We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better Options in CLT”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Westin Charlotte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westin Charlotte
Ranked #31 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Better Options in CLT”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Stayed one night as part of a NYE concert package. After reading reviews I kept my expectations low. Hotel staff was pleasant and helpful - we were able to check in early. No problems with hot water or water pressure. However, our fifth floor room had a view of the parking deck roof and smelled of grease. Room was dated and worn - ripped wallpaper and stained carpet. Beds were okay but hardly "heavenly". It served it's purpose for a one night stay, but for the price you can do better (and cheaper) in uptown CLT. I recently stayed at the brand new Hyatt Place Uptown and it is top notch!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 41_fan08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinCharlotte, General Manager at Westin Charlotte, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I apologize we were unable to exceed your expectations during your stay with us. We do hope you will visit us again in the future and allow us to show you a true Westin experience. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    597
    466
    237
    112
    70
See reviews for
183
269
69
732
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morrow, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

We just returned from Charlotte, North Carolina where we stayed at The Weston. We were very disappointed in the quality of the hotel, the service, and the lack of southern hospitality! The room was clean, but there was absolutely nothing special about it for what we paid ( about $200 per night). They said that they have heavenly beds - there was NOTHING heavenly about it. The hotel is bit run-down and dated.

We asked for maps of the city and they provided a map they had created versus a professionally done one - it wasn't helpful at all. We belong to a rewards program that includes this hotel and they still charged $13 per day for internet access in our room. We had to go to the lobby for internet access.

They literally acted like we were bothering them when we asked any questions. This was hardly the southern hospitality that we've experienced in NC in the past! Would I ever stay at this hotel again?? NEVER! There are many other nice hotels close by that were more reasonable and nice - we visited friends at their hotel and couldn't have been welcomed more warmly from the moment we entered the lobby! Find somewhere else to stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clbrefol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinCharlotte, General Manager at Westin Charlotte, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I apologize we were unable to exceed your expectations during your stay with us. We hope you will visit us again and allow us to show you a true Westin experience. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

I have used trip advisor for many years, but until now, have not taken the time to write a review. This stay warrants it.

My family - with three small kids - rolled into town around midnight last night with reservations at another large hotel chain. Unfortunately, the other hotel could not accommodate our SUV with car top carrier. They did what they could to address by booking another out of town hotel, but fortunately, my wife called the Westin right around the corner - not only could we valet our truck out front in a secure spot, but they also had an indoor pool - which was a must for the kids this AM.

When I arrived, Kelvin greeted us and in my mind, went above and beyond in service. Given my SPG status, he took care of parking and honored a preferred rate for a family breakfast. We are back on the road now and my kids are happy having had a great swim in the warm pool, wife pleased with the terrific breakfast (she had the oatmeal) and I am smiling for the outstanding service. Thank you Kelvin and team. You have my attention and I will come back to Westin and Starwood. As a heavy business traveler who has a choice in hotels, I will ensure you get my business.

Tip- stay on a high floor. Kids loved the views. We slept with the curtains open so they had the city as a night light and sunrise as the alarm clock!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BP60606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinCharlotte, General Manager at Westin Charlotte, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you for your review! We are glad that your whole family was able to enjoy the amenities that the Westin has to offer. Thank you for your stay, we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redwood City, California, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

As a loyal SPG member it was the Westin or the aLoft for me. Overall it's just your average Westin. Rooms are a bit run down but its standard fare heavenly bed more than makes up for it. It's a few blocks south of the Epicenter so there are some food options available. I did eat in the restaurant one night and the pork belly sliders are a must!

Bottom line:
I've stayed here twice now and will continue to come back because it's the best SPG in town. I stayed at the aLoft and while it was newer, I just don't like the feel as much as the Westin.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinCharlotte, General Manager at Westin Charlotte, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate your repeat stays with us. And we agree, the Pork Belly Sliders are a definite MUST! We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

I contacted the property ahead of time to inquire about various services and the possibility of a suite upgrade since I am a Starwood Preferred Guest Plantinum for Life member. I received good service from the staff in helping me with my inquiries - especially from Front Desk Manager - Kimberly Johnson, who followed up several times regading my requests. I received all of the information I needed in advance of my trip. Even though there were no suites available for the time I was there, Kimberly continued to follow up to keep me apprised of the situation. Upon arrival & check-in, Kimberly made an effort to meet me personally. She explained that she was able to shift some things around and was able to secure the Presidential Suite for my stay. Needless to say, I was surpised and very pleased at the effort that was made. The suite was great - fantastic views of Charlotte, great amenitites and huge! All of the services I used at the property were excellent. I highly recommend this property for the great facilities and services but especially the service.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinCharlotte, General Manager at Westin Charlotte, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for being a Platinum SPG member! We can't wait to have you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

What do I look for from a good hotel really? A good night's sleep.

What did I get at the Westin Hotel in Charlotte? There were people in the halls partying to all hours. The residents of the room next door were evidently insomniacs. And someone brought a small dog that barks incessantly when it's owners are not around.

The hotel and staff were as good and attentive as you would expect, but ultimately I doubt I will ever go back to this hotel again. They failed on the primary mission: to give me a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimWhite1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinCharlotte, General Manager at Westin Charlotte, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I apologize we were unable to exceed your expectations during your stay with us. We hope you will visit again and allow us to show you a true Westin experience. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

Thoroughly recommend having stayed many times on business travel. The property, staff, & service are first class. And the location is in the CBD! Can also recommend for tourist travel, although this place bustles with action.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinCharlotte, General Manager at Westin Charlotte, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoy your frequent stays with us. We love having you as our guest. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Second Ward
Omni Charlotte Hotel
Omni Charlotte Hotel
#37 of 178 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
First Ward
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
#18 of 178 in Charlotte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Third Ward
Charlotte Marriott City Center
Second Ward
Hyatt Place Charlotte Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Charlotte

Property: Westin Charlotte
Address: 601 S College St, Charlotte, NC 28202-1829
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Second Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Charlotte
#31 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#39 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#50 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Charlotte 4*
Number of rooms: 700
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the uptown financial district of North Carolina's most exciting city, The Westin Charlotte is just a short trolley-ride away from popular dining and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westin Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Charlotte Hotel Charlotte
Charlotte Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing