We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff, clean room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown
Ranked #9 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
nc
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly staff, clean room”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I chose this Hampton Inn because of the proximity to the Bank of America stadium. It is an easy walk down Stonewall (not quite a mile) to the BOA stadium, with many dining places along the way (especially in the College St. area). Self-parking is available in the adjacent lot/building ($10/24 hours), which also has Valet parking ($15/24 hours). We had a King Size mini-suite, which was a two-room suite, very spacious for 3 people. We did not use the jacuzzi, but did use the sofabed in the living room, which our picky son said was comfortable. WiFi was free and we had a fairly strong signal. Each room had a separate temperature control, which was nice. The room had a mini-fridge, microwave, and plenty of outlets to charge electronics. There was a flat-screen tv in each room. Breakfast was good, with long hours (6:00-10:00am) and had scrambled eggs, breakfast meats, potatoes, oatmeal, juices, waffle maker, breads, muffins, etc. Breakfast staff was exceptionally friendly and kept items well-stocked. Sleeping area, living room are, and bathrooms were VERY clean. I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aeflynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    497
    239
    52
    21
    15
See reviews for
184
184
39
325
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The hotel is in a convenient location - right in downtown and within a couple blocks of restaurants. The hotel shuttle will take you within a mile of the property - I used it twice and found the drivers to be very friendly. The customer service I received from the hotel staff made me enjoy my stay, but the condition of the room was disappointing. The room felt old and had a musty smell to it. I don't think my air conditioning unit worked properly. The Garden Inn is right next door...if I'm in the area again, I'll try it instead.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cedar_shake79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S.E. Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Here due to a business lunch my husband must attend two blocks away. It is downtown Charlotte, directly one block over from the Nascar Hall of Fame. Within 2 city blocks there are restaurants galore....not necessarily brand named ones, but lots of local places that are very trendy and filled with locals. Streets are well monitered with police and security guards spaced in front of parking garages and hotels, so there are a lot of people walking at night. Hotel is in the district of high traffic area, so the hotel itself is obviously used a lot. I give it 4 stars. Carpets are a bit soiled in our room, wallpaper loose in the seams, furniture a bit worn and there are light stains on the couch, giving it that well used feel. However....it is clean, overly perfumed to keep odors at bay in halls and elevators. Lobby is well used as well, but nicely decorated. Breakfast is typical Hampton Inn style, eatable. Bed was very firm but good for my 8 hours. WiFi was really fast and TV was very clear. Quiet hotel. I would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This hotel is the best I've stayed at in years. They offer shuttle service within a 3 mile radius at all times, for dinner, for conferences etc. The entire staff was polite, friendly and professional.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pigeon Forge, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I was SO Pleased with the customer service! I lost my camera and EVERYONE did everything they could to help me find it, video footage, asking people if they have seen it. They went above and beyond what I would have thought. Yes it was found I had dropped it off a cart and it was turned in at the Nascar Hall of Fame. I just wanted to give a big thank you to ALL of the staff.
It is a clean and easy to get around town. Shuttle drivers were great. Thanks again for the great customer service!
Cindy, lost camera lady!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CindyPH2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Kids enjoyed the city view at night. Could have used a little help with baggage from parking garage to lobby or from drop off point to lobby. Desk staff was quick and check in was easy. Room was clean and as advertised. Breakfast was good and kids enjoyed pool, which was a nice temperature. Overnight was quiet. Would stay here again.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank LocalRP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed here for a convention and the staff really want all out to make everyone feel welcome. We had over 11,000 members in town and took all the hotels, but I lucked out with this one. Breakfast staff were always smiling, housekeepers great and valets were on the go. I'll definitely stay here again. Across from convention center and NASCAR Hall of Fame. Within walking distance to restaurants and other hotels, the EpiCenter, and the heart of downtown. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PinkPearl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Second Ward
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown
Fourth Ward
The Dunhill Hotel
The Dunhill Hotel
#47 of 178 in Charlotte
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Hyatt Place Charlotte Downtown
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Second Ward
The Westin Charlotte
The Westin Charlotte
#31 of 178 in Charlotte
1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown

Property: Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown
Address: 530 E Martin Luther King Blvd, Charlotte, NC 28202-2830
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Second Ward
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#20 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#28 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lord Cornwallis called Charlotte a "hornet's nest" in 1780—we took that as a compliment and today remain a town full of activity. Today, the area around the Hampton Inn® hotel in Charlotte-Uptown is a magnet for business and innovative thinking. Yet the Queen City also hosts amazing restaurants, museums, sports and shopping. From golf to great art, you'll find it all just minutes from our hotel in Charlotte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown Hotel Charlotte
Charlotte Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing