We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Looks nice, staff is nice, other things not so much”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown
Ranked #10 of 177 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, United States
1 review
“Looks nice, staff is nice, other things not so much”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

Banging pipes in walls, weak internet in some rooms, and cold showers in the morning. Staff was nice, place looked well-kept, breakfast was good. Too bad there were those other issues or it would have gotten a good rating.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Wesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    227
    50
    19
    14
See reviews for
161
175
37
305
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

The hotel is very well situated close to the life of the city. There is a shuttle service that will take you to venues within 3 miles and pick you up when you call. The service is first class. Breakfast is good. Also free internet. Just a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Just came back from a 4-night stay,attending an event at the Convention Center. The Convention Center is a 2-block walk from the hotel. I picked this hotel because it appeared to be the least expensive one that was recommended by the convention organizers. It was a good,solid choice. The room looked virtually new and bedding was first quality. Gym was small but equipment was in top shape. Free breakfast was somewhat minimal but consistent with what one would expect at a chain hotel of its class. The front desk staff was particularly cheerful and helpful...or maybe everyone in North Carolina is like that! Only negative is that there is no post-breakfast dining on premises and you have to walk a little distance to find a bunch of reasonable restaurant choices. If you don't mind that, you'll find this hotel to be an excellent place to stay for your convention hotel needs.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rap_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, United States
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

guests on my floor partied until 4:00 am on a Sunday night. I stayed at this hotel because I had surgery scheduled at a hospital near the hotel. Did not sleep at all because of the noise from the other guests on the floor that were having a big party.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Timothy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalzell, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

My husband and I really enjoyed this hotel. It smelled great through the entire hotel (From the lobby to our room). Our room was very clean. I am definitly a person who looks throughly in a room before I even put my stuff down. They did a very good job at cleaning. Bed was comfortable and very clean (no stains or hair). Shuttle took us to breakfast and bought us back and the driver was very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomasville, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

This trip was for business in my family unfortunately. However, my stay was awesome and I would recommend anyone to stay here and relax for a weekend or a day. Please feel free to visit this hotel at anytime.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Samuel Lamar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

I have utilized this hotel over the past 4 years when I travel to the City of Charlotte for business. The price of rooms has increased by about 50% since I first traveled there. The hotel is always clean and the rooms are in great shape; the facility is centrally located to businesses in uptown with several restaurants within walking distance.

Breakfast is pretty good, but the wireless access is very weak, the workout room is rather limited, parking is costly and there is no airport shuttle (only a shuttle within 3 miles radius that needs advanced scheduling).

Yes, I would still stay there, but this facility has dropped from being my go to hotel and is now is my stand by while I shop for better alternative

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Second Ward
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fourth Ward
The Dunhill Hotel
The Dunhill Hotel
#42 of 177 in Charlotte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Second Ward
Hyatt Place Charlotte Downtown
Second Ward
Westin Charlotte
Westin Charlotte
#29 of 177 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown

Property: Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown
Address: 530 Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd, Charlotte, NC 28202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Second Ward
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#20 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#28 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lord Cornwallis called Charlotte a "hornet's nest" in 1780—we took that as a compliment and today remain a town full of activity. Today, the area around the Hampton Inn® hotel in Charlotte-Uptown is a magnet for business and innovative thinking. Yet the Queen City also hosts amazing restaurants, museums, sports and shopping. From golf to great art, you'll find it all just minutes from our hotel in Charlotte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown Hotel Charlotte
Charlotte Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing