We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel
Ranked #19 of 177 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Forest, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Stay Good location”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Stayed here over a weekend in December used Marriott point to get some early Christmas shopping done. Excellent, helpful staff and gave good dinner recommendations for local restaurants that are not in the mall. But it is very close to the mall which was good.
Room was very nice, god details and perfect for our stay. Also had breakfast in the room- very good.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5025emy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    515
    236
    67
    16
    23
See reviews for
198
219
41
268
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
tsgbhalf
Level Contributor
123 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012 via mobile

Perfect location for my business. Walking distance to plenty of dining choices. Staff was accommodating. Workout facility was in good shape, albeit a bit cramped with the morning rush. Food in the meeting rooms was good. Wireless signal was just okay.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank tsgbhalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Great family stay in Charlotte! Fun location with plenty of restaurants nearby. The hotel was clean and well decorated with many nice details. Staff was efficient. Nice refreshments in afternoon. We had breakfast included in our stay and it was delicious. Excellent service. We also enjoyed the indoor pool and fitness room. Very nice all around, no complaints!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 418.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allisonsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, FL
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

I don't know what the Renaissance looked like before renovations but now it is completely over the top. The rooms are also a bit noisy, with hall chatter leaking in at Midnight, and somewhat humid as there is no exhaust fan in the bathroom. That said, the bed was comfy as anything and the hotel does have a good location across from the mall.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlerazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level Contributor
128 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We stayed here for two nights. The room was very strange as the windows did not face outside. Evidently, the hotel has been added onto and our windows faced a wall and sort of had a peek down onto the breakfast buffet. The walls are very thin and security somewhat lax. Two nights running the drunken twenty-something girls across the hall pounded on the door, waking us up at 3 am. We called security after 25 minutes of this the second night but the girl hitting the door with her shoe and yelling walked off, returning after security walked away. It was really unpleasant, but no more so than discovering that the maid only half made up the room and left us without toilet paper. We asked the front desk to send some up, but four hours later went to get it ourselves as it had not been delivered. The front desk said they had been busy. The hotel itself looks nice enough, but we would not stay here again and feel the hotel does not live up to Marriott or Renaissance standards. Add that to the fact that internet costs $13/day when it is free at the Hilton and there is absolutely no reason to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muleyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We only spent one night here, but it was very pleasant. Check-in was quick and efficient. The front desk staff was so helpful, laughing and chatting. She came from behind the desk to give me directions and offer alternatives for getting to the mall which is directly across the street.
We'd had a long day, so we wound up staying in and ordering room service. It was quick and so good. I enjoyed the homemade potato chips.
The room was nice, but smaller than other Renaissance hotels I've stayed at. Overall, it was a good experience though.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsWms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
103 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Hadn't stayed in a Renaissance proeperty in some time, but this hotel far exceeded expectations. Stylish well appointed jr suites, very clean, strong wi-fi signal (for a fee of,course), extremely courteous staff that greeted every time they saw you. Good ambience in the restaurant and throughout the hote. Oh, and perfect location, near several restaurants and directly across from a huge mall...

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xecutiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Barclay Downs
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - SouthPark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barclay Downs
Charlotte Marriott SouthPark
Charlotte Marriott SouthPark
#54 of 177 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel

Property: Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel
Address: 5501 Carnegie Blvd, Charlotte, NC 28209-4627
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Barclay Downs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#5 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#6 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 264
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Charlotte
Charlotte Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing