We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Dunhill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Dunhill Hotel
Ranked #43 of 177 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Middletown, Delaware
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

I stayed here for business. Very nice hotel, close to where I needed to be. The week I was there, they were renovating the kitchen and/or dining area, so service for breakfast was a little slow. Food was very good. Friendly bartenders.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    108
    37
    13
    11
See reviews for
52
173
21
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

We just got back from the Dunhill today for a weekend getaway. We had a fantastic stay! For around $160 (taxes included) per night, we were able to stay in a fantastic location right in the middle of uptown Charlotte. The staff was amazing, very kind, and efficient...every single one of them. Our stay also included a large breakfast which was extremely good (eggs, grits, bacon, toast, etc). They offer a free shuttle service which is great when you are going to dinner. Our driver Mike was one of the kindest people I have ever encountered. He drove us to The Fig Tree restaurant for dinner (great meal!!). Other awesome things about the Dunhill: they have their own restaurant/bar, hot coffee/tea available, warm cookies in the evening, Thymes bath products, and a fridge in your room with cold sodas and water at no extra charge. I could go on and on...bottom line this place is fantastic! I will definitely plan on returning!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank jordanwinstonsalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

In an uptown district that is new, new, new, the Dunhill holds court as she has since 1929, in the ultra-convenient location of North Tryon St. at Sixth. All the employees are friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean and comfortable, and they supply the mini-fridge with free Coke products and water. Our room (402) was a double queen, and though near the elevator, was nice and quiet. The shape of the room was odd; long and narrow, creating the occasional bottleneck, but the bathroom was nicely updated and the beds were great. No on-site gym, but they have an agreement with a workout club close by. We didn't try the restaurant, but it seemed always popular. There's a cool bar in the lobby, and a baby grand piano which is sometimes played. Perfect location and easy parking in the attached garage - $12/day.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Beautiful historic hotel within walking distance of museums, art galleries, nightlife, restaurants and so much more. Pleasant welcoming comments from the staff and helpful suggestions. They were exceptional, from booking the room to the 'hope you enjoyed your stay'. Clean, quiet and luxurious ~ from bed to bath ~ with attention to every detail to make it a comfortable stay. Sunday brunch in the hotel dining room was a delight. I definitely will make a return visit. So much to see in Charlotte!

Room Tip: The rooms that I saw were all well-appointed with somewhat different decor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JillZimerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greenville sc
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stayed here one night for play across the street at Blumenthal auditorium. Even on a cold, rainy day, everything we needed was within walking distance. Stayed in a room overlooking the street and downtown. It was a little noisy, but the sounds of the city added to the ambiance. Furnishings and paintings gave it an historic and comfortable feel but had all the conveniences we needed. Staff was very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rusty h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
129 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Dunhill for the Belk Bowl. From the time we arrived until our departure, we were treated with kindness and professionalism. The front desk was very helpful and got us into our room a little early. The room was clean and well suited for our needs. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was very clean with plenty of hot water. Our complimentary breakfast was very good and a wonderful surprise. Parking did cost us $12 but was located directly behind the hotel. We will definitely visit the Dunhill again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RabyFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

I stumbled upon this hotel when I had a problem at the hotel I was staying at and they recommended the Harvest Moon restaurant for breakfast, which is the restaurant at the Dunhill. When I walked into the lobby the old world charm of the Dunhill was very comforting and I asked about room availability. Luckily they had a room at a very reasonable rate, so I checked out of the other place and moved to the Dunhill, and I am glad that I did. The staff is extremely accommodating and helpful, the room and bed in particular very comfortable, and the location is terrific. We were in town for the Saints-Panthers game and the hotel is within walking distance of the stadium (they also offer a shuttle around town which we didn't use but is of course convenient), and even closer to EpiCenter and the Time Warner Cable Arena where the Bobcats play. The Harvest Moon restaurant offered tasty fare and we even got a complimentary breakfast with our stay. Quaint, safe, comfortable, elegant, this hotel really has it all and I would definitely recommend it and stay again while visiting Charlotte. A+!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYDrummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Second Ward
Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown
Second Ward
Omni Charlotte Hotel
Omni Charlotte Hotel
#38 of 177 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,885 reviews
Third Ward
Charlotte Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown
Third Ward
Courtyard Charlotte City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dunhill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunhill Hotel

Property: The Dunhill Hotel
Address: 237 N Tryon St, Charlotte, NC 28202-2136
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Fourth Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#35 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dunhill Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Decades before The Dunhill Hotel would open, local architect Louis Asbury Sr. was entranced by the great Italian craftsmen who created cathedrals famous for their soaring, elegant roof lines. Today, The Dunhill Hotel stands distinct on the Charlotte skyline, an amalgam of American, British, and Italian influences, something those with an eye for period detail can detect. Opened in 1929 as the Mayfair Manor apartment hotel, with half of its original 100 rooms permanent residences, today's Dunhill Hotel is a thoughtful evolution. A full restoration was recently completed, and various on-going aesthetic improvements all share a common goal--to celebrate the original vision of Mr. Asbury, with a nod to the needs of the modern traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Dunhill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunhill Hotel Charlotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing