We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Brews & BBQ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Duckworth's Grill & Taphouse Ballantyne

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Duckworth's Grill & Taphouse Ballantyne
Ranked #14 of 97 Nightlife in Charlotte
Attraction details
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Awesome Brews & BBQ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

My husband and I dined here while staying at The Ballantyne over Memorial Day weekend. We had been swimming in the pool all day and we had worked up an appetite. My husband enjoys craft beers so he was delighted by the selection available - 80 beers on draught! We immediately placed an order for potato skins topped with house-made jalapeno bacon. They were delicious! The appetizer came with four and we seriously considered getting another order because they were so good. We decided to split an order of grilled wings with buffalo sauce and the BBQ chicken grilled - Mommoo-style (in a vinegar sauce.) Instead of sides with the chicken, we ordered two side salads. We were very impressed with the chargrilled-smoke flavor in the proteins, beer selection, and the service provided from our waiter. We've been telling our Greenville friends about how great this place was and hope to go back during our next visit to The Ballantyne!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank LMSunFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    2
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great place to unwind”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We found out about this place from our son, and decided to stop in and get a $3.50 beer special and one of the awesome Gorgonzola and Apple Flatbreads my husband had enjoyed on previous visits. I was wanting Mexican, so decided to try the Vegetable Fajitas. When our food arrived, there were so many fajita makings that my husband and I made two apiece, and had more than enough to eat. We ended up taking home the flatbread. We have always enjoyed visiting here. It's nice to unwind with good food and an awesome selection of beer on tap. We usually just get whatever the special is. I have tried several things off the menu. It's fun to experiment with different dishes, and all I have tried have been well made and delicious. The waiters are friendly and attentive and the manager always stops by to make sure you have had a great experience. I would highly recommend Duckworths for anyone looking for a casual place to unwind, watch a game, and enjoy trying out different brews.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Clifflef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Social atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

This was my dinner stop after first arriving in Charlotte. The food was tasted good and there were large portions, the service was quick and personable although our server wasn't the most knowledgeable about the beers, and the beer selection was good with lots of local micro/craft brews. The atmosphere was social and it was a nice place to relax and eat after traveling.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Magen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Save your time, this place is going downhill...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Expected to enjoy a nice night out, instead got a warm beer and a tasteless appetizer... We left right after. This place is going downhill.... and fast. What a shame! The manager also wasn't the brightest one, saying those script phrases, and sitting at the end of the table to get to customer level... Avoid!!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank 896danas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
“One of the best casual dining restaurants ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

I absolutely love this restaurant. My boss and co-workers go here often, sometimes once or twice a week, and we all love it. There's nothing that we've had that we didn't thoroughly enjoy. Their garlic fries are spot-on, and their fajitas are the best I've ever had. I will continue to dine here often and bring my family and friends! Wonderful service and very friendly!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Duckworth's Grill & Taphouse Ballantyne also viewed

 

Been to Duckworth's Grill & Taphouse Ballantyne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing