We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring Febreze and a Zagat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Westin Charlotte
Ranked #33 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 December 2012

Just back from a business trip to Charlotte where me and my party stayed at the Westin. The Lobby is grand, large and inviting.

The rooms are a little run down - 90's style. When I entered my room, after a red-eye from LA, there was the distinct smell of the last guest who stayed there - and it was coming from the bathroom if you know what I mean. I called the front desk and they sent Housekeeping. I had a business function so I had to run and let them deal. When I returned, that fake disinfectant smell permeated the room but it was really late and I had to crash. The next day the smell was gone but I realized that there is no way to get fresh air into the rooms- as the windows don't open so the smells of humans waif through the halls.

Just don't try and make reservations with the concierge! I had to arrange a business dinner and after, my clients wanted to go Go Carting at one of the indoor tracks. I called the concierge to find a good restaurant and mentioned a couple of places I've heard of. I also asked if she could check and see if we needed reservations at the Go Cart track. She called back a half an hour later and said that the two restaurants I mentioned could only take our party after 9PM. No worries, were there any other options? She said she didn't check but will shortly. I also asked her about the Go Cart track and she said she had called and that we didn't need reservations-it's a "walk-in" type of place. Being Saturday night I pressed her that she had in fact called and she confirmed. Another half hour, she calls and said the only restaurant she could find in Charlotte that could take a party of 7 was a cafe down the street. I sprung into action since it was already 5PM - called several upscale restaurants and in twenty minutes had reservations. I called the Go Cart track as well to confirm and they told me they were closed for a private function that night - glad I didn't drag my clients out there and look like a fool thanks to the concierge.

The Westin is in a good location in downtown Charlotte and everyone was very nice. We had our conference and all went as planned so if it weren't for the lack of fresh air and concierge service, I would give this hotel a good review. If you stay here I would recommend a can of Febreze and a Zagat guide.

Room Tip: Stay at the end of the hall
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carrmug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinCharlotte, General Manager at The Westin Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Thank you for your review. I apologize your experience with us was less than enjoyable. Our concierge is available 24/7 to help with the types of things you requested, and I am very sorry they were unable to help you with what you needed during your trip. Our windows in our rooms also do not open for guest safety, but we definitely understand the frustration when one wants fresh air. We hope you will stay with us again soon and allow us to show you a true Westin experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,556)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,109 - 1,115 of 1,556 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2012

My husband and I recently stayed here on our way to Virginia for a family event. We got in late and had to be up early. We had our dog with us and did a quick search for pet friendly hotels and found the Westin would welcome our dog and even offer him a heavenly bed. The hotel is beautiful, the service was great and being able to stay with our 4 legged friend was key on this trip. It is a great hotel in a prime location -- walking distance to restaurants, shops and the stadium.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irishupfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinCharlotte, General Manager at The Westin Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2012

Thank you for your magnificent review! I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, and that you found our pet services and amenities convenient. We hope to see you, your husband, and your four legged friend back again soon! Be well and happy holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

Thank you so much for offering such fabulous service at your establishment. Chrystal at the front desk was so professional & accomodating. She was courteous & deserves to be recognized by management.

Sincerely,
Katie Little

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Based on the reviews I saw on this site in October, I was very reluctant to stay here. However, the conference I was attending was held at this hotel. For convenience sake, I figured I could survive 2 nights. I noticed that the reviews started to improve in November and December and I can add to the positive. I found the staff to be friendly, the food in the restaurant and the reception and conference meals good and the room comfortable.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
Thank robelle27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinCharlotte, General Manager at The Westin Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2012

Thank you for your wonderful review! I am glad you enjoyed your stay at the Westin Charlotte, and that we improved upon previous reviews you have read. We hope to see you back again soon to have another wonderful Westin experience. Be well and happy holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Attended a conference at the Westin this past week. I enjoyed the attentive staff and a room very well suited to on office away from home. A comfortable desk and chair, well lighted (not true in too many hotels), plenty of outlets for a the technology one carries these days. The room was comfortable in a personal level too. Great bed, nice shower. Clean and tidy. The conference facilities were comfortable. The hotel is also at a great location, access to downtown and the many things to see and do in Charlotte. The only complaint was the wi-fi cut out a few times during the week, and I would have to re log in. It was never when I w using it , but when it went in active so not a big deal. Over all a pleasant stay.

Stayed: December 2012
Thank jelmwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinCharlotte, General Manager at The Westin Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2012

Thank you for your wonderful review! I am delighted to hear you had such a fantastic stay, and enjoyed your room and the staff. We are thrilled that you were comfortable, and that you enjoyed our desk, chair, lighting and outlets. We hope you will stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Nice hotel. Comfortable room (can't beat a Westin bed :-) Good food. Was there for a conference so lots of times in meeting rooms (kept a bit chilly). Room was good deal for the price.. avoid rooms on the other side of the elevator shaft though... bit noisy all night from that. Overall a good experience. 5-10 minute walk to tons of places to eat.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near ice room or elevator shaft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank umyaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinCharlotte, General Manager at The Westin Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2012

Thank you for your fantastic review! I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your room and Heavenly Bed. I am sorry your stay was hindered from the elevator noise, but we will take that issue up with engineering to see if something can be done for future visits. We hope you will be back again soon, so we can exceed your expectations! Be well and happy holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

sheena made my stay at the Westin great. She was was every helpful and informative. Thanks for all the help sheena. I will definitely stay here more often. She helped us find restaurants around the area. She helped was great. My stay at the hotel was great the servers at the restaurant at the hotel where every friendly and the desert was amazing.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
Thank Cassie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinCharlotte, General Manager at The Westin Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2012

Thank you for your fantastic review! I am thrilled to hear you had an enjoyable experience at the Westin Charlotte. I will be sure to personally thank Sheena for providing you with such excellent service. We hope you will be back to visit again soon! Be well and happy holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Second Ward
Omni Charlotte Hotel
Omni Charlotte Hotel
#55 of 178 in Charlotte
2,109 reviews
Third Ward
Charlotte Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Hyatt Place Charlotte Downtown
First Ward
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
#11 of 178 in Charlotte
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Charlotte

Address: 601 S College St, Charlotte, NC 28202-1829
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Second Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Charlotte
#31 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#39 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#50 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range: £118 - £356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Charlotte 4*
Number of rooms: 700
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the uptown financial district of North Carolina's most exciting city, The Westin Charlotte is just a short trolley-ride away from popular dining and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Charlotte Hotel Charlotte
Charlotte Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing