We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Charlotte Ballantyne
Ranked #60 of 180 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Ive stayed here twice both with my family and enjoyed each time. My boys love the indoor pool and the mini golf area. They also love the fact that there are cookies or fruit at the front desk. The staff are always helpful with directions. Each morning the breakfast was amazing. Plenty of food which we brought back to our room to eat. It's definitely a top hotel of mine to visit.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sassyfiedtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicoleC1000, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Charlotte Ballantyne, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Sassyfieldstraveler,

Thank you for posting such a positive review. Since your last visit we have updated our outdoor living area to include a fire pit with seating area and granite cornhole boards. I truly think you will love these new features!

We are happy that you had such a great experience when you were here last and hope you can visit us again soon.

Warmest Regards,

Nicole Clyburn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 258 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

Pros: Clean, up to date, several benefits
Cons: Internet can be slow
Internet: Free
Breakfast: Free
Parking: Free

I recently stayed at this hotel when I relocated to Charlotte. We picked this hotel because of the great reviews and the proximity to food options as well as my new work. It definitely does live up to its reviews. This hotel is great espeically if you are visiting Charlotte on the weekend as the rates are sometimes half of the weekday rates (it is pretty much empty on the weekend as many of the guests during the week are in the area for business).

Let's start out with the room. We stayed in a 1 bedroom, which came with 2 TVs (along with the standard kitchenette w/ granite countertops, utensils, almost full size fridge, cook top, microwave, and dishwasher). The room is very clean and also up to date. As the hotel states in the room, if you're there for 7 days, they do a full service every week and (almost) daily light service (which included making the beds, replacing the towels, and running the dishwasher). We had a king size bed which was very comfortable. Everything else in the room was what you expect.

There is an indoor pool, hot tub, and fitness room in the hotel. The fitness room has limited free weights, a universal machine, 2 treadmills, 2 bikes, and 1 eliptical. The machines were pretty high quality, and 3 had tvs on them while working out. There is also a big courtyard with a fountain which would be great when it is warm out (apparently it had a fire pit and definitely had chairs and tables as well as the game of cornhole).

Breakfast was pretty standard. There were several bread options, fruit (seemed to always be something like pineapple), yogurt, apples, a rotation between scrambled eggs and premade omelets, a rotation between sausage, bacon, and canadian bacon, and on the weekdays a waffle machine. On weekends, they had tots and french toast sticks instead of the waffles.

Now for some of the benefits:
1. On Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday they have food in the dining area. The food rotated between (it was one per night): pizza (which was actually very good even though I've heard the pizza in the area is not so good), wings, hummus w/ pita, potato bar, pulled pork sandwiches, and greek salad. They would also have free wine, beer and soda.
2. You can go to the lobby and get cookies every night (cookies are at the "happy hour" Tues, Wed and Thurs). They have oatmeal raisin and chocolate chip.
3. You can do laundry for free in the laundry room
4. There were hershey's kisses at the front desk all of the time

Overall, I would recommend this hotel if you are in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicoleC1000, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Charlotte Ballantyne, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear Sean F,

Thank you for your comprehensive review. We really appreciate you taking the time to review our property. Our goal is to always provide the ultimate in service and accommodations and it sounds like we succeeded. I will be sharing your wonderful comments with my team and hope you get to stay with us again in the future.

Thank you for choosing the Staybridge Suites Charlotte Ballantyne.

Best Regards,

Nicole Clyburn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Before I get started with this review, I politely request that you close this window and make a reservation at the Staybridge Suites hotel in Ballantyne. This will save you the time it takes to read any more of this review, and will also allow you to more quickly experience what many satisfied patrons already have--well-rounded excellence.

The venue is conveniently located in southern Charlotte. It is far enough from the hustle and bustle of large city life, while still being nestled within a charming and convenient business subdivision.

Everything about this establishment makes you want to return; from the wine and cheese weekday nights to the friendly staff, you'll love whatever time you spend here.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanPauEli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicoleC1000, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Charlotte Ballantyne, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear DanPauEli,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a fantastic review. I was delighted to hear your experience was such a positive one. We strive so hard to provide our guests with a high level of comfort and service and I was so happy you recognized our hard work.

Thank you for choosing the Staybridge Suites Charlotte Ballantyne and we hope you can stay with us again soon.

Best Regards,
Nicole Clyburn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We have had good luck at Staybridge Wilmington, so when we saw there was a Staybridge Ballantyne near Charlotte, we wanted to stay there for our vacation. However, when looking online it looked like the type of room we wanted was already sold out. So, we reserved a suite at the Fairfield Inn in Matthews instead. To our disappointment, when we arrived at Fairfield the staff informed us they didn't have the room we reserved because they had overbooked. Frantic, and with kids in the backseat who had been looking forward to swimming - we called Staybridge Ballantyne. Gwen answered, listened to our needs, and found a solution that would work for us. Actually, finding solutions to meet needs was a running theme with the staff. One morning at breakfast the hot chocolate packets ran out, and Mike came to the rescue with chocolate syrup. Our kids were overjoyed. The entire place was immaculate - a few cabinet doors showed a little wear, but everything was CLEAN. One of our kids is highly allergic to dust and this can cause his asthma to flare up. So I travel with cleaning supplies and usually have to pre-clean a room prior to us staying in it... but didn't have to here. The pool and hot tub area are much nicer than the pictures show - and the temperature of the pool was perfect (no shivering kids!). The beds were comfortable, too. We enjoyed the popcorn in the lobby in the afternoon and in the early evening they had cookies. Our only regret was that three nights seemed to pass in an instant. THANK YOU to the entire staff for helping our family to have a wonderful trip to Charlotte. We hope to come back and stay with you again.

Room Tip: Talk to Gwen!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicoleC1000, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Charlotte Ballantyne, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear CS,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review about our property. We are all hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering top service and it sounds like you certainly received it here, especially by Gwen. I am happy to share all your wonderful comments with the entire staff and we truly hope to see you again should you travel to our area.

Thank you for choosing the Staybridge Suites Charlotte Ballantyne.

Best Regards,

Nicole Clyburn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

I stayed for one night, in the motel. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, especially the front desk. The room was large, very clean and the stay was very comfortable. I also enjoyed the afternoon get-together with complimentary wine and snacks. As I had to leave very early in the morning, for a flight, they prepared a "doggy bag" for me - it was a treat. This is how a hotel should be. Well done.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moolieisenbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicoleC1000, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Charlotte Ballantyne, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Dear Moolieisenbach,

I was so pleased when I read your review, it makes me so happy that you had such a wonderful experience at our property.

I hope you have a the opportunity to stay with us again in the future. Thank you for choosing the Staybridge Suites Charlotte Ballantyne.

Happy Holidays,

Nicole Clyburn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Nice location walking distance to many restaurants and bars. Convenient off of the highway. Close enough to Charlotte to visit but not in the city. Friendly staff. We stayed Sat-Tues and could not move from a double to a king due to occupancy - this place sells out fast and often so reserve your room (type) early. Be preared to dop a couple of bucks as Ballantyne is an expensive part of Charlotte.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmarcone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicoleC1000, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Charlotte Ballantyne, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear Tmarcone,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I'm very glad you enjoyed all your accommodations and hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again.

Thank you for choosing the Staybridge Suites Charlotte Ballantyne.

Happy Holidays,

Nicole Clyburn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I stayed here with my wife and 4 kids going to/fro Florida. It was very close to the highway and easy to find. Many dinner options near the property. The property was very clean and our room was spotless. Sleep quality was very good. This property was a very typical Staybridge IHG property with the same quality breakfast in the morning. The coffee was not very good but wasn't the worst. They have cookies in the loby in the evening that are awesome!!!
The staff was very friendly and knew how to treat a platinum IHG member. They had a nice check in goodie bag. Room was the standard 2-bedroom suite that I always get when staying at Staybridge. Overall a good property and we would stay again while traveling in the Charlotte area.
This is a pet friendly property, so if you want to avoid 'Fido' request an upper level room.

Room Tip: Be an IHG member and build up your points.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kentgrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicoleC1000, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Charlotte Ballantyne, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear Kentgrad,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to hear your experience was a good one and we hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Thank you for choosing the Staybridge Suites Charlotte Ballantyne.

Best Regards,
Nicole Clyburn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne
#43 of 180 in Charlotte
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Ballantyne, Charlotte
#8 of 180 in Charlotte
824 reviews
Barclay Downs
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - SouthPark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Charlotte Ballantyne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Charlotte Ballantyne

Address: 15735 Brixham Hill Ave, Charlotte, NC 28277-4646
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#41 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#50 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range: £90 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites Charlotte Ballantyne 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get Comfortable at the award winning Staybridge Suites Hotel Charlotte Ballantyne (Ballantine). The Staybridge Suites Hotel Charlotte Ballantyne (Ballantine) is located in the heart of the Ballantyne Corporate Park & South Charlotte Real Estate Districts, adjacent to the Ballantyne Golf Resort & within walking distance to major corporations like SPX, ESPN, Scottish Re, Bank of America, Lending Tree & AXA/Equitable Life. Our location offers easy access to Ballantyne Village (shopping), Downtown Charlotte, I-485, I-85, I-77 Lowe s Motor Speedway (NASCAR) and the Charlotte Douglas International Airport (CLT).The Staybridge Suites Hotel Charlotte Ballantyne offers apartment-like suites with all of the conveniences of home to suit your extended stay or short term hotel needs.Our smoke free, pet friendly hotel (fee) offers studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom/two-bathroom apartment-like suites featuring fully-equipped kitchens, spacious living and work areas, TV with in-room entertainment, free wired and wireless Internet access, two phone lines with a direct dial phone number and personalized voicemail. Other features include 24 hour business center with free Internet access, a library, free laundry facilities, fitness center, indoor pool w/whirlpool, courtyard w/grills, fire pit, free deluxe breakfast bar and evening Social reception (Tuesday-Weds-Thursday). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Staybridge Suites Charlotte Ballantyne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Charlotte Hotel Charlotte
Charlotte Staybridge Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing