We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty Nice Place”
Review of Bull & Barrister - CLOSED

Bull & Barrister
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, American
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pretty Nice Place”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Great band playing on Friday 11/1/2013. There was a $10 cover charge to get in.
Food is pretty good but choices are limited.
Bar staff and waitress did a good job despite the crowd. We did not wait long to order all night.

There is one thing I should mention:
The floor is pretty slippery - so ladies with heels watch out.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SoRoyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    3
    3
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food, service”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Good menu, burgers, sandwiches, beer selection. Modeled loosely after a British pub. Convenient off I-485, Brookshire Freeway (Hwy 16). Mod ate prices.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank EdithK597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Holly, North Carolina
Level Contributor
619 reviews
352 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Not a Bad Sports Bar!”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

The name would be great for an Irish Pub. This is a sports bar and a pretty typical one at that. It has a nice open feel to it and plenty of sports on TV's throughout. Pretty good beer selection and the food I have had is not bad. The burgers are not bad. Other than the name, there is nothing really out of the ordinary here. It is not bad but the overall feel does not live up to the great name.
Not a bad place for a meal and a beer, but nothing too distinctive. Our service has been fine for the most part.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Piseu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great black& blue sandwich!!!”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Best loaded potato around! Very attentive service! Manager came over to see that we enjoyed our meal- definitely coming back!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Smaroulis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What happened?”
Reviewed 10 June 2013 via mobile

Me and my wife just visited this bull and barrister. First off, we loved the ambiance of this establishment. Very warm and inviting. But... The rest needs severe work. The food was mediocre and the service was horrible!! It took me 30 minutes to receive a beverage when there were only 6 tables in the restaurant. Then we ordered salads and our meal. The salads came out 10 minutes after the meal came out. The servers weren't very hospitable either. The bartender was the only person that seemed to have a clue. We won't be visiting this location again. There wasn't anything special enough to make me revisit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank with_my_love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bull & Barrister also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing