We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great property - service concerns though”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ballantyne, Charlotte
Ranked #9 of 182 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 2 September 2014

My wife and I stayed over the Labor Day weekend with our niece and nephew along with another couple - overall we enjoyed the property and all the amenities it has to offer. The onsite restaurant is a great place for breakfast and dinner - the food is fantastic. The golf course is well manicured and setup for resort play - my friend and I played Monday morning - it was relatively busy - we were able to finish our round under the 4.5 hour pace of play guideline - their greens are super fast and roll true.

We used the in-house transportation shuttle to go to dinner one night and on the return trip back to the hotel our driver even stopped by the local CVS for us so my niece could get some much needed chap-stick.

We spent quite a bit of time at the outside pool area - very well setup and clean. We did encounter the only rough patches in service here. The waitstaff was very inattentive and rude - my wife sat at the bar area waiting for service while 3 of the waitstaff worked around her, served other guests, and even made eye contact with her without acknowledging her and at least saying "I'll be right with you". We waited over 1 hour for a lunch and drink order to be delivered - and we were not the only guests receiving this treatment from talking to other people there. I would like to say that one of the waitstaff at the pool tried to make-up for the rest of the group by going out of his way to serve - Stas - he is a very polite, respectful, engaged person - a true asset to the property.

To me it's about expectations and being a Starwoods Luxury Collection hotel sets the expectation of receiving great service during my stay. If you are going to have pool service it should be prompt - courteous service - no more - no less - don't set the expectation of it and then don't deliver.

We will be back to the hotel again however based on all the strong points of the resort.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lenwood R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballantyne H, General Manager at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Dear LenwoodRyan,
Thank you for staying with us over a recent holiday weekend and for sharing your feedback. We are pleased you had a great visit and appreciate your compliments regarding our hotel, amenities, Gallery Restaurant and golf course. We apologize that your experience at the outdoor pool fell short of the fine service standards that we strive to uphold, and we take all feedback very seriously. We appreciate your kind words regarding Stas, and we have shared your review with our management team to make them aware of your experience. Our hotel is committed to providing our guests with exceptional service, and thank you again for your comments, which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve the guest experience. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Peter Grills
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (830)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

393 - 399 of 830 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2014

Beautiful Hotel. Staff was excellent. Spa is wonderful. Excellent bar. Wish they would expand on their menu, though the food was good. Golf course and spa is what the hotel is known for. Charlotte the city is a beautiful city.

Room Tip: Ask if you can have your room facing golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Candace R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballantyne H, General Manager at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Dear Candace R,
Thank you for celebrating your daughter’s wedding with us and for sharing your experience. We value your feedback regarding our staff, spa, bar and food and appreciate your suggestion regarding our menu. At The Ballantyne, we aspire to deliver exceptional hospitality to our guests, and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Peter Grills
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

The hotel was wonderful and the staff was so attentive. I was pleased with how nice the room was, more than I expected - the tile shower looked like that of an updated expensive home! My partner played golf while I indulged in the spa and dining room terrace. There was a wedding there that weekend which was beautiful.

Room Tip: The higher floors have a great view of the golf greens!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Barb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballantyne H, General Manager at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Dear Barb S,
Thank you for your wonderful feedback, and we are delighted you had a nice stay. We appreciate your kind remarks regarding our hotel, staff and accommodations. All of our associates are dedicated to providing the best in service and quality to our guests, and we’re delighted you experienced that firsthand. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Peter Grills
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile


Member of Starwoods Luxury Collection!
You notice this in every detail. Great room, first class service everywhere (from check in, restaurants to the pool) great pool area and very upscale bar / restaurant!
Nice area with plenty to do as well

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank Vbowi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballantyne H, General Manager at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Vbowi,
Thank you for staying with us at The Ballantyne. We are delighted you experienced consistently great service throughout your visit. We appreciate your kind comments regarding our accommodations, service, pool area and Gallery Restaurant & Bar. At The Ballantyne, we are dedicated to creating memorable experiences for our guests. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Peter Grills
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This is truly a beautiful hotel/resort and we were treated so well from the moment we stepped into the hotel until we checked out. The service was amazing and all the little extras in the room made for a great weekend. The pool area has wonderful cushy chairs, ice water served immediately along with a cocktail and snack menu. There is actually a woman who knocks on the door in the evening to bring bottles of water and leaves chocolates and the weather report on your pillow. Just can not say enough wonderful compliments about this hotel!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dot075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballantyne H, General Manager at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear dot075,
Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your wonderful feedback. We are happy you had a great weekend and value your kind comments regarding our service, amenities and pool area. Our staff is committed to serving our guests with warm hospitality and providing special touches to make each stay memorable. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Peter Grills
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Had the privilege of staying here with an old college friend for a girls weekend. I will certainly be back. Staff was great, beautiful room, large gym for a hotel, and good drinks at the bar in the lobby. Perfect relaxing getaway!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank ashwad918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballantyne H, General Manager at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear ashwad918,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us for a girls’ weekend. We are delighted you had a great visit, and thank you for positive comments regarding our staff, accommodations, fitness center and cocktails. At The Ballantyne, we are committed to providing our guests with unforgettably relaxing experiences. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Peter Grills
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Beautiful hotel and impeccable service. Very friendly and attentive staff...starting at the check in desk. The rear of the hotel overlooks a golf course and there are plenty of places within the hotel to eat or have a drink. The location of the hotel is a busy area, but as soon as you get to the hotel, things quiet down. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Not-too-picky-in-CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballantyne H, General Manager at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Not-too-picky-in-CT,

Thank you staying at The Ballantyne and for sharing your wonderful feedback. We appreciate your kind words regarding our hotel, staff and location. Our entire team is dedicated to creating exceptional experiences. Thank you for recommending our hotel, and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Peter Grills
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Fourth Ward
The Ivey's Hotel
The Ivey's Hotel
#1 of 182 in Charlotte
181 reviews
First Ward
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
#16 of 182 in Charlotte
690 reviews
Fourth Ward
The Dunhill Hotel
The Dunhill Hotel
#54 of 182 in Charlotte
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
The Westin Charlotte
The Westin Charlotte
#35 of 182 in Charlotte
1,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ballantyne, Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ballantyne, Charlotte

Address: 10000 Ballantyne Commons Pkwy, Charlotte, NC 28277-2484
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Charlotte
#3 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#3 Green Hotel in Charlotte
#6 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#12 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range: £147 - £332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ballantyne, Charlotte 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ballantyne, a Luxury Collection Hotel by Marriott, Charlotte welcomes guests with gracious service, elegant accommodations and abundant amenities. Explore the spa, seasonal outdoor pool, indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna, tennis, golf, fitness, exquisite dining, 24 hour room service, afternoon tea and leisure offerings. The Ballantyne features beautiful hotel rooms, a lovely cottage and The Lodge at Ballantyne, a 35 room group retreat. Meeting and event planners are invited to view meeting and event facilities with spacious and picturesque outdoor venues, on-site group activities and creative culinary offerings. The Ballantyne is located within nine miles of SouthPark and Carowinds and within 18 miles of Uptown Charlotte and Charlotte Douglas International Airport. In addition to its great accessibility to Charlotte’s impressive recreational and entertainment offerings, the hotel is set amidst shopping, dining, retail and the thriving Ballantyne community. Guests enjoy a complimentary shuttle within one mile and access to many dining and conveniences within walking distance and even more within a short drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Ballantyne, Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ballantyne Hotel Charlotte
Ballantyne Hotel Charlotte
Ballantine Resort Charlotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing