We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location/great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown
Ranked #14 of 177 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Location/great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

Stayed at the HGI uptown for 2 nights at the end of December. Was greeted by Wayne and Amber. Both associates are a great fit for their job. Friendly, knowledgeable about the area and efficient. They both provided each guest in the line to check in with personal attention, while also making each guest waiting feel welcome. The hotel location is a short walk from College Street, which has numerous restaurants and night life. Though I did not visit the NASCAR hall of fame, it is located next door to the hotel. The shuttle service for the downtown area is excellent. The driver was enthusiastic about his job and was able to keep us laughing all the way to our destination. The hotel is exrememly clean. I was unable to find any dust, even in the lobby area. Definitely a place to stay again and again.

Room Tip: Ask for a high level room. You will have a great view of downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    383
    205
    76
    25
    7
See reviews for
133
173
44
271
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knightdale, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

Hotel provided a shuttle to close to the stadium. Only down side for the visit was that they ran out of parking in their garage, so we had to park across the street. Room was comfortable and a good size.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllyJ-NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
273 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

This hotel is nothing fancy and for business is a perfect location. They do charge $10 a day for parking, but if you are there just for a nice there is easy parking on the street. The rooms a little dated, but you are paying to be downtown.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bubba086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

I was only in Charlotte for this trip for one night for short girls weekend away! The three of us had a wonderful experience at this particular HGI and its right off the highway so quite easy to get to. I was unaware that we'd have to pay for parking but it was well worth it considering we never moved the car once we arrived. We were able to walk everywhere and the complimentary shuttle service was an amazing bonus!! When we decided to venture out to see about our nightlife options, the front desk informed us that we could take the complimentary shuttle and they'd drop us off right at the Epicenter. We had dinner and drinks and were able to take the shuttle back to the hotel when we were ready to get to bed. Great weekend getaway! Seems to be a new property, the rooms were clean and the lobby was beautiful. Highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anorganicgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leominster, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

Upgraded to suite with jacuzzi tub. Friendly staff. There is no atmosphere in this part of town but with a short walk to the bars and restaurants this is not a big problem.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarryQ569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

I was very skeptical about staying here after reading some of the reviews, but we didn't have any trouble.
The location was perfect.
We were fortunate that we got the room at the end of the hall so it was extra big! We had a nice size sitting area that was separate from our room. We totally utilized it as we had two other couples we knew that were staying at the hotel as well.
The room and hotel were both very clean.
The ice machine did not work on our floor which was aggravating.
The complimentary shuttle was perfect! We used it for breakfast one day and had it take us to some night life another night. The drivers were extremely friendly.
We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alreagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Port Richey, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

Convenient to downtown, right across the street from the NASCAR hall of fame. Same points system (Hilton) as the hotel right next door - Hampton. The Hampton has a complimentary breakfast while the Hilton Garden has complimentary coffee only. The bar is so small, not enough room for more than 5-6 people. I've staye in both the Hilton Garden and the Hampton, but a slight preference for the Hampton when comparing the two.

Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Second Ward
Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Hyatt Place Charlotte Downtown
Second Ward
Omni Charlotte Hotel
Omni Charlotte Hotel
#38 of 177 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,889 reviews
Second Ward
Westin Charlotte
Westin Charlotte
#29 of 177 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown
Address: 508 E Martin Luther King Blvd, Charlotte, NC 28202-2830
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Second Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#15 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#17 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown hotel is in the major North Carolina banking and financial district close to: The Charlotte Convention Center, Blumenthal Performing Arts Center, Bank of America Stadium, Over Street Mall and the new Charlotte Bobcat Arena are all just blocks away. The uptown area is home to many fine restaurants, museums and shopping malls. Charlotte Douglas International Airport is only 9 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown Hotel Charlotte
Hilton Charlotte
Charlotte Hilton Garden Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing