We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historical beauty in a beautiful city”
Review of The Dunhill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Dunhill Hotel
Ranked #49 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Historical beauty in a beautiful city”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This was one of the best experiences I've ever had in a hotel. Everybody working there, from the desk people, bartenders, wait staff, and housekeeping were so nice. The location is perfect, walking distance to restaurants, bars, museums and shopping. The food in the restaurant was delicious. We only live an hour away, but we would stay here again, if we come into town to see a show. Beautiful decor, charming rooms.

Room Tip: I don't think you can choose a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    109
    40
    14
    12
See reviews for
56
178
23
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

This is one of the friendliest and most welcoming hotels I've ever stayed in. The staff, including the waitstaff, concierge and bartender were kind and hospitable. Complimentary soft drinks in the room, delicious breakfast included, a central downtown location, historic, comfortable, no complaints. A nice break from boring chain hotels as well.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

My husband and I joined long-time friends at the Dunhill Hotel for an Easter weekend getaway. Both rooms were roomy, very clean, simple and charming, including a small refrigerator with complimentary soft drinks. The location is excellent -- close to good restaurants and things to do within easy walking distance. The breakfast included with our lodging was far superior to most hotel/breakfast arrangements. Most importantly, the staff could not have been more gracious and accommodating. The hotel van is available to drive you to locations within the city Center area. When the weather was horrible, the hotel provided umbrellas, and staff offered to drive us in our search for playing cards so the guys could continue their 30-year gin rummy game. What more can I say?

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Lure, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Most of the reviewers have accurately portrayed the wonderful staff, public areas, and rooms of this great hotel. During our visit we did not pass by a single member of the staff who didn't greet us warmly with a smile. The front desk staff dropped whatever they were doing and turned their attention to us as we approached. We really felt welcome and appreciated as guests.

The room was immaculate, as were the public areas, and the location for theater and museums can't be surpassed.

We won't be looking for another hotel for our Charlotte stays an longer!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
84 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

While we usually stay at the chain hotels to rack up the points, we decided this time to veer off course and try a smaller, boutique hotel and we were not disappointed with Dunhill. We were greeted with the great southern charm by the first the parking attendent then the desk clerk. As we arrived a little late on a Sunday, and we were hungry, the desk clerk helped us to find a place to eat and made the reservation for us. So sweet, so attentive. Arriving in our room, I was a little disappointed at the size of the room (a bit small) and the lighting (a bit dark) but he bathroom was well appointed and roomy and the beds were comfy. I was also concerned about the lack of a security latch on the door and think that there should be a blinder on the peep hole. Our stay included breakfast in the very quaint restaurant that is part of the hotel. The staff in the restaurant were lovely and the food was delicious. The allowed me to linger with my coffee and newspaper for quite some time with no pressure to leave. They even continued to fill my coffee cup. Should I visit Charlotte again, this will be my place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1122Cheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

The Dunhill was not my first choice for our quick weekend stay in Charlotte, in fact, it was not on my list at all. We were looking for a big name chain hotel, as I've had issues with smaller hotels and bed and breakfasts in the past. The Dunhill had availability, the location was perfect and the price was right, so I booked a double queen room. We were extremely pleasantly surprised multiple times during our stay at the Dunhill. Each and every staff member we came in contact with was beyond helpful and polite. Parking was easy and convenient. The room was a perfect size, clean, the bedding was so soft. The bar in the lobby was great, Pete was our bartender, he was friendly and mixed the perfect drink. We enjoyed the restaurant as well, breakfast was very tasty and fast.

When we return to Charlotte, we will be staying at the Dunhill for sure!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Megan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, NC USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2014

This hotel is a little gem. The guest rooms are extremely clean and comfortable. The lobby and public areas are very welcoming and attractive. However, the staff is what really makes this hotel standout. Everyone was friendly, courteous and extremely good at going the extra mile to make you feel comfortable and welcome. They also offer free transportation to and from the Amtrak station.

The restaurant is also excellent. We ended up having an early dinner there the first night and our rate included breakfast the next morning. Both meals were outstanding.

We go to Charlotte several times a year for cultural events and the Dunhill Hotel will now be our preferred hotel for all of our trips!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMicha14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Second Ward
Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown
Second Ward
Omni Charlotte Hotel
Omni Charlotte Hotel
#42 of 178 in Charlotte
1,968 reviews
Third Ward
Charlotte Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Second Ward
Westin Charlotte
Westin Charlotte
#33 of 178 in Charlotte
1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dunhill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunhill Hotel

Property: The Dunhill Hotel
Address: 237 N Tryon St, Charlotte, NC 28202-2136
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Fourth Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#35 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dunhill Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Decades before The Dunhill Hotel would open, local architect Louis Asbury Sr. was entranced by the great Italian craftsmen who created cathedrals famous for their soaring, elegant roof lines. Today, The Dunhill Hotel stands distinct on the Charlotte skyline, an amalgam of American, British, and Italian influences, something those with an eye for period detail can detect. Opened in 1929 as the Mayfair Manor apartment hotel, with half of its original 100 rooms permanent residences, today's Dunhill Hotel is a thoughtful evolution. A full restoration was recently completed, and various on-going aesthetic improvements all share a common goal--to celebrate the original vision of Mr. Asbury, with a nod to the needs of the modern traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Dunhill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunhill Hotel Charlotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing