We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Conference Center”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown
Ranked #9 of 180 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2013

I was in town for a convention and this hotel is only two blocks from the Convention Center so it was a quick walk every morning and evening. I am a woman and never felt unsafe if I was walking alone. My original room on the 11th floor was noisy from fans on the roof, and even though they were sold out, the front desk clerk Corina found a way to get me a new room. The staff here is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast area is nice and spread out, although like most Hampton's it's hard to get away from the TV noise in the breakfast area.
I will advise you that if you swim for exercise while you travel, this is a small pool and it doesn't open until 7 am, which is late if you are a business traveler.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
Thank ber5408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (862)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

730 - 736 of 862 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2012

Good location downtown, right beside the NASCAR Hall of Fame. Easy, safe walk to the Time Warner Arena as well. Took the family for a fun weekend of shopping and AHL hockey. Breakfast is included with the room, as is standard with Hamptons, which is nice to have with kids. Room was clean, comfortable and quiet. There is a parking garage attached to the hotel where you can valet or self park, but there is a charge even to self park. Overall it was a nice hotel and I would stay there again.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Stonecity57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Very good hotel with parking available in the garage with bridges to the guest room floors. The room was very clean and well kept with comfortable bedding. I have stayed here three times now and never disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howell P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Was in Charlotte for a student conference and had to use The Hampton-Uptown because the host hotel was full. Wonderful choice! Check in was less than five minutes and check out took less than that. Room was clean, comfortable and right next to the garage, but you couldn't hear anything from the cars. It was a little noisy on Saturday morning, the Thunder Road marathon ended right at the front door so the crowd cheering and announcer got a little loud. You do have to walk about six blocks to find a restaurant. NASCAR Hall of Fame and Convention Center is within three blocks of the hotel.

Room Tip: Fourth and fifth floor rooms have direct access to the parking garage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twin2Garner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

I attended a conference in Charlotte recently and stayed at the Hampton Inn. Located right next door to the NASCAR museum, it's definitely within walking distance of almost everything you want to see in the center of town. In fact, I rode the Sprinter bus in from the airport and walked the six blocks to my hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff, and I loved the view!

Room Tip: The higher up you stay, the better your view. My room faced east, which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abqactor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

This hotel appears to be an older property but very well maintained. Very clean & comfortable but nothing extraordinary. This property is very convenient to the Nascar Hall of Fame probably about 1 block away. There weren't any restaurants convenient enough to walk to & we couldn't find any place to park for the ones we found by driving. Be aware that you have to check in to the hotel & get your key card to be able to access the parking garage to park. There is a charge for parking.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dixiehdrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

A friend and I were recently attending a women's conference in Charlotte, NC. We chose to stay at the Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown, as we have stayed there before for the same conference, several times over the past few years.

Never have I experienced any problems whatsoever with this hotel. The customer service there is above and beyond. If there is anything you need that they don't have, they will do their very best to get it for you. If there is an issue with your accommodations, they will correct it. Their customer service is among the very best I have ever experienced, and this is an area that is very important to me personally.

The accomodations at this hotel are first class. Clean, fresh rooms, all the comforts you require, and a very nice breakfast in the a.m. They always have cookies and coffee available in the main lobby. The hotel is coveniently located, close to Time Warner Arena, as well as the Nascar Hall of Fame, and the downtown (Uptown?) area in general.

My friend and I had different times when we had to be at the Time Warner Arena that weekend. So we needed transportation at different times, different places. No worries with this hotel! I was able to park my car at the hotel, and come and go as I pleased. My friend was able to take their shuttle whenever and wherever she needed to be. She was treated with the utmost courtesy, and the shuttle was always prompt, going and coming.

I cannot recommend this hotel enough! I will certainly be enjoying their hospitality in the future. While it is a bit more pricy than many hotel chains, it is a blessing to know that you will receive the greatest bang for your buck, along with many smiles and 'Hello's', at the Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown.

Room Tip: Different rooms have different amenities. Simply let the booking staff know what you need, require...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lillian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Second Ward
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown
Second Ward
Hyatt Place Charlotte Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Fourth Ward
The Dunhill Hotel
The Dunhill Hotel
#49 of 180 in Charlotte
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown

Address: 530 E Martin Luther King Blvd, Charlotte, NC 28202-2830
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Second Ward
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#20 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#28 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range: £90 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lord Cornwallis called Charlotte a "hornet's nest" in 1780—we took that as a compliment and today remain a town full of activity. Today, the area around the Hampton Inn® hotel in Charlotte-Uptown is a magnet for business and innovative thinking. Yet the Queen City also hosts amazing restaurants, museums, sports and shopping. From golf to great art, you'll find it all just minutes from our hotel in Charlotte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown Hotel Charlotte
Charlotte Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing