality. The entire staff was awsome, the hotel is awsome, the rooms are awsome and the course is awsome!
Highly recommended!

Room Tip: I stayed in a 1st floor balcony room near the spa and pool, this is a great spot overlooking the 18t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 55Frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballantyne H, General Manager at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear 55Frank,
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate that you took the time to share your recent experience while in town for a guys weekend. Thank you also for your shout-out to Alan, we are definitely fortunate to have him on our team, as well as your kind words regarding our entire staff, hotel, accommodations and golf course. Our goal is to deliver exceptional experiences to our guests, and we are glad you had a great stay. Thank you for recommending our hotel, and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Peter Grills
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My fiance and I stayed here for my birthday from June 5th- 9th. What a great hotel. The staff was excellect. From the time we drove up until it was time to leave the staff was great.
The only I don't want to call it a complaint but maybe a misunderstanding is with the restaurant. While everyone was friendly and warm the first time we ate there the waiter didn't add 29% on the bill for his tip (we are star rewards members). We gladly gave him his 20% without question when we paid. The second time we ate there my fiance ordered eggs over easy, they came back over hard, the waitress in my opinion should have caught this and made the cook redo before she brought them to the table. The restaurant was not crowded so it's not as though she was over run with customers. Then she added 20% without saying anything. When we asked about the charge she said well we are supposed to add that to anyone who uses the star rewards. Granted we have no problem tipping, but if we hadn't read the check carefully I would have double tipped. The card states we are to tip on the entire check not the discounted rate there was nothing I read that said the tip would be added by the server.
Everything else was great. The pool, room service housekeeping. I really enjoyed my time there.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swanzae61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballantyne H, General Manager at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear swanzae61,

Thank you for celebrating your birthday with us. We are delighted you had a great stay and apologize for any inconveniences related to preparation of the eggs and miscommunication in the restaurant. Servers may opt to add an 18% gratuity to HOT discounted meals. Again, we are sorry for the inconvenience and have shared your comments with our food & beverage team to ensure consistency in the future. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Peter Grills
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here for the 2nd time over Memorial Day weekend. We wanted to have a quick weekend getaway and immediately thought of The Ballantyne's country club-esque pool overlooking their golf course. The room was immaculate and cool. We immediately went outside to sit by their outdoor pool and grabbed a table with an umbrella. We ordered drinks from the pool bar--a bucket of beer (a little pricey but worth it.) We were told that a chef would be grilling burgers and chicken for lunch. It was nice addition to their menu. Music was played by the pool (Jimmy Buffett, Bob Marley) adding to the ambiance. After lounging in and by the pool all afternoon, we headed inside to the indoor pool/spa area and relaxed in the jacuzzi and both used the sauna in our respective dressing rooms. We went back to the room and dressed and then walked across the street to Duckworth's, one of the many restaurants within walking distance. The next morning we went over to Einstein Bagels in the same area. The hotel is in a great location, only one exit from South Park for great upscale shopping. We will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LMSunFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballantyne H, General Manager at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear LMSunFun,
Thank you for staying with us again over a recent holiday weekend. We are delighted you had a nice visit. Thank you for your kind words regarding our pool facilities. We aim to deliver a relaxing getaway experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Peter Grills
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Great location with a beautiful hotel. The staff was very attentive. Both times I was here was for business. The food served at each event was very good. I did room service one night and had their crab cakes. Sooo good! I did visit their Lounge and found their bartenders friendly and not snooty like some lounges I've visited. The internet was responsive. The desk area offered plenty of space for my computer and paperwork. I was amazed at how much space the bathroom offered! I can't wait to come back to this awesome hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redd9063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballantyne H, General Manager at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear redd9063,
Thank you for visiting us again at The Ballantyne for business travel. We appreciate your wonderful feedback and are happy you enjoyed our room service, spacious accommodations, food and service. Out entire staff is dedicated to providing our guests with exceptional stays, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Peter Grills
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Fourth Ward
The Ivey's Hotel
The Ivey's Hotel
#1 of 180 in Charlotte
172 reviews
First Ward
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
#16 of 180 in Charlotte
685 reviews
Fourth Ward
The Dunhill Hotel
The Dunhill Hotel
#50 of 180 in Charlotte
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
The Westin Charlotte
The Westin Charlotte
#34 of 180 in Charlotte
1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ballantyne, Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ballantyne, Charlotte

Address: 10000 Ballantyne Commons Pkwy, Charlotte, NC 28277-2484
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Charlotte
#3 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#3 Green Hotel in Charlotte
#6 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#12 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range: £163 - £359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ballantyne, Charlotte 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ballantyne, a Luxury Collection Hotel by Marriott, Charlotte welcomes guests with gracious service, elegant accommodations and abundant amenities. Explore the spa, seasonal outdoor pool, indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna, tennis, golf, fitness, exquisite dining, 24 hour room service, afternoon tea and leisure offerings. The Ballantyne features beautiful hotel rooms, a lovely cottage and The Lodge at Ballantyne, a 35 room group retreat. Meeting and event planners are invited to view meeting and event facilities with spacious and picturesque outdoor venues, on-site group activities and creative culinary offerings. The Ballantyne is located within nine miles of SouthPark and Carowinds and within 18 miles of Uptown Charlotte and Charlotte Douglas International Airport. In addition to its great accessibility to Charlotte’s impressive recreational and entertainment offerings, the hotel is set amidst shopping, dining, retail and the thriving Ballantyne community. Guests enjoy a complimentary shuttle within one mile and access to many dining and conveniences within walking distance and even more within a short drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Ballantyne, Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ballantyne Hotel Charlotte
Ballantyne Hotel Charlotte
Ballantine Resort Charlotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing