We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hotel in convenient location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dunhill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Dunhill Hotel
Ranked #42 of 176 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
2 reviews
“Wonderful hotel in convenient location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2009

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. I was a pleasure. The staff were polite and helpful, the rooms are clean, well appointed with a nice historic style, so no cookie cutter rooms here. We found the location to be convenient for driving as well as walking to our destinations. We would stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wickman76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    107
    37
    13
    11
See reviews for
52
172
21
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Coast
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2009

We stayed at the Dunhill because its Uptown location was very convenient for us. We have stayed at other "Historic Hotels of America" and we like older buildings, but I expected a little more charm than the Dunhill offered.

Room furnishings were very brown and generically antique in style, drab rather than quaint I would say. I also think that if a place isn't really charming then it should be really comfortable, and the Dunhill fell a little short in that regard too. For example, the bathroom was unusually small; the plumbing worked just fine--but such thoughtful touches as a shelf for toiletries were totally lacking. Similarly, the room was comfortable and the bed nice and firm, but the not-quite-loveseat-size chair did not face the big flat-screen TV and was very close to it, leaving the desk chair the best place to sit when watching TV unless you like to watch in bed in the evening, which I do not. Reading lights by bed were good but the one near the big char was not--again, not my personal preference but at least there was some good light in the room.

Parking is quite convenient in the next-door parking deck, and probably worth the $12 self-park fee, but it was a little annoying to see that special event rates are $5 and that the Dunhill spaces seem to get used by whoever shows up first. They were taken when we arrived (I think there were relatively few people actually staying at the hotel) and we had to park much higher up in unreserved spaces--not a real problem, just a little confusing. The check-in clerk was not particularly efficient but he was very polite and friendly. We were unexpectedly given vouchers for breakfast in the Monticello Room and the food and serve were very good.

Overall I would recommend (though without great enthusiasm) the Dunhill for people with hotel tastes and budgets similar to mine. Its location is convenient, its promotional pricing is good, and it is at least worth thinking about when considering a stay in Charlotte, but it didn't quite live up to expectations. I don't mean I was expecting luxury, but it just fell a little flat.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grayhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro,NC
Level Contributor
209 reviews
208 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2009

The Dunhill is a small, historic hotel located right in the heart of Charlotte's uptown area. It is in a great location as there are dozens of bars & restuarants within several blocks of the hotel.

The hotel is small and the lobby is elegant but not grand. There is a small bar near the entrance and their restaurant Monticello (which was great for breakfast and previously have a very good dinner there).

The rooms are decent size, clean, well lit, comfortable and equipped with an HD TV.

Uptown Charlotte has lots to do and we went restaurant / bar hopping for the one evening in town. Whiskey River was fun for a club and we enjoyed a nice jazz band at Blue.

Overall, a pleasant stay. The Hilton, Omni, Westin and Hilton are much larger hotels and have a more varied environment (I like the Hilton the best of that group) but Dunhill is great if you are looking for quaint, quiet but close to the action.

Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank PeterFNYNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2009

If you are staying in Charlotte for Business or Pleasure and being downtown, “UpTown” in Charlotte, is important to you then the Dunhill is the right place. We were attending a wedding at the Mint Museum on Tryon in “Uptown” and the Dunhill was very convenient. With almost everything located in the heart of the city we didn’t need to rent a car, only a $25.00 ride to the airport via cab which we felt was reasonable. The hotel had a few sodas in the fridge for us which is nice in the day of pay for every last little thing. The room rate we paid was a little higher because we wanted a room with a Jacuzzi but I felt the prices online at the usual travel sites were comparable to other nice hotels in UpTown. I didn’t feel the room was too small as many described but really how much time should you be spending in your room? Lack of the pool might bother families but for single couples or if you are minus the kids it is a fantastic place to stay. I highly recommend it.

-T

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TinCharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
63 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2009

We enjoyed our stay at the Dunhill. It is in a great downtown location. The Tryon Street is the main street thru beautiful downtown. The ultra clean Tryon Street has a very cool feel with beautiful trees and lots of great restaurants and a big city feel.

The hotel staff is a bit slow but very nice. The rooms are remodeled and brand new, but a touch on the modern and trendy side, considering it is a historic hotel.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tomdenverDenverCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2009

The Dunhill Hotel is the perfect change of pace from the large chain hotels where service, attention and comfort are often inconsistent or lacking. Being an historic hotel in the heart of uptown charlotte just adds to the benefits of the warmth and charm of this hotel. I stayed 18 nights over 4 weeks during March and the experience was not only a welcome change but convinced me that there isn't another place in Charlotte I would want to stay. The rooms are updated, comfortable and quiet. Hotel and restaurant staff were exceptionally attentive, courteous, and helpful. The restaurant consistently prepared very good entrees and I found myself eating in more than going out For those who are looking for a needed change of pace and want to have an exceptional experience, check out The Dunhill.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JCDCharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2009

Perfect location in the middle of everything. I booked this property for its location. However, I was pleasantly surprised by the historic charm and ambience. What a great hotel! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dakotablue51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPZCharlotte, General Manager at The Dunhill Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2009
Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your stay was. We truly appreciate your kind comments.

We are delighted that we have had the opportunity to provide the level of service we expect our guests to receive.

Our goals is to exceed our guests highest expectations. I will be sharing your comments staff at our next staff meeting.

Best Regards,

Michael Zubel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Second Ward
Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown
Second Ward
Omni Charlotte Hotel
Omni Charlotte Hotel
#36 of 176 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,843 reviews
Second Ward
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Westin Charlotte
Westin Charlotte
#30 of 176 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
Third Ward
Charlotte Marriott City Center
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dunhill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunhill Hotel

Property: The Dunhill Hotel
Address: 237 N Tryon St, Charlotte, NC 28202-2136
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Fourth Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#35 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dunhill Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Decades before The Dunhill Hotel would open, local architect Louis Asbury Sr. was entranced by the great Italian craftsmen who created cathedrals famous for their soaring, elegant roof lines. Today, The Dunhill Hotel stands distinct on the Charlotte skyline, an amalgam of American, British, and Italian influences, something those with an eye for period detail can detect. Opened in 1929 as the Mayfair Manor apartment hotel, with half of its original 100 rooms permanent residences, today's Dunhill Hotel is a thoughtful evolution. A full restoration was recently completed, and various on-going aesthetic improvements all share a common goal--to celebrate the original vision of Mr. Asbury, with a nod to the needs of the modern traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Dunhill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunhill Hotel Charlotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing