We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When only the best will do”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Duke Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 7 Charlotte B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
104 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“When only the best will do”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

This is truely a gem! The setting is both elegant and intimate. The mansion is secluded in an upcale residential neighborhood and sits amid 4.5 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens. The staff is cordial and attending to the comforts of clients seems effortless. There are 20 rooms available, all large and lovely. Ours included a screened porch overlooking the garden. Despite the age of the mansion (built in 1915), all facilities are modern and polished to perfection. A substantial buffet breakfast is included. The Duke tops my list of B&B's.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaf122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    33
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
18
84
6
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
114 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I had a great one night stay at the Duke Mansion. I wish I could have stayed longer. The room and mansion are beautiful. I thoroughly enjoyed my room, bed and a lovely screened patio with views of the grounds and fountain. I would happily stay again.

Note that during my visit, a large outdoor renovation was going on, so some of the grounds were unavailable to view. This meant that the construction trucks pulled in very early, which were noisy. This occurred prior to 8AM.

Very historical building and relaxing room.

Room Tip: Book a room with a screened patio. With the breeze, it is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BulldogMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roselle, Illinois
Level Contributor
246 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We were so excited to stay at the Duke Mansion as this was our first time in Charlotte! After using many references & talking to people we decided this would be the place to be. Our excitement was peaked when we drove in to the neighborhood - WOW! Driving up to the Duke is IMPRESSIVE to say the least! We were greeted by a waitress that was working a luncheon and immediately felt welcomed! We had reserved a king balcony room which was very large. There was a loud fan that ran the entire time we were there which made it very difficult to sleep. Most of the handles on the shower & sink were frail & in need of repair, the sink in the bathroom would not drain. Breakfast was wonderful with a wide variety of choices & the waitress was attentive & entertaining! Over all we felt happy to have stayed at the Duke, wandering around this gorgeous neighborhood & experience a piece of Charlotte history. BooM!

Room Tip: King bed with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Krups77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Homer, Alaska
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

** As of late January, the back garden was being overhauled so you might see piles of dirt and hear backhoe noise on that side of the property until 5:00pm, as we did. **

This great old house tucked in an elegant enclave is ideal for anyone visiting Carolinas Medical Center, a five- or seven-minute walk away. We had a huge king room with a big balcony porch that was too cold and too noisy to use.

Pros: Style, comfort, plate of afternoon cookies.

Cons: Far from downtown, very high ceilinged rooms hard to heat during cold snap, not a hotel so no bar or restaurant.

If you happen to be two men with a reservation for one bed, you may get the receptionist we had who momentarily looked as though we asked where to rent a pogo stick for our pet mosquito. We'd grown used to that reaction in China and Myanmar but it was funny to find it again in Charlotte. Overall, the staff was very helpful calling taxis for us and giving directions to walk to Harris Teeter.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hapness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
334 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

What a beautiful B&B -- really an upscale inn -- in a lovely part of Charlotte. Will definitely return! Hate to give it too rave a review because there are few rooms and we may not be able to make a reservation when we return. (2015 is the 100th anniversary of the home that Doris Duke's father built so there is a lot of major yard work/bulldozers during the day.) Beautiful grounds -- look forward to being here in the spring.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky F, General Manager at Duke Mansion Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for your kind review! We look forward to having you back with us in the spring.
And yes, we are in the process up updating our 4 ½ acres of gardens so there is currently a lot of activity on the grounds. We decided to tackle tis project in the colder months so we can get the hardscapes and big plantings in before the spring. You will see updates to our Brooks Courtyard and the installation of the McGuire Lawn directly behind The Duke Mansion. We can’t wait to show them off! As mentioned, this is in preparation for our 100th anniversary which takes place in 2015 and it could not be done without the generous donations of our supporters.
See you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC Metro area
Level Contributor
143 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Recently spent 3 nights here in King bed room with porch. The room was very nice, clean and well decorated. Everything here is upper end, no shortcuts taken. Bed was comfortable, pillows were soft, and quality linens. Bathroom was good size with its own heater (needed it as we stayed in Jan during a cold spell). Flat screen tv is off to one side of the bed. The house is beautiful and nicely decorated. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Upon arrival, we notices the bathroom sink was very slow to drain. We mentioned this to the front desk and the manager was at our door within 5 minutes taking care of it. Coffee and ice water available 24 hours in the main hallway, with cookies in the evening. Breakfast was the best. Made to order from the menu, has everything you could want. Also, the breakfast seating area is another part of the house that is very nice, with a fireplace and nice views of the grounds. The house is in easy walking distance to some local restaurants and the neighborhood is beautiful to walk around. Great stay, one of the best inns we've ever been at. Would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mkjbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky F, General Manager at Duke Mansion Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
I’m so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you back soon – perhaps in the warmer months so you can enjoy our newly renovated gardens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brazil
Level Contributor
148 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

This is a jaw droppingly gorgeous property. We spent the night on a long layover before going to New Orleans.
The hotel is a classic Southern Belle. Beuatiful marble floors , chandeliers , fountains and gardens.

We stayed in a King Room with a sun porch. The room was spacious and decorated with lovely antiques. The bed was very comfortable with lots of pillows and linens of a high thread count.

The porch was so charming and I wish we could have stayed longer to enjoy it.

The breakfast , which is included , is incredible. It was served in the solarium and made to order. i selected the cinnamon french toast , served with bacon. The server was very professional and friendly.

The hotel is located in a beautiful residential neighborhood. It is in walking distance of some very nice restaurants.

The only issue we had was with the room temp , which apparently was acting up . They gave us an immediate discount and gave us the orientation to turn off the thermostat and just open the windows , which worked out fine.

A great stay, wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brazilgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky F, General Manager at Duke Mansion Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
The French toast is one of my favorite dishes as well! And who doesn't love bacon? Thank you for feedback on the temperature controls. We are updating our HVAC system in this historic home. We have recently installed new mechanical systems and are in the process of installing new thermostats in each of the guest rooms. We should have all of the rooms completed by February for better control of temperature.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Second Ward
Westin Charlotte
Westin Charlotte
#33 of 178 in Charlotte
1,508 reviews
First Ward
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
#13 of 178 in Charlotte
615 reviews
The Ballantyne, Charlotte
#7 of 178 in Charlotte
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Omni Charlotte Hotel
Omni Charlotte Hotel
#42 of 178 in Charlotte
1,965 reviews
Fourth Ward
The Dunhill Hotel
The Dunhill Hotel
#49 of 178 in Charlotte
416 reviews
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke Mansion Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke Mansion Bed and Breakfast

Property: Duke Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Address: 400 Hermitage Rd, Charlotte, NC 28207-1842 (Formerly White Oaks Conference Center)
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Duke Mansion Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1915, this historic home in Charlotte, North Carolina has 20 unique guest rooms. All have queen or king size beds with private bath. A full cooked to order breakfast is also included. While at The Duke Mansion, stroll our four and a half acres of beautifully maintained grounds or relax on the front porch in a rocking chair. Find yourself in Southern Splendor for a weekend getaway or for business trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Duke Mansion Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Mansion Hotel Charlotte
Duke Mansion b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing