We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh Ingredients, Delicious Food, Challenging Timing for Food Arrival”
Review of Vapiano Charlotte

Vapiano Charlotte
Ranked #140 of 2,390 Restaurants in Charlotte
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Neighbourhood: Third Ward
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fresh Ingredients, Delicious Food, Challenging Timing for Food Arrival”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This was my families 4th trip to Vapiano (my first review). The food is great...extremely fresh ingredients, great taste, good portion size and a reasonable price. Only one things that makes it a little challenge...timing of food arrival. Since it is an upscale cafeteria style you order different categories of food (ie. Pizza, Salad, Pasta) from separate stations. The food types take different times to cook but that is not a big issue. The main cause of the problem is if one station has a longer line than another. Here is how it worked yesterday...I ordered 3 pasta dishes then went over to the pizza/panini station. I had to wait several minutes for the 2 groups in line to order then it was my turn. A few minutes after that the pasta was done so 3 out of 4 people started eating. Several minutes latter my panini was done so I started on my meal. It is a little frustrating to not eat as a family when you are out as a family.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ctraveler04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    98
    25
    20
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas City, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unique”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

This place is so unique and so delicious. Great food. Try it.
We had a delicious pizza. I had potato soup. My daughter had tomato soup. My husband had pasta in a delicious sauce. The pizza was simple but very tasty. The atmosphere was so different but fantastic.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandra E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goose Creek, South Carolina, United States
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Pasta”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We ate there before a Bobcats game. Never being there before and the self-service option, we were pleasantly suprised. After living in Italy for 3 years, this was the best Carbonara I have had since I left and the bread was just like the bread bought from the street vendors in Naples. My son had a pizza and said it was wonderful. Great atmosphere, great staff and great food. The price for a family of 4 of was reasonable for great food. Can't wait for them to open one near us.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheri E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best pizza ever - even better than Italy”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We were in Charlotte because of a flight cancelation. Imagine our delight to find such a great restaurant that soothed more than our hunger. If you are a cleanliness 'expert', you'll love being able to see preparation at every stage. We had salad and two very different pizzas. It's a few days later and I'm really longing for just another slice, please. The salad was as it should be.

We came back the same day for a drink, and it took all of our willpower not to order more food, but we had enjoyed so much that it would have been ridiculous. People watching there is great.

I will say that I should have asked the price of the alcohol I chose. It was high enough that I would have chosen something else. That's on me, though.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank havingmorefun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
632 reviews
348 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“Made to order Italian in a trendy environment”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Excellent! Beautiful atmosphere with warm colors, open spaces and greenery - modern flare. Seating is varied with 4 top tables, casual groupings, high top and bar top seating options to suit all group types. Chef stations allow you to choose made to order entrees prepared in front of you with traditional and novel ingredients. Pricing is a little on the higher side for lunch, but you will be very full Soups $4, Appetizers $7, Entrees (pastas, salads with meat, pizza, paninis) $10-12. You charge your orders at each station as you order, eat and then settle up on your card as you leave. The Tuscan noodle soup was hearty and loaded with chicken. The spinach ravioli outstanding and filling. They will combine/customize sauces upon request. I would suggest fountain rather than bottled drinks as the bottled sodas are the smaller type. The service was very good - friendly and helpful. Suitable for work, fun and celebrations. This is definitely a place I will return to when in Charlotte!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TampaTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vapiano Charlotte also viewed

 

Been to Vapiano Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing