We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“historic, welcoming hotel in Uptown Charlotte”
Review of The Dunhill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Dunhill Hotel
Ranked #48 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“historic, welcoming hotel in Uptown Charlotte”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at the Dunhill. It is amazingly friendly for one thing: almost all the staff were willing to chat about their views on dining, culture, etc. in Charlotte (if you asked them), and they went out of their way to ensure my visit was pleasant.

The hotel is on the main street in Uptown Charlotte, so one has immediate access to its various restaurants, museums, etc. In this respect it can hardly be bettered.

Its restaurant is the Harvest Moon, where we had our breakfasts. I can't really enthuse about it. My crepe with fruit was pretty poor one morning:it had a big block of cream cheese and too little fruit. The eggs, sausage, and home fries were OK, but I've had better.

My room was clean, well furnished, and quiet. The bed was eminently suited to a good night's sleep, which doesn't come easily to me.

I appreciated the courtesy bottle of water and free wi fi very much. Above all, I appreciated the value and friendliness of this wonderfully situated, historic hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Musicalphotoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    111
    41
    14
    13
See reviews for
58
183
23
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aiken, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We only spent one night at this fabulous hotel, but I wished we could stay longer! I cannot say enough about how helpful and friendly the staff was. I have not felt so pampered since going on a cruise a few years ago! The room had everything, including a stocked refrigerator and a Keurig coffee maker. It was very charming and very unlike a normal hotel room, with a gorgeous bathroom. We had 4 windows, including one in the bathroom, again unlike normal rooms.

Their little shuttle dropped us off at the concert, and the hotel called a cab for us when it was over.

Again, this was a wonderful short stay at a fabulous hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Satyed here for one night. It is in a good location, the staff were very helpful and the rooms clean. It's a bit run down and needs brightening up but makes a difference from the large chains. Restaurant quirky. No gym but you get free entry to the YMCA down the street.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We are here, as I write this, for our 25th anniversary. Service is great. Love the room, and shower for 2!. If you're not into historic hotels or properties, don't stay here because it's not huge or modern -- no ice maker on each floor. BUT if you like great people, and a really cool bar where you might meet interesting people, this is the place. Nothing negative to say.

Room Tip: Make sure you get at least the Premium Queen room -- shower big enough for two is awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JWMac64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Quick overnight stay in Charlotte, decided to try something different than our standard Hampton or Hilton. We were so happy that we did. The charm of this hotel is wonderful, and the staff couldn't have been nicer. Yes, it's old, but that's to be expected when you stay in an historic hotel. The bathroom was updated and spacious, the bed was very comfortable (soft, though, so if you prefer a hard mattress you're out of luck here) with lovely, soft sheets on it and tons of pillows, plus more in the closet. Everything was spotless, so even though it's old it still feels very clean. My only complaint was that the towels were quite scratchy.

We were very close to lots of restaurants and the performing arts center and children's science museum, all within easy walking distance. No shopping around here that we found. We read other reviews about staying on lower floors and dealing with street noise. We asked for (and got) a higher floor room; but the street noise was still very loud. If you like a quiet room for sleeping, you will not be happy here. The hotel staff recommended the Capital Grill for our dinner, and they made the reservation for us and even gave us a card for a free appetizer. It was a phenomenal meal...no cheap date, it was $100 per person including the tip ($42 was a bottle of wine).

Room Tip: We requested a high floor and a corner room...I think that gave us a little bit more space because s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nealfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

On the spur of the moment my wife and I decided to spend a night in downtown Charlotte. The whether was bad but we had a good time. This hotel is older and historic and has been redone. We had a room, which was smallish with a queen bed but with an updated bathroom. All of the normal amenities of a fine hotel were in the room. The only issue was that there was no comfortable chair to sit in and read of watch TV. There was a chair at the desk and another by a small table but neither could comfortably be used to read the paper or do anything else. The location was great as there are several good restaurants and bars nearby within walking distance. I would stay again.

Room Tip: Next time we will get a room with a small seating area and without the updated bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Comfortable beds. Wonderful attentiveness from the staff! Delicious food in restaurant. Easy walking distance to anything downtown. Would definitely stay here again. Even provide umbrella's to use during your stay. Extra touches that make your stay more pleasant.

Room Tip: Recommend Couple's trip. The rollaway bed is comfortable. However, the room is not quite large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Fourth Ward
The Ivey's Hotel
The Ivey's Hotel
#1 of 178 in Charlotte
108 reviews
Second Ward
Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Hyatt Place Charlotte Downtown
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Second Ward
Omni Charlotte Hotel
Omni Charlotte Hotel
#47 of 178 in Charlotte
2,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dunhill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunhill Hotel

Property: The Dunhill Hotel
Address: 237 N Tryon St, Charlotte, NC 28202-2136
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Fourth Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#35 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dunhill Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Decades before The Dunhill Hotel would open, local architect Louis Asbury Sr. was entranced by the great Italian craftsmen who created cathedrals famous for their soaring, elegant roof lines. Today, The Dunhill Hotel stands distinct on the Charlotte skyline, an amalgam of American, British, and Italian influences, something those with an eye for period detail can detect. Opened in 1929 as the Mayfair Manor apartment hotel, with half of its original 100 rooms permanent residences, today's Dunhill Hotel is a thoughtful evolution. A full restoration was recently completed, and various on-going aesthetic improvements all share a common goal--to celebrate the original vision of Mr. Asbury, with a nod to the needs of the modern traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Dunhill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunhill Hotel Charlotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing