We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great overnighter!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of SpringHill Suites Charlotte University Research Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Charlotte University Research Park
Ranked #60 of 176 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Prince Georges County, MD
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great overnighter!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

stayed here overnight while traveling from Atlanta to Maryland. Easy access of I-85. Easy check in (after midnight). Room was clean and standard for Springhill suites property. Did not stay for breakfast, but the lobby was full with guests waiting for it. Overall it was well worth my Marriots points I was able to use for a nights stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Panthermomatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie T, Manager at SpringHill Suites Charlotte University Research Park, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay. We hope you to see you again on your next visit to Charlotte.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    73
    43
    10
    6
See reviews for
87
30
16
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Powder Springs, Georgia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

We were not impressed with this property at all. As soon as we entered the room, we knew immediately that this property was not a good fit for us. We departed this location and checked into the Springhill Suites Ballantyne location. The Ballantyne location was definitely worth the extra money. This property just did not feel right for our family. The rooms were small. The beds appeared to be two twin sized beds. The beds did not look like the beds advertised online. The wallpaper in the bathroom was not installed very well. It appeared as though the hotel property was upgraded but attention to details were disregarded.

Room Tip: Ballantyne location is a better location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ftwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley C, Property Coordinator at SpringHill Suites Charlotte University Research Park, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
ftwriter,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent reservation at our hotel. I am disappointed that our property did not meet your needs but I am excited to hear that you chose another Marriott property. Thank you for your loyalty!

If you would like to further discuss your experience, please do not hesitate to contact me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Point, North Carolina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

First time staying at a Springhill Suites and we were very impressed. Very clean, modern, and had the nicest staff. We did not get to use the facilities but did take a look and very equally impressed by the cleanliness and overall appearance. The breakfast was good, but it was packed and therefore the crowd pretty much cleaned them out. However, it worked for us just fine. The location was superb! Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jatlowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie T, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Charlotte University Research Park, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Thank you for the great feedback. We are so happy hear that our staff provided you with a great stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinsville, VA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

We were in Charlotte for my niece's graduation at UNC at Charlotte and for Mother's Day. The hotel was close to the university, restaurants, and shopping. Easy access to I-85 to get to other areas of Charlotte, as well. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful with directions. Hotel was very clean and the suites are a good size. They offer a complimentary breakfast which was very good, with a good selection. We would definitely stay there again and the price was reasonable!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie T, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Charlotte University Research Park, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Thank you for your nice feedback. We are so glad to hear that our staff and property provided you with a great stay. We look forward to having your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darfur, Sudan via Charlotte, NC, USA
Level Contributor
164 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the Springhill Suites. The whole hotel has been redone since my last visit last year, and the result is to make a basic functional hotel look quite minimalist and upscale. Great colors and use of space.
It was clean, the rooms were spacious and airy. The aircon was quiet and the overall facilities were very good. Lots of parking, small store; no room service, but convenience - walkable - to Midtown Sundries (or some other such restaurant.
There's only one washer and dryer, but no one ver seems to use them, so they're available. And functional. And they'll give you quarters at the desk.
The gym is small, but also very functional with a pool view.
The pool tends to get crowded with children (to remind you that this is indeed a family facility).
The location is wonderful, convenient to downtown Charlotte, the airport and Concord (where I spend a lot of time).
The staff is very helpful and everything was very, very pleasant.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Try the upper floors on the highway side. There are trees blocking the highway and the noise is min...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amnesty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie T, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Charlotte University Research Park, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are so happy hear that our property met your needs and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Charlotte!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

This is a typical SpringHIll, modern, clean, and functional. There is plenty of space, adequate lighting, and a great location. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the room was very clean.

The beds are adequate but not awesome--average for hotels of this caliber. Thoughtfully designed--I recommend a higher floor so that noise from the hotel swimming pool area doesn't echo into your room, I know we could hear it in the lobby, so I assume that 2nd floor rooms in the center of the hotel could be quite noisy.

Overall, I'd recommend this hotel for business travel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nashx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley C, Property Coordinator at SpringHill Suites Charlotte University Research Park, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you for thinking of the SpringHill Suites for your travel needs. We appreciate you for sharing your experience and hope that we can host you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
159 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stayed here two nights. The attractive lobby is newly renovated . All staff members are friendly and helpful. Breakfast is great with a wide selection of foods. Nice indoor pool and small exercise room. There's a patio where you can sit outside. Our room had a sofa , desk, frig, nice bed area and good sized bathroom. Very clean! There's a Macaroni Grill that you can walk to.
Very reasonable price for a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skatinggrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley C, Property Coordinator at SpringHill Suites Charlotte University Research Park, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
We appreciate you choosing SpringHill Suites- University Research Park for your visit to Charlotte! We are excited that you enjoyed your visit and commented on our refreshing renovation. The outdoor seating is a wonderful, quiet place to relax and unwind. Please let us know if we can assist in any future visits to Charlotte.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Mineral Springs
Home2 Suites by Hilton Charlotte University Research Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mineral Springs
Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte University Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Charlotte University Research Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Charlotte University Research Park

Property: SpringHill Suites Charlotte University Research Park
Address: 8700 Research Drive, Charlotte, NC 28262
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#50 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Charlotte University Research Park 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SpringHill Suites Charlotte University Research Park has been updated with a fresh and relaxing design to give travelers the flexibility to work efficiently and rewind comfortably. Enjoy our suites in Charlotte, NC that are substantially larger than a traditional hotel guest room. This Charlotte area hotel offers new hot and healthy breakfast options, complimentary high-speed internet access and a quaint updated meeting room with a 37 " flat screen TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your SpringHill Suites Charlotte University Research Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Charlotte University Research Park Hotel Charlotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing