We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good "Sleep, Park, and Fly" at reasonable price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Airport & Conference Center
Ranked #66 of 177 Hotels in Charlotte
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good "Sleep, Park, and Fly" at reasonable price”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We booked this room through the "sleep,park,and fly" program. We have stayed at other hotels near the Charlotte airport, and chose Clarion (3*) when our normal hotel (4*) was fully booked. We were not disappointed as the Clarion cost less and provided the service expected. The staff were friendly, room was clean, extended parking was secure, and shuttle service exceptional. Our shuttle driver, DeMarcus, was pleasant and a safe driver. While clean, the room could use a quieter air conditioner and better maintained bathroom fixtures. The surrounding neighborhood is not a location to take a pleasant stroll, although the hotel grounds were safe and secure. Wifi worked well in room. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gmdeeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRNC496, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Airport & Conference Center, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Gmdeeley,

We are so happy that we were able to meet and exceed your expectations during your stay. As someone who is familiar with other hotels in the area, it means a lot that you are able to attest to the value and quality of our customer service. Thank you so much for your kind comments and we look forward to having you again soon!

Sincerely,

Director of Guest Relations
Clarion, Charlotte
704-688-9944
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    59
    38
    21
    15
See reviews for
37
58
21
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kansas
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I booked this hotel, because I had 12 hours to kill between flights in Charlotte. I was looking for quick, hassle-free access to and from the airport and a comfortable bed. That's it.

The bed was fine. The room was clean.

The ride to and from the airport was a disaster. When we arrived at the Charlotte Airport, I called about the shuttle. I was standing on the curb when I did so. It was a busy time at the airport -- shortly after 9 p.m. -- and I was standing in a sea of humans on the curb.

I could see the shuttle driver, but I couldn't get through the wall of people before he pulled away from the curb. I was literally waving and screaming as he shut the door, waited for the bus in front of him to move, and drove away with a half-empty van. He didn't even look around. It was as if he was trying not to notice customers who may have needed a ride.

I called the hotel and they said the next shuttle would be another 45 minutes. It was an hour and 15 minutes. By the time we reached the hotel, which is approximately 8 miles from the airport, it was 10:45 p.m. I hadn't eaten, and had I known the wait would be so long, I would have grabbed a bite in the airport. When we reached the hotel, virtually every restaurant was closed save for an IHOP Restaurant, with a very limited late-night menu.

I asked the night clerk what I needed to do to make sure we had a ride to the airport in the morning. He explained that the van ran every hour and half hour, but it gets busy around 6 a.m., so be down a little earlier than van time to secure a seat during the morning rush.

We schlepped ourselves to bed, calling to request a wake-up call. The wake-up call never came. Fortunately, I always sleep light before I need to catch a flight so we were up in plenty of time.

When we got downstairs, well before the 7 a.m. van was scheduled to pull out, the desk clerk asked if we had signed up for a van time. She flipped through the (apparent) sign-up sheet with a bit of attitude. Um. No. No one told us that we needed to sign up for a van and we specifically ASKED what we needed to do. The driver did end up taking us to the airport at 7 a.m. We were the only two on the shuttle.

To add insult to injury, the base price of the room I booked was $89. When I received the final bill, the base price was $10 higher. I didn't say anything. I had a plane to catch and losing $10 on the transaction didn't kill me. It did confirm that I will never darken the doors of a Clarion hotel again.

I had signed up for their loyalty program when I booked thinking I often have need for a convenient and clean hotel, but after that experience in Charlotte? I don't think so.

I needed that hotel to provide a minimum amount of services -- a convenient shuttle to and from the airport and a wake-up call -- they failed at both tasks.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danedri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRNC496, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Airport & Conference Center, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Danedri,

On behalf of the staff here at the Clarion, I am sorry that we were not able to demonstrate the high level of service that our team is capable of and should have provided for you. Our complimentary van service that we offer our guests is something that we pride ourselves on. We will be speaking with our van drivers to make sure that they are being more aware of potential guests and ensure that our front desk staff is making the the process for van usage clear. We apologize that this did not happen in this instance. In spite of the incidence with the van, we are so happy that your room exceeded expectation and that you were able to get some rest before your flight. I assure you that the next time you are a guest at the Clarion, we can assure you that we will be able to demonstrate the efficiency with which we normally operate.

We hope to see you soon!

Director of Guest Relations
Clarion, Charlotte
704-688-9944
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
110 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This upgraded property made for a very good stay with a couple of exceptions. There was no brochure in the room with the hotels guidelines and the free breakfast was definitely NOT free.

The bed was one of the most comfortable ones ever!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wmleken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRNC496, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Airport & Conference Center, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Mr. Leken,

Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback regarding your stay at the Clarion Hotel. We always like to hear what we are doing right for our guests and what we can improve on. We apologize for any miscommunication that may have occurred. We do offer breakfast in our atrium that you order from a menu. We should have communicated that clearly when you made your reservation. In spite of this, we are happy that you enjoyed the rest of your stay with us and hope that you come back to enjoy our "most comfortable beds ever" again very soon.

Sincerely,

Director of Guest Relations
Clarion, Charlotte
704-688-9944
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Tennessee
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I was worried when I read some of the reviews, but I can honestly say that this stay was a great experience. The staff was very helpful and very friendly. We used the shuttle service to and from the airport, once we called from the airport to pick us up, they arrived within 10 minutes! Our car was very safe, the rooms were very clean and extremely comfortable. Yes this hotel has been remodeled and you can tell, but it honestly is nice. If you were doing the sleep/park/fly I would do it everytime.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheSunburntTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRNC496, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Airport & Conference Center, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Mr. Sunburnt Traveller,

We were pleased that you found our wonderful establishment a nice reprieve from the harsh sun. (Get it?) All joking aside, we love being able to exceed the expectations of our guests and provide them with comfort, convenience, and value. Park, Sleep, Fly is an amazing service that we provide our guests and we are proud of the difference it makes for our guests planning to leave for vacations, long or short. We hope that you consider staying with us again in the near future and again, appreciate all of your positive comments! We will be sharing it with our staff here on site.

Sincerely,

Director of Guest Relations
Clarion, Charlotte
704-688-9944
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We spent the night here before flying out to Vegas. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. They (Thanks Brad) helped me print out my airline tickets and we parked our car here while gone for 9 days. The room and bed were comfortable and had all we needed. The shuttle to the airport was timely and very courteous (Thanks Demarcus). When we flew back in and called for a shuttle, they were there in just a few minutes. Our car was right where we left it. I would stay here again. It was cheaper to spend the night and park here than to park at the airport. I would recommend it to anyone travelling that doesn't live near by. I do wish they had a continental breakfast. I would not recommend the breakfast at the cafe in the Ramada next door. It was all processed food, cheap quality & expensive for what you got.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRNC496, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Airport & Conference Center, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Janet,

Thank you for your awesome feedback! We love to hear when our efforts as a staff pay off and when our guests have an amazing experience.Our Park, Sleep, Fly program is a special feature that we are able to offer to guests and we are extremely proud of that fact. DeMarcus and Brad are invaluable assets to our team. We hope that you enjoyed your vacation in Vegas and that we have the privilege of having you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Director of Guest Relations
Clarion, Charlotte
704-688-9944
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
1,189 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We live in Greenville, SC and were flying to Alaska tomorrow so we stayed at the Clarion Airport the night before. The hotel is ideal for people who don't live near by and don't want to get up very early and drive to the Charlotte airport. They just refurbished the hotel and it very nice. The staff seem very helpful. Whatever your reason for staying here it's a lovely hotel and very convenient to restaurants and about 15 minute shuttle ride to the airport.

Room Tip: all rooms have been redone so wherever your room is it's fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRNC496, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Airport & Conference Center, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Richard,

On behalf of the staff here at the Clarion, we are happy to know that we were able to provide you with a comfortable place to sleep before your trip and that you were able to utilize our complimentary van service. We hope that we will see you again before your next trip!

Thank you for choosing the Clarion.

Director of Guest Relations
Clarion, Charlotte
704-688-9944
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here prior to departure at CLT. While the hotel is about 15 minutes from the airport, the shuttle service was convenient. Lots of airline employees stay at this combination Clarion/Ramada property so the shuttle gets full--be sure to book the night before. The front desk was helpful, and allowed us to park two cars in the long-term lot just for a one-night stay and get the shuttle back to the car even though we didn't book the hotel for our date of return. The hotel wasn't easy to find because it is marked with only a Ramada sign on the road. Booked through Park, Sleep, Fly and couldn't be more pleased with the rate and the service.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KellyH81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRNC496, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Airport & Conference Center, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Kelly,

Thank you so much for your kind review! We love receiving positive feedback from our guests. We truly enjoy providing each of our guests with amazing service. In terms of our signage, we are currently renovating the front of our building in order to make it more visible for all of our arriving guests. We hope that we can expect you back soon so that you can see the new changes we made.

Thank you again for staying with us,

Director of Guest Relations
Clarion, Charlotte
704-688-9944
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Eagle Lake
Sleep Inn Billy Graham Parkway
Eagle Lake
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte Airport South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montclaire South
Best Western Plus Sterling Hotel & Suites
Super 8 Charlotte Downtown Area
#113 of 177 in Charlotte
3.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Airport & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Airport & Conference Center

Property: Clarion Hotel Airport & Conference Center
Address: 212 W Woodlawn Rd, Charlotte, NC 28217-2153
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 177 Hotels in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel Airport & Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality Accommodations. The Clarion Hotel(R) Airport & Conference Center located in Charlotte, NC near Charlotte Douglas International Airport. Our convenient location just six miles from the airport makes this Charlotte hotel with meeting space your ideal lodging destination. You can explore such nearby points of interest as: - Graham Library and Aviation Museum - Bank of America Stadium - Paramount Carowinds Theme Park While you are searching for Charlotte conference center hotels, look no further than the Clarion. Our banquet and meeting facilities make it easy to plan and host your event, and our business center offers copy and fax services and a computer with Internet access. You can savor a delicious meal and a refreshing drink in our restaurant, stay fit in our exercise room and take a swim in our seasonal outdoor pool. As our valued guest, you can also enjoy such amenities as: - Free WiFi - Free 24-hour airport transportation - Free weekday newspaper - Free parking - Guest laundry facilities We invite you to relax in your spacious guest room, which features a microwave, coffee maker, TV, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Enjoy the combination of cozy accommodations, friendly service and wonderful amenities at the Clarion Hotel Airport & Conference Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel Airport & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing