We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a beautiful experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ballantyne, Charlotte
Ranked #7 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always a beautiful experience!”
Reviewed 5 November 2009

We always stay at this wonderful hotel when visiting family in Charlotte. I was in the process of making reservations for a holiday weekend and checked for recent reviews of this lovely hotel. I was surprised to read the bride's account of her unfortunate experience of having large diamond earrings stolen from her purse. I am truly sorry this happened to her but I cannot understand why she would leave such special earrings anywhere other than in her ears or in the safe in her room. There is a safe in every room and guests are reminded and encouraged to store all valuables safely.
We wouldn't stay anywhere else in Charlotte. The rooms are large and beautifully decorated, the staff is kind and accommodating, and the food in the Gallery Restaurant is excellent. The bathrooms are large and spectacular, with both soaking tubs and showers and the beds are super comfortable. Staying at the Ballantyne is always a beautiful experience!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginny1091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    555
    168
    48
    22
    3
See reviews for
173
259
28
211
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2009

We booked this hotel/resort for our wedding back in April 2009. We thought it would be the most beautiful day of our lives. Ballantyne Resort offered us a complementary suite for the night of our wedding. Little did we know accepting this offer was the worst decision we could have made. During our 7 hour wedding ceremony/reception at the hotel, 2 ct. diamond stud earrings were stolen from the bride's purse/jewelry box. They were safely stored in the bride’s purse. After we've discovered the robbery, we’ve found out that there were NUMEROUS entrances into our suite/room by the housecleaning/hotel personnel. In one particular instance, same person entered the room 7 times in ONE hour. We reported this incident to the local police. The hotel had conducted an investigation and reported no wrongdoing on the part of the hotel or the housecleaning/hotel staff even though there was a clear evidence of wrongdoing. The hotel took the word of a housecleaning person who had a strange excuse for entering our room seven times during the time when we were getting married. We were very disappointed at how the hotel handled the case and could have never imagined how something like this could happen at the place like Ballantyne. It unfortunately DID!!! This was supposed to be the MOST beautiful day of our lives and it was stained by this horrible incident. The earrings were the most expensive and the ONLY item that was stolen from our room. The sad part is that they held a very sentimental value. The hotel did not do anything to compensate us for our loss. PLEASE DON'T STAY AT THIS HOTEL OR BETTER YET GET MARIED AND IF YOU DO MAKE SURE ALL YOUR JEWLERLY IS LOCKED AWAY OR SIMPLY DON’T BRING IT WITH YOU. WE WERE CLEARLY TARGETED FOR ROBERRY THAT DAY BECAUSE WE WERE GETTING MARRIED AND THE HOTEL HAS GIVEN ACCESS KEYS TO NUMEROUS HOTEL STAFF THAT COULD ENTER OUR ROOM AS THEY PLAESE. We were NEVER informed of this otherwise we would have made sure anything of value would be put away. Besides is this something bride and groom need to worry about on their WEDDING day? Well we were clearly fooled by the false sense of security at the Ballantyne Resort l and hope this NEVER happens again to anyone.

Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank mikaela64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlotteTravel, Owner at The Ballantyne, Charlotte, responded to this review, 5 November 2009
Dear Mikaela64,
Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. I was very much aware of the incident and your concerns during your stay with us. Our security team conducted a thorough investigation and we agree that it is unfortunate that this experience tainted your special day. We take all comments and incidents very seriously. We understand that jewelry is a treasured possession, and that is why for every guest room we offer two opportunities to secure valuable items. Each guest room has its own safe, and the front desk reception also provides additional locked storage units. If you would like to further discuss your experience with a member of the hotel staff, please send an email directly to the General Manager skalczynski@theballantynehotel.com so he may address it with you directly. Again, our apologies for your loss.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 October 2009

My husband booked us a room at the Ballantyne very spur of the moment for a quick trip to see some tennis at the Palisades. For that area of Charlotte I expected a good clean hotel, similar to nicer chains. As we pulled up in a ton of rain, we were greeted by very pleasant valet and bellmen and the experience continued to delight us from there. The rooms were extremely comfortable, spacious; the Gallery restaurant was wonderful (we ate in the cozy bar and had the full menu available); the indoor hot tubs were quiet and still open at 10pm and the staff overall was exceptional. To top it all off, the price for a night was great considering what you pay for something comparable in another large city. We will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chosfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shore of Boston
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2009

What a beautiful hotel and the service was great. The infused water in the lobby is always a great treat especially when it is summer in Charlotte. The concierge was helpful and the check in was efficient. The breakfast was delicious and no more expensive than our favorite breakfast place back home. Homemade jellies were great!! The pools were beautiful, although the outside pool was crowded we had the indoor pool to ourselves.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quicktrip27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zanesville, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2009

High-end hotel that will leave you satisfied. Luxury and style from rooms to pool/facilities. Turndown attendant service was a nice touch. There isn't a whole lot I can say to improve on here. Fitness Center and Outdoor Pool were as nice as I've seen. Resistance pools in the lower level will give you a good workout. Golf course looked fantastic but the greens were under repair. I'd stay again in a second. Top-shelf!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dble-D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NE Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2009

From the time we were greeted outside the enterance until we checked out everything was perfect. The staff was attentive, the rooms and common areas were immaculate as were the manicured grounds. The rooms were large, the beds were very comfortable and we didn't even use our pillows that we always travel with. A great experience.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickywine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juneau, Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2009

This hotel offers posh rooms and amenities, but lacks the staff to pull it off.
We arrived late (1:00am), our office had called to inform them our earlier flight had been cancelled, only to find they had given away our rooms (reservation made 3 mos prior) and they sent us in a car to a lesser property a bit away. We had to be back at the hotel early in the morning for our meeting - losing more sleep -commuting and checking in twice.
The restaurant appeared to have a great menu - but Lunch was soggy overcooked pasta and scallops so I went elsewhere for dinner - and one of my group sat at a table waiting for breakfast for twenty minutes w/o being offered even water or coffee before he gave up and left.
Every time I turned around staff was asking about how things were, but didn't seem to be prepared to respond
On the last day, I asked them to call me a taxi for the airport - since they charged more for their car - but they didn't call the taxi - and yet billed me the excessive amount for their car.
They don't really get it - though you could probably have a fine time in the plush environment if you have your own car and can get away for meals - and don't need anything from the staff

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank polaraubie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
First Ward
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
#12 of 178 in Charlotte
648 reviews
Second Ward
The Westin Charlotte
The Westin Charlotte
#31 of 178 in Charlotte
1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fourth Ward
The Ivey's Hotel
The Ivey's Hotel
#1 of 178 in Charlotte
109 reviews
Second Ward
Omni Charlotte Hotel
Omni Charlotte Hotel
#48 of 178 in Charlotte
2,037 reviews
Fourth Ward
The Dunhill Hotel
The Dunhill Hotel
#46 of 178 in Charlotte
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ballantyne, Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ballantyne, Charlotte

Property: The Ballantyne, Charlotte
Address: 10000 Ballantyne Commons Pkwy, Charlotte, NC 28277-2484
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Charlotte
#3 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#3 Green Hotel in Charlotte
#6 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#12 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ballantyne, Charlotte 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ballantyne, a Luxury Collection Hotel by Marriott, Charlotte welcomes guests with gracious service, elegant accommodations and abundant amenities. Explore the spa, seasonal outdoor pool, indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna, tennis, golf, fitness, exquisite dining, 24 hour room service, afternoon tea and leisure offerings. The Ballantyne features beautiful hotel rooms, a lovely cottage and The Lodge at Ballantyne, a 35 room group retreat. Meeting and event planners are invited to view meeting and event facilities with spacious and picturesque outdoor venues, on-site group activities and creative culinary offerings. The Ballantyne is located within nine miles of SouthPark and Carowinds and within 18 miles of Uptown Charlotte and Charlotte Douglas International Airport. In addition to its great accessibility to Charlotte’s impressive recreational and entertainment offerings, the hotel is set amidst shopping, dining, retail and the thriving Ballantyne community. Guests enjoy a complimentary shuttle within one mile and access to many dining and conveniences within walking distance and even more within a short drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Ballantyne, Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ballantyne Hotel Charlotte
Ballantyne Hotel Charlotte
Ballantine Resort Charlotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing