We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Omni Charlotte Hotel
Ranked #38 of 177 Hotels in Charlotte
Fort Gratiot, United States
2 reviews
“Great location, Nice hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Service was great and we were close to everything. Rooms are a little noisy when there are people in the hallways, but this was usually only in the early morning or late evening. Food and value were good.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Scott T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,887 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    763
    547
    318
    166
    93
See reviews for
271
426
71
823
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We booked this hotel for a one night stay to break up a long drive. The woman on the front desk who checked us in couldn't have been nicer and was very helpful. It was a really hot day and as soon as we checked in we wanted nothing more than to jump in the pool. It was bliss! (although they were a little short on fresh towels at the poolside and my husband and I had to share one) Our room was very big and the beds were extremely comfortable with some of the best pillows that I have ever slept on!
There was an event happening just up the street which was very noisy until around 11pm but I can't really blame the hotel for that! Overall a very nice stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cp-k-v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed here for one night and greatly enjoyed the location of how the hotel is in downtown Charlotte and lots of places were in walking distance. I did NOT enjoy the location of the hotel when it's next to a bar that had a band playing till 2 am and I could hear and understand the lyrics of every song that was played. Everything is expensive here too so be prepared.

Room Tip: Get a room that is away from any bars in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eris4576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oviedo, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

We drove to this Omni for a weekend convention. I liked the express check in option so on our drive I checked in online.
Our room key cards were to be on a board near the front desk and we would not have to check in with front desk staff.
Our key cards were not on the board as promised and we arrived about 45 mins past time we selected for check in due to heavy traffic coming into Charlotte.
I had to go to desk and check in normally so the express check in was worthless.
Also, you have to have a parking ticket validated for in and out access to the Bank of America parking garage.
Room was average, water pressure not great.
Shopping plaza under and around hotel was a nice plus.
We did have a spoiled creamer in our room as I saw someone else had mentioned in a review.
We attended a banquet in the hotel and the filet mignon was served very rare. Only browned on outside. My filet looked like a lump of meat and not the shape of a normal filet.
Our table all had very rare filet. I could not eat it and my husband ate mine. Should have at least been cooked medium to medium well so everyone could enjoy it. Service from our waiter was slow and he disappeared after serving the main course and we never got the coffee or tea promised until we grabbed another server.
Worst banquet meal and service we have ever had. We do attend a lot of these convention banquets.
This was the worst experience we have had at a convention.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Clownswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Charlotte Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. The filet was cooked to medium rare as directed by the meeting planner but the other issues that you experienced should not have occurred and we truly apologize. We will share your comments with the front desk, housekeeping, and our banquet staff in hopes that we can learn what may have happened and prevent future recurrences. It is important to us to hear from our guests and we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornelius, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Let me start with the pros - the room was nice/comfortable but the service was awful! I always do a full inspection of the room because if anything's wrong I want to report it right away. So I noted that the water bottle had already been opened. I wasn't sure if someone had drank out if it and refilled it, was going to drink it and saw the cost and changed there minds so there was no way I was touching it. Immediately I went back down and reported it to the front desk. They say "OK will we send another bottle up right away" never happened! Then later that evening after we returned from Speed Street we decided we wanted a snack. Well the mini fridge was locked - I called down and requested that it be unlocked..again NO ONE ever showed up.

I don't know what the problem was but I will never stay there again - not sure if my skin was too brown but my money was green!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lenorab49057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Charlotte Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Please accept our sincerest apologies for the poor follow up during your stay at our hotel. There is no excuse for this and we assure you we are researching how these items were missed. We truly appreciate your business and hope that the future will give us an opportunity to earn your confidence in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

I stay at this hotel quite often whenever I am in Charlotte. The service provided by this Omni is head and shoulders above the other hotels in this town, and quite honestly better than most Omni Hotels. I travel quite often for work and it is a pleasure to be greeted by the same people each time I come who remember your name. I notice other guests in the hotel are greeted in the same manner.
The rooms are always clean and very comfortable. The beds are the most comfortable hotel beds I have ever slept on.
When I do not feel like heading out to dinner I can always count on a good meal at the restaurant - and the bar tenders that are there are the best.

Only thing holding back from 5 stars is the hotel does show its age - it is time to update the rooms!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimmyTheShoe59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Everyone was very friendly and accommodating. The room was very nice and clean. The pool area was also very nice--pool towels provided. Although we did not eat dinner at the hotel this trip, I have in the past and the food was great.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Ruth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Second Ward
Westin Charlotte
Westin Charlotte
#29 of 177 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Third Ward
Charlotte Marriott City Center
First Ward
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
#18 of 177 in Charlotte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Fourth Ward
The Dunhill Hotel
The Dunhill Hotel
#43 of 177 in Charlotte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Charlotte Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Charlotte Hotel

Property: Omni Charlotte Hotel
Address: 132 E Trade St, Charlotte, NC 28202-2131
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Second Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Charlotte
#43 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#47 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Charlotte Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Uptown Charlotte, this luxury hotel puts you just steps from the Queen City's most popular attractions. Offering an ideal location, superior service, and an inviting atmosphere, this hotel is the perfect destination for exploring Charlotte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni Charlotte Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Charlotte
Omni Charlotte
Charlotte Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing