We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn Charlotte SouthPark
Ranked #83 of 180 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 February 2014

First of all, the staff was really nice. I had just got to my room and had enough time to inspect the bed, sheets, bathroom, and exhaled, then the phone rings. It was Ashley from the the front desk, checking to make sure the room was comfortable and up to par. I've been traveling for years and I must say I have been very blessed to have stayed in quite a few of 4 star hotels, but I have never received a phone call to check to make sure everything was ok. It so nice we ordered room service from Ruth Chris, which was very nice. FYI, they automactically charge it to your room, unless you have cash, and they do not carry change. Everything you would need was there, they even have ice cream(for a late night snack)! It was so nice we ended up staying for another night!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peace38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ricltsp, Manager at Residence Inn Charlotte SouthPark, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Thank you for your generous comments. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. We hope that you will choose us again when visiting the area. Again, thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (250)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 250 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2014

This is a comfortable hotel with a good bed and a clean room. Having a kitchenette is helpful for the take-out and the usual wine/snack we have.

But we found the breakfast just sufficient. I could eat the eggs, potatoes, etc but they did not seem overly appealing. The waffle iron came out the second morning, and when it worked (one died before my eyes), it did a really good job. But the coffee was utterly dreadful. My wife and I went to the nearest Panera! - That was about a three minute walk and worth it.

We found the room temp too hot and had to constantly change. The air was very dry. Can't fault the hotel too much because Charlotte had a nasty cold snap. Careful with the dishwasher; it has seen better days, but will eventually finish.

The staff are very friendly, and very helpful. I had a complaint about security and it was taken care of very quickly.

Overall, we felt that it was a nice stay: very simple and comfortable.

Room Tip: You can check in and move bags to room by parking in front. But take the parking lot up the street t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrPickwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ricltsp, General Manager at Residence Inn Charlotte SouthPark, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We really appreciate you feedback. I'm sorry that you did not like our breakfast. We always try to provide a good, quality breakfast. I'm glad that you did enjoy the room and the staff as well. We always welcome feedback and share it with our staff. It helps us in making our property better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

The staff make your stay so accommodating with breakfast and managers reception in the evening. We had a room near the side of the fire pit that was more social in the evenings than we liked but they were able to move is to a quieter spot. Almost walking distance to South Park mall and boutique cafés and restaurants.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lili P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ricltsp, Manager at Residence Inn Charlotte SouthPark, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Thank you for your feedback. I have shared your review with our staff. We are all delighted that you had a great time and look forward to hosting you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

This is a comfortable hotel with a good bed - not too hard, not too soft. The kitchenette is where the value is at for me - because I can buy my own food and make my own breakfast, lunch and dinner if need be. Being gluten free and dairy sensitive, I found the breakfast didn't have much for me. I could eat the eggs, potatoes and sausage, but none of those were cooked especially nice that I would make a trip downstairs for it. I thought the coffee tasted bad, and that might be cause the water in the hotel tasted bad. I would walk over to Panera bread instead and get my coffee there. That was about a three minute walk and I really appreciated that it was there as an option - that added value to my stay as well.
The staff are very friendly, down to earth people. There are no overbearing marketeers at the front desk quizzing you on your stay while bearing the pearly whites. They are helpful and to the point, but never dripping in posed kindness. I liked them all.
There are all these signs in the lobby showing that the hotel has a 95% sanitation rate which is good, but the reason they score so high, I think is because they use styrofoam plates and paper cups for their breakfast rather than real plates and cups. Not scoring high points with me in this arena. I like to eat off of real plates and I like to know that every meal is not contributing to the worlds landfill. I know this means more staff on their part, but personally I think styrofoam is not a pleasant feeling. And not having gluten free options is getting a little out dated at this point - gluten free is becoming quite normal now so it seems like they should have an option of gluten free bread. And more fruit, please.
Overall, there is good value in this hotel. It's a very simple, comfortable homemade feel with a styrofoam sidekick.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nnella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ricltsp, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Charlotte SouthPark, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Dear Nnella, thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Charlotte. We are very glad to hear our staff was friendly and down to earth. We strive to make you as welcome as possible here at our hotel and don’t like to be overbearing. I am sorry to hear about your experience with breakfast. We are currently in the process of stopping use on our styrofoam plates. We agree that you enjoy food much better off a real plate. Unfortunately on busier days we can get caught with a styrofoam plate out. We are trying to get this resolved quicker. We would love to have you back at our hotel so you can enjoy the food off our real plates. Thank you again, Alan Kincaid, Front Desk Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The hotel looks up to date. Staff was very nice. My room was clean and looked good. The bed mattress did feel a little uncomfortable and the sofa bed mattress looked very old. Breakfast was included and was good. I did detect a natural gas smell (mercaptan) coming out of the hallway vents on the 5th floor. I reported this incident by phone and in person to the front desk person. I am not sure if the problem was fixed. I would recommend this nice hotel to anyone but I hope they change the mattresses and fix the gas leak.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ricltsp, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Charlotte SouthPark, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Thank you for staying with us! We strive to make everyone's stay as enjoyable as possible. We appreciate you letting us know about the gas smell on the 5th floor. We did have our Engineers investigate this and are happy to report there was no leak! We will also do thorough inspection on our pullout sofa mattress to ensure all will be in top shape for the next guest. We look forward to having you stay at our hotel again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

A good location, friendly staff. Rooms are neat and clean. The breakfast is decent but agree with another reviewer, the floor was very sticky. They offer a manager's reception and other evening events, complimentary newspapers, free wi-fi and parking. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

I have stayed here a couple times over the years, but was always in a 2 bedroom unit. This time I had a one bedroom and the experience was totally different. First, we stay there mainly because they allow dogs. But, they put folks on the upper floors (6 and 7) with dogs, which is beyond me when they know those are the guests who will need to go in and out several times a day with their animals. The next issue was that the bed was a queen. I can't remember the last time I booked a single room with a single bed and it was anything smaller than a king. But, once you get in the bedroom you realize there is barely enough room for the queen much less a king. Seriously, there was not enough room anywhere around the bedroom where I could set my suitcase down, open it, and still be able to walk past it. The luggage carts are VERY difficult to maneuver. We were so disappointed we cancelled our 4 night reservation before going to bed the first night and checked out the next morning to stay at the Double Tree. The good: front desk folks are nice, convenient to Southpark area, nice outside lounge area where you can also eat the buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RealtorNumber1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ricltsp, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Charlotte SouthPark, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Dear guest, we are very happy to hear you chose to come back to our hotel. We are pleased to hear about the friendly staff and convenience factor. Unfortunately when people travel with pets they may prefer higher floors. We try to keep people with animals on lower floors; however, some guests still prefer the high level regardless. We want to make sure everyone is comfortable when they stay with us. As you mentioned with our one bedroom suite the bedroom area can be a bit tight with the division of the living room to bedroom. As an alternative we have king suites of the same price and set-up to accommodate those travelling who prefer a more open room feel. I will make sure to speak to my Front Desk staff to make them more aware to offer a different room in lieu of an early check-out. We do hope you come stay at our hotel again (in a big king suite next time!). Thank you for your input, and we look forward to seeing you again. Alan Kincaid, Front Desk Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Courtyard Charlotte SouthPark
#76 of 180 in Charlotte
231 reviews
Barclay Downs
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - SouthPark
Montclaire South
Residence Inn Charlotte South at I-77/Tyvola Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barclay Downs
Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Charlotte SouthPark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Charlotte SouthPark

Address: 6030 Piedmont Row Drive South, Charlotte, NC 28210
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Barclay Downs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#46 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range: £72 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Charlotte SouthPark 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This newly renovated, all-suite hotel is just around the corner from the SouthPark Mall and provides convenient access to all of Charlotte. This Residence Inn by Marriott hotel in Charlotte NC has all comforts of home, including high definition LCD TV, free high-speed Wi-Fi, and spacious studio, 1 or 2-bedroom suites with fully equipped kitchens. Enjoy the hot complimentary breakfast in the morning, or wind down at night with free beer and wine at The Mix. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Charlotte SouthPark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Charlotte Southpark Hotel Charlotte
Charlotte Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing