We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charlotte University Place
Ranked #76 of 180 Hotels in Charlotte
Reviewed 12 February 2014

My stay was very nice. The front desk was friendly and helpful. My room was comfortable and clean. I did have some issues keeping the room temperature comfortable, but that is a common problem in mid level hotels. It was too hot... I could not figure out how to make it cooler without freezing. Bed was not bad, not great, but really not bad. Pillows could use lots of help. Breakfast was good, lots of options.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank njkrisko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (439)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

362 - 368 of 440 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2014

Definitely not an original Country Inn and Suites. Overpriced. Kept shoes on in the room due to the poor carpet condition. Lighting not well placed. Beds seemed clean which is always helpful in a situation like this... Staff not knowledgable about rewards system, so we missed out on using our points with the company. Breakfast was offered and decent.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NurseMama25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

fair rooms...not as good as usual, overpriced....breakfast ok, room temp hard to adjust. bedspreads dirty and room very tired, all seems a bit seedy. reception was fine but my reservation did not go through

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbkenMississauga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This Country Inn & Suites was ok but I have stayed at better properties. Considering it is the University area I would expect to see more upgrades especially considering the price. I had a discounted rate but I do not believe this property is worth $90 nightly. I often stay at different Country Inn & Suites properties and I would definitely say the breakfast offered and the lack of upgrades made the property very standard. Country Inn & Suites typically offers hot breakfast (eggs, bacon, french toast, etc.) an attendant is on duty and it gives the home like feel the company strives to achieve. However this property offered individually wrapped sandwiches and other breakfast items that had to be heated in the microwave. I gave the property an average rating because it was clean, had standard room features, the front desk clerk was friendly and professional, and I felt safe. It you are seeking other amenities at a reasonable price look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cnp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Way overpriced, 1970's vintage blurry TV, ripped and worn furniture, time-delay on the lavatory cove light that didn't stay on more than about a minute, noisy fan in the bathroom that you couldn't turn off without also turning on the light. On the plus side it was clean, bed fairly comfortable, and the mini-fridge worked; check-in agent was very friendly and hospitable. Evening van driver was great as well, offering to make extra "service" trips for no charge except tip (which wasn't even hinted for). However, the morning van driver was rude, playing racist rap "music" all the way to the airport. Wonder if he'll ever figure out why the night driver gets tons more tips than he does.

Room Tip: Way overpriced, 1970's vintage blurry TV, ripped and worn furniture, time-delay on the lavatory...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Icarus2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

Me & a friend stayed here on Aug. 21st. Our check in was quick and easy. The pool was clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The only thing that wasnt clean was our room. Im not sure what exactly happened and if the hotel had previously tried to get it to come up, but there was a stain on the carpet.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chelsea684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Stayed here while moving our kids into UNCC for one night. Good solid room very close to campus and with the AAA rate we were out the door for $87. Would stay again. They have free breakfast, but we opted to go out.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LORI H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
12.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Charlotte Executive Park
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn University Place
Sleep Inn University Place
#79 of 180 in Charlotte
227 reviews
1.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charlotte University Research Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Charlotte Northlake
5.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charlotte/Northlake
1.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites - Charlotte University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charlotte University Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charlotte University Place

Address: 131 McCullough Dr, Charlotte, NC 28262-3306
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 180 Hotels in Charlotte
Price Range: £61 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charlotte University Place 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charlotte University Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites University Place
Country Inn & Suites University Place Hotel Charlotte
Country Inn Charlotte
Country Inn University Place
Charlotte Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing