We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ughhh never again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn Charlotte Uptown
Ranked #68 of 177 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Ughhh never again”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I have know stayed at close to a dozen hotels around Charlotte and this one is the least likely I will ever return to.

It had all the prerequisite residence inn features, large rooms, flat screen, mitchell toiletries and was in uptown. The breakfast was pretty good also which is why it even got 2 stars instead 1.Though fruit salad could use a bit more variety.

This was the most unhelpful staff except for once I have ever encountered. Late at night the front desk clerk stared at us as we pulled out room key to walk over to unlock front door and then never greeted us. I do not think we were ever greeted except while leaving the hotel to ask us how are stay was once. The area where they served breakfast doubled as the most depressing looking bar as bright lights and Denny's like furniture do not make an appealing site.

The room while large had many issues as both bathubs had cracks that were repaired with epoxy. Some of the channels on the TV had no signal in our room though were available in others.

My recommendation is the only time one should be close to this hotel is if they are using the same parking garage to go to a nearby event. How this place is ranked the 19th best in Charlotte is beyond me.

Room Tip: Any floors from 5 on down in even numbers will have view of parking garage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bccorb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlottehotelGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Charlotte Uptown, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. As you stated, we are ranked very high in the Charlotte market with both service and maintenance and upkeep among our highest ratings. We strive to provide friendly helpful service and preach it daily. I apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We are currently at 100% guest satisfaction in both arrival experience and overall service for the month of April but will continue to work on strengthening our execution in those areas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    102
    19
    8
    3
See reviews for
99
88
24
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I Stayed at this hotel from 03/19 to 03/24 and had a great time here. This hotel is convinetly located next to the BOA stadium. I was staying at the 7th floor and my room was pretty clean, quiet and comfortable. I checked in late on 03/19 & was at the bar. I requested Amy ( she is the best) to serve me dinner. Although the kictcken was closed...she spoke to the chef and ensured i had dinner. Rooms are spacious and well maintained. Two big LED's ( one in bed room) & 1 in adjoining room kept me entertained. Free Breakfast was good. I would definitely visit again

Room Tip: Choose rooms away from road...as there is construction happening across the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank piyush_mehta3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlottehotelGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Charlotte Uptown, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you for the kind words. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend away from the kids. The front desk staff was very pleasant upon arrival, our room on the 9th floor was extremely clean, quiet and comfortable. The free breakfast had a little bit of everything to offer, and plenty of tables to accommodate the guests. This hotel is right next to the new ballpark and the football stadium so it would be a perfect location to stay at if attending one of those events. The area around the hotel was lovely, we were able to walk to the area parks or sit on near by benches to watch the scenery. Our overall experience at this hotel was really great and we would definitely come back again!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LesJds09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlottehotelGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Charlotte Uptown, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
We were happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Uptown Charlotte does have a lot to offer and it looks like your hotel stay wit us was very nice and you received the type of service we strive to deliver. We look forward to your return to our property and thank you for the nice review. Take care and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

While we got off to a bit of a rocky start trying in vain to check-in late at night during a system shut down...there seemed to be no corporate back up plan or at least not one the night staff understood.

We returned the next day for our normal reservation. From that point on and for our entire 4 day visit, it was smooth sailing and a wonderful experience! We loved everything about this particular Residence Inn and will definitely return! Here is why...excellent involved professional but caring manager (Dave)...very clean rooms and common areas, nice small bar just off the lobby with light food and room service available until 11:00 PM (great bar staff), excellent breakfast (and breakfast staff), perfect location for walking and exploring Uptown or visiting friends, local hotel transport, easy reasonable parking, important to us...pet friendly. Important for non pet owners you could not tell that this is a pet friendly hotel. I have not enjoyed a hotel stay this much in a long time and usually stay at full Marriott or Courtyard hotels; we stayed here as Residence Inns generally allow well behaved pets. Thank you to the staff for being so nice to us and our pet. Our family and we hope our 15 year old Westie, Charlie, will see you again!

Room Tip: If you are traveling with a dog please remember to bring pee pads and other things to help keep this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLB409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlottehotelGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Charlotte Uptown, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Again, I apologize for the rough start. When the property management system is disfunctional we cannot change or add any new information/reservations. I am so glad to hear that we did recover well and you and Charlie had a great stay. Come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in February 2014 - we were part of a wedding party so received a lower rate than advertised, but it seemed like a good deal for the neighborhood. Everyone who worked here was very friendly and helpful, especially a man at the front desk who went to his car to get collar stays for my boyfriend who had forgotten to pack them. Sorry we can't remember his name but it was much appreciated! They were very helpful with logistics and recommendations and even offered a free shuttle around uptown. The only minor hiccup was when we returned to collect our luggage that had been stored at the hotel prior to going to the airport, it took them a very long time to locate our luggage, even though we had a ticket to pick it up that matched the tag numbers on the luggage.

The room was very nice; no issues with cleanliness. It was nice to have a kitchenette area and the bed was comfy. The gym was well-equipped and handy to have. The breakfast was good -- excellent in the fact that it was offered and there was a very wide variety of hot choices, but only good in terms of the taste of the food and they actually ran out of some items early on our second morning. Still, we were happy to have it.

The hotel's location seemed slightly out of the way, like just on the edge of Uptown though we weren't very familiar with Charlotte. We walked to Epicentre and it took 10-15 minutes (which was totally fine). The hotel is right next to the stadium where the Panthers play.

Overall we were satisfied and would stay here again if returning to Charlotte.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KRB222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlottehotelGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Charlotte Uptown, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thank you so much so staying with us and even more for writing a nice review. We hope to have you stay with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We just spent 5 nights at this hotel. We had to arrive a day earlier and stay a day longer than our original booking due to the huge snow storm that shut down all of Charlotte and the rest of the state. The staff made our changes super easy and made us feel at home the entire time. It was a wonderful place to be stuck, since nothing was open anywhere in the city, there was plenty of food and everything was done to keep the guests happy.
The room was spacious and incredibly comfortable and we even talked about how one could easily live there! There were 3 of us in the room and there was plenty of space, the sofabed was even comfortable!
The huge bonus is the shuttle that will take you and pick you up from anywhere in a 2 mile radius.
We enjoyed the manager's reception and the included breakfast was an wonderful surprise, something a little different every morning.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank victoriakaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlottehotelGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Charlotte Uptown, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you so much for the nice review. We were so happy that we had enough supplies to service a sold out hotel during a winter snow storm. Please come back and stay with us next time in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We stayed for two nights over New Years Eve. Although the revelers were out in full force, we didn't hear any noise in the hallway or rooms next to us. Our room was a studio, but it was a pretty good size for two people. There is a bar and lounge area downstairs, which surprised me. Most Residence Inns don't offer that type of amenity. The parking lot is located next door, but there didn't seem to be an internal walkway or entry. They were doing construction, so this may have been the reason. For electric cars, the parking lot has 3 recharging spaces.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank furmanjenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlottehotelGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Charlotte Uptown, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank you so much for spending New Year's Eve with us in Uptown Charlotte. We were so glad to hear that you had a great stay. Please come back next time in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Third Ward
Courtyard Charlotte City Center
Second Ward
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Uptown
First Ward
Holiday Inn Charlotte - Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Third Ward
Charlotte Marriott City Center
Second Ward
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Charlotte Uptown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Charlotte Uptown

Property: Residence Inn Charlotte Uptown
Address: 404 S Mint St, Charlotte, NC 28202-1510
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Third Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#10 Green Hotel in Charlotte
#23 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#40 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Charlotte Uptown 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Photo of a standard Studio room. All rooms have fully furnished kitchens, couches, reclining chairs, work desks and more. Renovated in 2008 and 2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Residence Inn Charlotte Uptown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Charlotte Uptown Hotel Charlotte
Charlotte Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing