We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I expected more...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Omni Charlotte Hotel
Ranked #43 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“I expected more...”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

OK, so I got an amazing price on this hotel by combining online coupon codes and sales. I can't complain about that. The location is fantastic and the shower, oh the shower was amazing (if you like strong water pressure.) The staff was accomodating and the breakfast buffet was tasty (albeit quite pricey.) The bed was hard as a rock - I mean the sheets were nice and soft but the actual bed was insanely uncomfortable. Also, the pillows were flat and lifeless. The room was nice enough and very clean. I was hoping for better quality bath products, and perhaps some q-tips but I can overlook these items. However, when we got into our room, looked around a little (the coffee maker was hidden in a cabinet under the tv?) and saw that there were earplugs in the bedside table drawer - maybe left behind by someone else? I don't think so - there was blaring, thumping music outside of our room until 2am. We just couldn't sleep until after it stopped, not to say we slept much on our rock bed - and who sleeps in earplugs? moving on... There are like 4 elevators (for 300 rooms!) in a tiny niche beside the reception area - so people coming up from the parking garage, and people trying to go up to their rooms are all fighting for the same space. Maybe it wouldn't have been so bad had there not been a conference in Charlotte, with over 200 people staying at the OMNI. But two sets of elevators would have been a better design - it was complete chaos. Anywhoo - I work in a four diamond hotel - and while it tries, this just isn't one. I'm super happy I didn't pay anywhere near the full price, and next time I'll probably stay at the Aloft.

Room Tip: The side without the loud thumping music (not sure which side specifically this is.)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bull_City_Sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Charlotte Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thank you so much for your comments regarding your recent stay here at the Omni Charlotte Hotel. I would also like to apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced with the Epicenter (night clubs) across the street. We continue to work with the other Uptown Hotels (Marriott, Ritz Carlton, and Hilton) and the city to help control our noise issues from the businesses across the street. Your comments will be shared with our management team so that they can show the city how the outside noise is a issue for our guests. We hope to have another opportunity to have you return as a guest so that we can earn both your business and trust.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,974 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    793
    562
    337
    180
    102
See reviews for
289
453
74
853
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Upper Marlboro, United States
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Staff was awesome, hotel rooms not worth the price at all. Location was awesome, its around a lot of great city life activity. Rooms were mediocre at best and not worth the price. This hotel truly needs a complete renovation to compete with other hotel chains that are in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Keturah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, United States
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Overall experience was excellent. The location of the hotel as well is an additional plus. There were a lot of amenities in the building and the hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Enjoyed my stay very much and would absolutely stay there again. One of the best hotel experiences I have had.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Penny B L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryland, United States
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2013

The hotel was okay but could use a indoor pool and microwave and refrigerator in rooms. The overall experience was not bad but there is always space for improvement. Staff was friendly and polite and able to accommodate all your needs and concerns.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 15 August 2013

The hotel is very nice, but I do not feel that I received the amount that we spent. The staff were very friendly. I hope in the near future there is an option to have a microwave, and a slightly larger fridge. I would still recommend this room to others though.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We had a nice larger King room on the 9th floor that had a small sitting area. From the moment we arrived we had fantastic service. We ordered room service, and all 3 of us really enjoyed our meals for both dinner and breakfast the next morning. Every staff member we encountered during our stay was very helpful, and went above and beyond to make sure we had everything we needed. As we got ready to leave the valet made sure we knew the quickest way to get back on the highway and offered my kids and I cold bottled water for our drive. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LESBocatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Most of the staff were very friendly and helpful. The room we had on the 12th floor was musty and smokey. The hallway carpet was stretched to many times and had buckled. When I enquired about transportation to the airport, I was told either a taxi or a bus that picks up across the street from the hotel. The Marriott across the street, where some of my family members were staying, has town cars that you can hire for about $5 more than a basic taxi.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Second Ward
Westin Charlotte
Westin Charlotte
#32 of 178 in Charlotte
1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Third Ward
Charlotte Marriott City Center
Fourth Ward
The Dunhill Hotel
The Dunhill Hotel
#49 of 178 in Charlotte
416 reviews
First Ward
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
#16 of 178 in Charlotte
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Charlotte Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Charlotte Hotel

Property: Omni Charlotte Hotel
Address: 132 E Trade St, Charlotte, NC 28202-2131
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Second Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Charlotte
#43 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#47 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Charlotte Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Uptown Charlotte, this luxury hotel puts you just steps from the Queen City's most popular attractions. Offering an ideal location, superior service, and an inviting atmosphere, this hotel is the perfect destination for exploring Charlotte. Omni Charlotte Hotel has begun the process of re-imagining all of the public spaces and guest rooms. The work is ongoing and is scheduled to be complete late 2017. We have taken steps to ensure minimal impact to the overall guest experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Omni Charlotte Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Charlotte
Omni Charlotte
Charlotte Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing