We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected from this chain”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charlotte University Place
Ranked #86 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Not what I expected from this chain”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This is clearly a Country Inn converted from a very different hotel. My bedroom had an enormous jacuzzi in the corner of the bedroom! Carpets in all areas are pretty dingy. This is a very basic hotel with a hodgepodge of furniture that look like it was bought at bankruptcy auctions. It was clean enough if you ignore the carpets. Very poor quality flat screen TV, picture sort of soft-focus/blurry. I ended up here because there was a death in the family and I needed to travel unexpectedly. It was about ten miles from the I77, but I couldn't find anything else at the last minute. At $109 for a King room, it was very expensive for what was provided.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vlbvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawnetta W, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charlotte University Place, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services. We hope you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    94
    65
    47
    45
See reviews for
157
65
19
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Very pleasant stay this is my second time there and I will definitely be back again next year. Even though it's race weekend and busy breakfast accommodations are kept up very pleased with my stay
Thank you


  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Kimberly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawnetta W, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charlotte University Place, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Hello Kimberly,
Thank you so much for taking the time out to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again next year.

Thanks,
Shawnetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, Rhode Island
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Had to stay here because our flight was late and missed our connection. The airline put us up at this "hotel". The room smelled, the bathtub had black stains, there was a red stain on the carpet and the door was cracked as if someone had tried to break in.... My thoughts all night were "I hope I do not die here".

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Care at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charlotte University Place, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Lynne P,

Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room. We will discuss the conditions of your room with hotel management to ensure all guest rooms are up to Country Inn and Suites standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hohenwald, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We try to stay at Country Inns & Suites when we travel for business. We have appreciated their normally excellent value - nice clean rooms, quality hot breakfast, and cookies at the front desk at night. This facility is not up to their normally high standards.
Hot breakfast was minimal to qualify for hot, and apple juice was watered down - even after I brought it to their intention. Would not stay their again. There is a Comfort Suites close by that we will try the next time we're in the area. Front desk personnel not especially available or helpful. Never saw any cookies.
JM

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrayMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryinngm, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charlotte University Place, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
We are sorry to hear of your unsatisfactory experience during your stay. It is unfortunate when situations like this arise. We take every action to make sure that all guests are affected as little as possible. We hope you will consider us again when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Life can get very hectic, so we decided to take a break from it all and found this hotel which offers a King Suite with a Jacuzzi. The room was very nice, it was very clean and the staff was friendly. The Jacuzzi was a great feature, the water temp is up to you, there were three power levels to the jets and it was very relaxing!

The breakfast was pretty good, hot and cold choices, along with danishes, muffins, fruit etc. The grounds are well kept and the hotel is in a quiet area even though it's on a main thourghfair.

The only issue we had was the bed a little to firm for us to get comfortable, but, that just our preference. All in all it was a great stay and we will consider staying here again in the future.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bones1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Recently stayed in this place as I was traveling for work and needed a place to stay for about 6 months. They were such unfriendly people. I am disabled and manager stated that he would have a first floor for me when I arrived and I was put on the third floor. Every time I would ask for towels they would give me 2 and tell me to come to the front desk to get them myself. My key did not work and I called down and they told me to come down and get another one if I wanted in my room. They billed my card twice on the same day for 2 weeks and said oh well we forgot to bill you 3 weeks ago, so we just went ahead and took 2 payments. They refused to give me a print out of my charges. Then they told me I had to leave because I was using a debit card and not a credit card and my credit was longer good there. They refused to clean my room also when I would ask. We had a fire alarm go off in middle of night with smoke pouring out of first floor and I was speaking to another guest who also said they were double billed as well. Very horrible place to stay. Be very cautious of giving your credit information. Also, I left and paid for the one extra night I stayed and just found out they billed me twice and said they refuse to return my money. I will be making complaint with BBB on this place. Good Luck if you wish to stay here and I hope you do not lose your money and have a much better experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Care at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charlotte University Place, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Pam F,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services. We do apologize for the billing concerns you had during your stay, that the key card did not work, the location of your room, and for the towels you had to ask for. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Sleep Inn University Place
#78 of 178 in Charlotte
222 reviews
Mineral Springs
Home2 Suites by Hilton Charlotte University Research Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mineral Springs
Drury Inn & Suites Charlotte University Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charlotte University Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charlotte University Place

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charlotte University Place
Address: 131 McCullough Dr, Charlotte, NC 28262-3306
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charlotte University Place 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charlotte University Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites University Place
Country Inn & Suites University Place Hotel Charlotte
Country Inn Charlotte
Country Inn University Place
Charlotte Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing