We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing gem of a hotel, right in the centre of downtown.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Dunhill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Dunhill Hotel
Ranked #43 of 177 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing gem of a hotel, right in the centre of downtown.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

I loved this hotel from the minute I checked in. It's plush, quiet and welcoming.
The front of house staff are amazing, couldn't have felt more important.
The room was immaculate and so comforting.
It's position in downtown Charlotte made it a great base to walk to nearby restaurants.
Exceptional hotel with staff who surpass all of your wants or needs.
I highly recommend you visit it if you are ever lucky enough to be in Charlotte.
A gem of a hotel nestled amongst the streets of Charlotte.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alimcin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    108
    37
    13
    11
See reviews for
52
174
21
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, NE
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here during a family vacation. Love the location. Within walking distance to many restaurants, museums, etc. Beautiful, historic building. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Staff was friendly. Didn't eat at the hotel restaurant, but heard it was good. Would stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank CurlySueOmaha_NE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

The Dunhill Hotel is located in downtown (or "uptown as it is called locally) Charlotte, NC within walking distance to all the uptown sites - museums, parks, restaurants, the epicenter. The lobby and bar are small and quaint where you feel you are escaping from urban hustle and bustle. There is a working piano and I have been lucky enough to enjoy some gentle background music while visiting with friends. The staff is fabulous, and the bartender, Pete, remembers your tastes and makes you feel special. The restaurant, The Asbury, has an excellent southern inspired menu. I had the chicken dumpling and it was delicious! The deviled eggs are served topped with tiny gerkins...and I highly recommend the cauliflower side dish.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

My wife and I did not stay at this central urban hotel, but visited friends at two locations in the building, ate at the restaurant, and visited the bar. What a lovely, relatively small hotel: elegant, old-world style decor and furnishings reminiscent of an 19th century English hotel. Everything bespoke "class." The staff almost rushed to meet us at each turn, the waitstaff at "Asbury," the adjoining dining room, was superior--friendly, at hand, and eager to please.
The food at the "Asbury" was excellent, if pricey. We sat outside and ordered, a la carte, the buckwheat pancakes, eggs and grits for breakfast. Very good, though it is strange that two pancakes ordered together cost $10 and separately $4 per! We ordered one each of the plate-sized discs, the two of which would have been sufficient for three people. The passing parade of exercisers. tourists, children, and an array of characters was a delight on a pleasant Charlotte, NC Sunday morning.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeofTV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

I stayed here with my sisters-in-law for a girl weekend in Charlotte. We had a great experience and would recommend it to anyone. This hotel is located right in downtown Charlotte and within walking distance of lots of restaurants, parks, and points of interest. It is also very close to the main bus depot which made it easy to get to from the airport.

The hotel is in a beautiful old building and the inside is nicely furnished and feels elegant. We were staying in one of the smaller bedrooms, but it was still plenty of space for 3 women. We enjoyed getting chocolate on our pillows and really appreciated that 2 breakfast passes came with the room each day. There were a lot of breakfast options (eggs, pancakes, sausage gravy, cereal, oatmeal, etc) and the food was delicious. The portion sizes were large as well - definitely above average for a breakfast included at a hotel!

The staff were very helpful and knowledgeable. Various front desk clerks helped us with getting ice, getting lost luggage from the airport, advising about local transportation, and even recommending good places to shop. Overall I would highly recommend this hotel for a stay in Charlotte!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smyrna, Georgia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Very nice, clean hotel with exceptionally nice people. Couple of gotcha charges, one the $18 Valet fee if you park in their garage. The valet's largely absent so, the front desk had to find them so, there was a bit of wait parking and retrieving my car. Beyond that it was a great experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gr0th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

I stayed here due to some meetings I was attending across the street, and I wish I had stayed somewhere else. Here were the problems:

- Difficult to access electrical outlets. I had to move the nightstand just so that my iPhone could be plugged in at night
- Slow and spotty wifi service
- Extremely limited in-room dining menu
- In-room dining service problems - e.g. unanswered phones; food brought up without utensils; etc.

There were also overall problems with my room:

- The rods for the blinds on the windows were covered in some sort of sticky substance, so I had to wash my hands after opening and shutting them
- There was no place in the bathroom to store any toiletries except in the cabinet underneath the sink, and the sink had a leak, getting everything wet
- Very easy to hear noise from the hallways

On the positive side, the hotel is in a good location in Charlotte, is reasonably priced, and has a friendly staff. But I will not be staying here again myself.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah7038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mali M, Front Office Manager at The Dunhill Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are very sorry about the problems you encountered during your stay. We truly appreciate this feedback as it gives us an opportunity to improve. In the coming months we will be undergoing renovations, and many of the issues you pointed out will be addressed. In addition, our housekeeping and restaurant managers have been made aware of these critiques so that we can serve our guests better moving forward. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back and show you our improvements.

Sincerely,

Mali McElfresh
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Second Ward
Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown
Second Ward
Omni Charlotte Hotel
Omni Charlotte Hotel
#38 of 177 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,889 reviews
Third Ward
Charlotte Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown
Third Ward
Courtyard Charlotte City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dunhill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunhill Hotel

Property: The Dunhill Hotel
Address: 237 N Tryon St, Charlotte, NC 28202-2136
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Fourth Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#35 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dunhill Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Decades before The Dunhill Hotel would open, local architect Louis Asbury Sr. was entranced by the great Italian craftsmen who created cathedrals famous for their soaring, elegant roof lines. Today, The Dunhill Hotel stands distinct on the Charlotte skyline, an amalgam of American, British, and Italian influences, something those with an eye for period detail can detect. Opened in 1929 as the Mayfair Manor apartment hotel, with half of its original 100 rooms permanent residences, today's Dunhill Hotel is a thoughtful evolution. A full restoration was recently completed, and various on-going aesthetic improvements all share a common goal--to celebrate the original vision of Mr. Asbury, with a nod to the needs of the modern traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Dunhill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunhill Hotel Charlotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing