We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small yummy bites, big prices.”
Review of Baku

Baku
Reserve with OpenTable
Baku is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #262 of 2,405 Restaurants in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Small yummy bites, big prices.”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Good food but pricey for very small portions. If you're looking for great sushi, this is not your place. Pork Belly, Dumplings and Black Miso Cod were outstanding. Some of the dishes were memorable and great presentation but small bites left us hungry for dinner. Cool vibe upstairs, and good looking restaurant downstairs with open kitchen concept. Also an outdoor seating option if you don't mind dining in yet another Charlotte parking lot. Great for cocktails and small bites.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    38
    14
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Clover, South Carolina
1 review
“restaurant week menu & management's lack of addressing loud "jolly" guys”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

six of us ate at this restaurant last night for restaurant week. firstly, the restaurant week menu is presented as 3 courses as if each dish is intended to be eaten entirely by one person. in truth, the regular menu is designed for sharing as that menu is mostly sushi type food and small dishes. this was not explained to us by the waiter. the food arrived as it came out of the kitchen as if all six people were sharing one or two items at a time. we all politely waited until everyone was served their 1st course. it became obvious this was not the kitchen's timing and we each ate our own entree as it arrived leaving the others at the table hungry. seated not far from us but not far enough were six or seven guys in their late 20s or early 30s. they were louder than anyone in the room that had an on going din of noise from normal conversations. as they shared sake at the table, their voices grew louder and their behavior much more "jolly". I bet their bill for liquid refreshments was more than than food. the gals seated next to them grabbed their belongings, paid their bill and did not linger to chat. we could barely hear each other. I did alert the waiter who thought the music was loud! when I pointed out the happy guys in the corner he figured out why we were not thrilled with their company. as the night wore on, the guys became happier and louder. as we paid our bill and fled in search of peace and quiet, I did ask the waiter if he told the management downstairs about their jolly guys. He did but obviously the management prefers guys who run up liquid refreshment bills better than their other quieter customers. The guys finally left the food table but continued enjoying the bar area loudly. we did see the manager as we were leaving and explained two issues. apparently anyone who has been to this restaurant knows it is a sharing menu. we have been to Japanese restaurant that some dishes are intended to be shared but some are not.
the timing of all the courses on the 3 course menu should have been explained by the waiter as a sharing menu not for eating by one person only. My complaint directly to the manager as we left was mostly with the lack of addressing the rude behavior of the guys. Rude to all the other customers by being so loud as to make normal conversation impossible and rude to the extent perhaps one of them might fall down and land in someone's lap. Instead the management managed to ignore completely the guys and pretend this behavior is acceptable. A gentle chat with them or if necessary perhaps moving them to a secluded area away from most of the customers would have been a low key way to handle the situation. We will not return to this restaurant ever.
the food was in no way outstanding and the service was just OK. This should be a wake-up call for any manager who has a bar and loud jolly customers who do not know how to behave properly in public.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandi121121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Oysters”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Baku is a "Tapas" style Asian restaurant which is excellent. The fresh oysters were delicious, but if you're a little hesitant to try raw oysters, try the grilled ones. They are incredible. In fact, everything we ordered was fantastic. I highly recommend Baku.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank HLC60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Right now best restaurant in Charlotte!”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

My Wife and I joined friends from London last weekend at Baku. Both of us thought this was one of the best meals we have had for some time. Excellent Sushi, Black Miso Cod, Calamari, and Jalapeño Yellowtail. Very comparable to Nobu at its best. I highly recommend as a great night out. We were there for 3 1/2 hours. Service was spot on and menu (a bit daunting in size) was easily understood and explained.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Very nice and fun decor!”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Great service, very nice people and our waiter Joe was very helpful and understanding for being our first time their. The food is made to order, love the small plate ideas and the warm cloths before eating very unique place we will be back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Baku also viewed

 

Been to Baku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing