We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Road Warrior in Charlotte this week”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Place Charlotte Downtown
Ranked #33 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This hotel was a good location to stay at very clean, friendly staff and a OK breakfast. The hotel entrance is hard to find and you can only valet park your car ($20) per day ouch. But, I would come back and stay again the quite sleep was worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank wanda h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (737)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

674 - 680 of 737 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

The staff are what make this property an easy 5 star rating in my opinion.
Good location with many downtown options just a short walk away.
The hotel is fairly new and everything seemed clean and well maintained.
Our room (1124) was huge and appointed with everything to make our stay pleasant.
The valet ($20 daily) is the best option for parking as you can come and go as you please.
The only semi negative would be the internet speed could use an upgrade.

Room Tip: 1124 huge corner room facing Nascar Museum
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarolinaCoopers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I, and three other of my friends, stayed in Charlotte for four days on business. I've got to say, the Hyatt was amazing! The entire staff was extremely friendly, even when we ordered food at 3 AM. The valet guys were super nice and joked around with us our whole stay, they really made us feel welcome. The breakfast in the morning, and the food in general was delicious (totally recommend the muffins and cheesecake!) On top of the food and customer service, the prices were great for the location, the rooms were super clean every time we returned, and our view on the 14th floor was gorgeous to wake up to every morning. This is hands down the best hotel I've been in! My friends also agree! 5 stars all around!!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Egeralex2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed on a Saturday and Sunday night. Saturday was crowded and the bachelorette party next door was loud but luckily not to late! Sunday was quiet and serene. Room was large and comfortable! Front desk service was good. Breakfast on Sunday Morning, when we arrived a half hour before the end, was out of most food. The bagel and coffee we did get was good. Next time we're going to try the Hyatt House and see how they compare, they are almost next door, just in sight of the hyatt place.

Room Tip: ask for the city side of the building!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CowboyCurly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My family and I have been to quite a few Hyatt Places over the years for weekend trips. To start with this Hyatt Place, just like the others is well kept, modern, with great staff. The decor and rooms for all of them are very very similar which is not a bad thing at all. The only thing that we were not completely pleased with was that our room had a very musky smell in it as did some of our other friends and family (we were part of a 40 guest room slot for a wedding). Aside from that we loved our stay. Beautiful rooftop restaurant/bar (Charlotte's only indoor outdoor rooftop restaurant/bar from what we were told) and free breakfast (food was actually really good. It gets busy around 9am so eat earlier). The hotels location is walkable to a nice mall and a bunch of great restaurants. Concierge was always ready to help point us in the direction of something delicious. I highly suggest Merks (Amaaaaazing southern food!).
Overall, for the price we paid, our stay was great and we highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank stan279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Had a one day stay and person at the front desk in the lobby was wonderful. He made sure we were comfortable and made excellent suggestions on what to do the next day. Truly wonderful experience!! I would definitely recommend this hotel to everybody. Great location and amazing service.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lolita129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We booked from booking.com and called ahead 1 week, and then 1 day in advance to make sure we would have our room. Both times we were assured we would have 2 queen size beds and a pullout couch. Upon arriving we were told they had no more room like that available and put us in a smaller room. We asked for extra blankets ave pillows at night since we had less bedding to accommodate our party and they said they didn't have any due to being full. That is ridiculous. Also there is NO free parking. You either pay $20 for valet or $6 every 12 hours to park on the street. It's a nice hotel but needs a lot of work in customer service, management and the basic needs for guests. Will never stay here again

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lacymarie06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Second Ward
Hilton Charlotte Center City
Second Ward
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown
Second Ward
The Westin Charlotte
The Westin Charlotte
#34 of 178 in Charlotte
1,556 reviews
Third Ward
Charlotte Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Charlotte Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Charlotte Downtown

Address: 222 S Caldwell St, Charlotte, NC 28202-2793
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Second Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Price Range: £111 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Charlotte Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hyatt Place Charlotte Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing