We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stuff...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ballantyne, Charlotte
Ranked #7 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Amazing hotel, grounds, staff and pools. Our family traveled to CLT for 4th of July weekend to visit college friends. The outdoor pool was great, super clean and had drink service. My husband loved the golf. The staff was awesome. Super clean resort. 5 stars! Would go back at any time! So glad we picked this resort!

Room Tip: Parlor Suites give you tons of extra room.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JMN19701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballantyne H, General Manager at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear JMN19701,

Thank you for celebrating the Fourth of July with us and for sharing your positive comments regarding our pool, golf and staff. Our entire team is dedicated to providing our guests with the best in service and amenities. We are pleased you were happy with your experience and hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Peter Grills
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (801)
There are newer reviews for The Ballantyne, Charlotte
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

382 - 388 of 801 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

I decided to stay here on a recent business trip even though it's a fair distance from downtown Charlotte and it was a great decision, they have an excellent spa and golf course and there are many restaurants within a short drive and some even within walking distance. Made the trip feel more like a getaway than a chore!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballantyne H, General Manager at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Michael T,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your business trip to Charlotte. We are glad you were happy with your decision and appreciate your great feedback regarding our spa, golf course and area amenities. Our team strives to provide our guests with a true urban escape, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Peter Grills
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Great hotel, fab rooms and wonderful staff. Stayed here for a surprise party in Charlotte for a friend and can't wait to return! Nice golf course too on site. Shops and restaurants across the street!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Surfbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballantyne H, General Manager at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Richmond67,

Thank you for celebrating your friend’s surprise party with us and for sharing your wonderful feedback. We value your kind words regarding our hotel, accommodations, staff, golf course and area amenities. At The Ballantyne, we aspire to offer an all-encompassing destination and hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Peter Grills
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This was my third visit to Ballantyne and each visit just keeps getting better and better. Our room had a magnificent view overlooking the golf course. I love the bathrooms at this hotel - they're huge and the amenities are wonderful. We had breakfast in the Gallery Restaurant and while we were waiting for our order, they served us a complimentary "prelude" of yogurt and with granola topping that was delicious. Service was exceptional throughout the hotel. I love this place and can't wait for my next visit!

Room Tip: Fantastic view overlooking the golf course.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank ellie1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballantyne H, General Manager at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear ellie1950,

Thank you for staying with us again at The Ballantyne and for your wonderful comments. We are happy that your visits keep getting better. Our entire team is dedicated to creating memorable experiences for our guests. We recognize that details like offering a housemade yogurt parfait are what make the difference. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Peter Grills
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We tried the Ballantyne for the first time as a stopping point after a family beach vacation. We will certainly be back. We enjoyed the pool area and walking the property. Everything is very well-maintained.

The hotel had great service. On several occasions, the staff went out of their way to ensure we had a good experience. We ate at the Gallery twice, and our waiter, Vincent, made sure we had everything we needed and more. He even sent us with water and pastries for our ride home!

We did notice two downsides. As others mentioned, the hotel is loud. You can easily hear people in the hall and in the room next door. We were also disappointed that on two separate occasions hotel guests were playing loud music from their own portable speakers -once at the pool and once on the back patio. The speakers at the pool competed with other music that was playing. The music was playing on the patio after 10pm and I felt bad for guest whose rooms were right above it. For such a nice hotel, it seems tacky to allow this kind of behavior.

Overall, we had a great stay and will be back. If you are looking for a nice, upscale hotel that is not stuffy, this is for you.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank steelcitytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballantyne H, General Manager at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear steelcitytravels,
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback. We are pleased you had an enjoyable stay and a pleasant dining experience at Gallery Restaurant. In addition, we value your comments regarding noise level and apologize for any related inconveniences. We appreciate all the feedback we can receive and have shared your comments with our executive team. We are always looking for ways to improve the guest experience, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Peter Grills
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We recently had a family gathering at this location and the service was great. The pace provided was wonderful, private and comfortable. My son, had spent the night and his room was excellent. They also really enjoyed the pool.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballantyne H, General Manager at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Bill C,
Thank you for hosting your family gathering with us, and we’re delighted you had a wonderful experience. We were also pleased to read that your son had an enjoyable stay. Our entire team is dedicated to providing our guests with enjoyable experiences. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Peter Grills
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I stayed here for one night at the start of a business trip. It was the best start to a very busy week I could have hoped for. Next time I will try and travel a day earlier to have more time here.

The rooms were comfortable and clean. It was a fairly traditional style of decor but didn't feel old or faded at all. I very much appreciated that the air-con was quiet enough not to disturb my sleep. The bar and restaurant areas were very nice too. I have decided the best cure for jetlag was to sit in the evening sun on the veranda with a nice cocktail. The waitress was great and looked after me well. Its a lovely view over the golf course from there.

I really enjoyed my breakfast in the restaurant but it was very formal for an evening meal and the only alternative seemed to be the bar area in reception. It wasn't a problem as room service was good and prompt.

There is a lovely pool area with great service around the pool too.

I will be back before too long I hope!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballantyne H, General Manager at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Terz,
Thank you for staying with us at The Ballantyne, and we are happy that we started your time in Charlotte off on the right note. We appreciate your kind words regarding our accommodations, Gallery Restaurant, service, food, room service and pool area and value your feedback regarding the restaurant atmosphere. We are committed to continuing to elevate the guest experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Peter Grills
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
First Ward
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
#11 of 178 in Charlotte
662 reviews
Fourth Ward
The Ivey's Hotel
The Ivey's Hotel
#1 of 178 in Charlotte
126 reviews
Second Ward
The Westin Charlotte
The Westin Charlotte
#31 of 178 in Charlotte
1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fourth Ward
The Dunhill Hotel
The Dunhill Hotel
#47 of 178 in Charlotte
434 reviews
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ballantyne, Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ballantyne, Charlotte

Address: 10000 Ballantyne Commons Pkwy, Charlotte, NC 28277-2484
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Charlotte
#3 Green Hotel in Charlotte
#3 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#6 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#12 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range: £146 - £366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ballantyne, Charlotte 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ballantyne, a Luxury Collection Hotel by Marriott, Charlotte welcomes guests with gracious service, elegant accommodations and abundant amenities. Explore the spa, seasonal outdoor pool, indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna, tennis, golf, fitness, exquisite dining, 24 hour room service, afternoon tea and leisure offerings. The Ballantyne features beautiful hotel rooms, a lovely cottage and The Lodge at Ballantyne, a 35 room group retreat. Meeting and event planners are invited to view meeting and event facilities with spacious and picturesque outdoor venues, on-site group activities and creative culinary offerings. The Ballantyne is located within nine miles of SouthPark and Carowinds and within 18 miles of Uptown Charlotte and Charlotte Douglas International Airport. In addition to its great accessibility to Charlotte’s impressive recreational and entertainment offerings, the hotel is set amidst shopping, dining, retail and the thriving Ballantyne community. Guests enjoy a complimentary shuttle within one mile and access to many dining and conveniences within walking distance and even more within a short drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Ballantyne, Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ballantyne Hotel Charlotte
Ballantyne Hotel Charlotte
Ballantine Resort Charlotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing