We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel , staff, and location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown
Ranked #15 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Fruit Cove
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel , staff, and location!”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

This hotel is well managed with friendly staff, clean and quiet rooms, and excellently prepared food in the restaurant. The location is great as well since we like to be near the 'uptown' area of Charlotte but not in the middle of it, it's just a few blocks away.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    410
    217
    83
    26
    8
See reviews for
144
190
47
284
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We stayed one night at this hotel at the tail end of our North Carolina road trip. We didn’t really care for the area compared to South Park where we had stayed earlier, but had no issues with the hotel itself. Maybe it was just because it was a holiday, but there was very little pedestrian traffic when we were there and it just seemed a little deserted and as a result, we felt a little uneasy walking around. That being said, there are several things to do within walking distance. We went to the NASCAR Hall of Fame and the Mint Museum. We had dinner and breakfast at the hotel, both of which were good. All the employees we dealt with were very nice.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

Sigh. Just when you think it'll be a good stay, you spy the dated room. Well, it started at the get go...very confusing driveway and parking lot with no valet staff on hand. Front desk was pleasant and lobby/bar area looked refreshed and comfy. Room was a total yuck - worn out drapes, lamps and art. Shuttle service to area attractions and restaurants was nice - not having anyone answer endless calls for pick up - not so much. Just a mixed bag leading to a blah visit.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pbgvluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

It's not unlike many other HGI properties. Clean, quiet, decent. Nothing special, but the pool is small and the whirlpool smaller. The bed, although adjustable, was violently uncomfortable if one slept 'outside the grooves'.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
2 Thank rfhjxc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn for three nights while attending the World of Outlaws Sprint Car National Championships. The hotel is across the street from the NASCAR Hall of Fame, and I loved the checkered crosswalks in the area. The agents at the front desk were obviously proud of their city and gave us information on local restaurants and attractions. The hotel offers a free shuttle service that runs until 11 pm. I bought a package that included the breakfast, which offers pancakes and waffles, biscuits and gravy, and a variety of above-average breakfast options.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anyamare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Me and my wife recently stayed in one of the whirlpool rooms for the weekend.We found everything to be great.The staff was very nice and helpful.I would recommend adding breakfast to your stay because it isn't included in your room.But it isn't your average hotel breakfast, it's much higher quality.The only problem we had was a small inconvenience with being picked up late by the shuttle after dinner.The staff was very apologetic and to be honest my wife and I just wanted to spend time together in Charlotte anyway so it didn't really impact our trip.We will defiantly be staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jjbrown2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Stayed for three nights, first time in Charlotte. Nice hotel in a decent location. Across the street from the Nascar Hall of Fame, but that's not my thing but the hotel is within walking distance to anywhere in the city. Very clean, the room (313) was very comfortable and a nice size but too low to the street. Even though there isn't a ton of traffic you do hear everything from outside if you're staying in this room.

Now onto my WiFi misery. Traveling on business I needed to have internet access in my room for work and they do offer free WiFi but staying in this room I had problems connecting and staying connected each day I was there. I called down to the desk on the first night and spoke to Jim. He was very nice and checked their system and directed me to a help desk # but things didn't change. This was my only gripe about this hotel, but it was a pain in the neck getting disconnected over and over and over again. If it wasn't for that I would probably go back if I was ever going to return to Charlotte.

Very nice hotel, but make sure they can put you in a room where the WiFi won't fail every 15 minutes.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dlove72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Second Ward
Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown
Second Ward
Hyatt Place Charlotte Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Second Ward
The Westin Charlotte
The Westin Charlotte
#32 of 178 in Charlotte
1,527 reviews
Fourth Ward
The Dunhill Hotel
The Dunhill Hotel
#48 of 178 in Charlotte
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown
Address: 508 E Martin Luther King Blvd, Charlotte, NC 28202-2830
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Second Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#15 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#17 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown hotel is in the major North Carolina banking and financial district close to: The Charlotte Convention Center, Blumenthal Performing Arts Center, Bank of America Stadium, Over Street Mall and the new Charlotte Bobcat Arena are all just blocks away. The uptown area is home to many fine restaurants, museums and shopping malls. Charlotte Douglas International Airport is only 9 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown Hotel Charlotte
Hilton Charlotte
Charlotte Hilton Garden Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing