We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Vietnamese -- Always reliable, always tasty, always welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lang Van

Lang Van
Ranked #44 of 2,351 Restaurants in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
74 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Vietnamese -- Always reliable, always tasty, always welcoming”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I have lost count of the number of times that we've enjoyed meals at Lang Van, and every time the owner is welcoming and remembers our orders [all of them] from our earlier visits, and every time the food is excellent. The location and outside appearance are unassuming, but the food, experience, and value are the best Vietnamese that we have had in this country and in Viet Nam itself.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    34
    11
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, NC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful!! Thank you TripAdvisor”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We tried this restaurant based on the TripAdvisor ranking. Definitely worth the trip. Staff is pleasent and the food is outstanding. Definitely returning.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ironwood6058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous authentic Vietnamese food!”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

If you're looking for the real thing, Lang Van is for you! Tucked away in on Shamrock Drive off of Eastway Drive is an unassuming storefront restaurant. The menu is authentic Vietnamese, the way it's served at home. The owner gets your order at each table without pen or paper. She will remember what you ate the next time you come in. If you like, you can just name your favorite ingredients and you can get a fabulous made to order meal. Don't miss the yellow pancake! Try the Pho, noodle or rice dishes. Get fresh rolls appetizer. Many meals can be made vegetarian or vegan. Try the Vietnamese 33 beer and finish your meal with an authentic Vietnamese coffee - French pressed right at your table. It's a small place, sparsely decorated. All the love and energy goes directly ion your meal. Not to be missed

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PsychNP01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarkesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very good!”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I ate here a few time while in Charlotte on business each time it was very good. The service was excellent. The first time I went to the place I did not stop. I saw it and decided that it did not look very appealing so I drove by and ate elsewhere. I am glad I did muster up the courage to try it and went back 3 times while in Charlotte. Be brave and try it. You will be glad you did.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
1,503 reviews
962 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 422 helpful votes
“Good local Vietnamese”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Tried for supper and left full and satisfied.

We started with summer rolls that were fresh and tasty. A won ton soup and a corn chicken soup were both excellent. For main courses, the grilled shrimp dish and the grilled chicken Bun dish were rather ordinary, the chicken being overlooked and not tender as it should have been.

Service was efficient and willing, though a little too hurrying at first.

Overall, a slightly generous rating of Very Good

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lang Van also viewed

 

Been to Lang Van? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing