We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our favorite spots for Chinese”
Review of Dragon Buffet

Dragon Buffet
Ranked #300 of 2,374 Restaurants in Charlotte
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
811 reviews
536 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 363 helpful votes
“One of our favorite spots for Chinese”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Dragon buffet has always been a solid choice for us for some Chinese food, and on this occasion it was no different. Expansive selection of food, that includes your typical chinese offerings like lo mien, sesame chicken, fried rice, but they also offer fruit, sushi, ice cream, lots of soups... but I will say the buffet isn't so expansive that it's just volume. All of the food is always good quality, and it's consistent. Our favorite offering is definitely the fantasy chicken.
I'd be hard pressed to find a better spot for chinese food, especially at $9.00 per person for all you can eat.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jrobba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    18
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Pretty Good Buffet”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

My husband and I have been here several times. We like this buffet. We usually eat on a Friday night. The cost for the two of us and one soda is about $21. So, the price is really reasonable. The buffet has a lot of options. There are spring rolls, egg rolls, crab rangoon, lo mein, fried rice, steamed and fried pot stickers, chicken dishes, beef dishes, seafood (salmon and scallops), and pork dishes. The staples like Bourbon chicken, sweet and sour chicken, sesame chicken, beef with broccoli, chicken and broccoli, fried chicken wings, and sugar buns are available. There are Chinese, Japanese, Thai, and Indian options to choose from. There are also several soups available. I love the sauteed broccoli the best! There are also several desserts including ice cream that you can scoop yourself. There is fresh fruit, several salad options, and one type of sushi. Overall, it is a pretty good buffet. You can also do the buffet to go by weight, which is reasonable. I would recommend Dragon Buffet for consistent food and a quick bite to eat at lunch or dinner time. Oh, it is located in the Whitehall shopping complex on S. Tryon in the Steele Creek area.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Celia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Typical Chinese buffet”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Food doesn't vary too much month to month. Busy lunch crowd. Fair price for your average Chinese buffet.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean, fresh & good value”
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

We were driving through from Florida to Ohio and stopped in Charlotte for the night. Dragon buffet was just around the corner so we decided it would be a quick sit down meal. Food was all fresh & the cost was great for a family dinner of 6. Many customers were coming in and filling take out containers. I would go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stuchar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Oak, Georgia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Dinner Time”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Tremendous amount of food. Service is average, but food selection is excellent. Price is at the norm for the location. It is way in the back of the Walmart shopping center.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chuck S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dragon Buffet also viewed

 
Charlotte, NC
Charlotte, NC
 

Been to Dragon Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing