We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel
Ranked #19 of 180 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 January 2013

After reading reviews here, booked a weekend stay. Front desk and door personnel were very helpful and very friendly. However, bar personnel (man and woman) were not only not friendly but seemed totally bored by having to pour a drink. Had no munchies and the experience was actually depressing! We bought our own bottle of wine and kept it in the room rather than going back a third time. Room was nice but hair dryer blew up, sink was stopped up and hot water was in short supply. I thought housekeeping should have caught some of this There was no shuttle to a/p as I had read in a previous review. Parking was easy and free. Again, I would call this average but I expect more from a Renaissance property.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelgirl065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (909)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

712 - 718 of 909 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2013

Just returning after a business trip and I stayed here a couple of nights -- it's going to be tough to get me to stay anywhere else from now on!

The hotel had been completely renovated in the past couple of years so everything is up-to-date and done very well. No issue with parking -- within seconds of Southpark Mall -- also within seconds of excellent restaurants on Piedmont Row (Del Friscos, Georges Brasserie, Brio Tuscan Grill) & across the road is Ruth's Chris and so many others within a short drive. Highly recommend Barrington's as well. (about 2 miles away off Fairview...don't pop in without reservations).

The bar is very comfortable and there's an outside area with fire pits, lights in the trees and comfy furniture.

Rooms were equally nice with everything you'd expect in a Renaissance. Club Lounge had a 1st rate breakfast with real scrambled eggs, bacon, toast, fruit, etc.

I'll finish my review with kudos to EVERY SINGLE EMPLOYEE in this hotel. From the moment you arrive and are greeted by the doorman, to the front desk, wait staff...everyone. Very friendly & just couldn't do enough to make my stay more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GypsyAtLast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Visited this hotel for business and must say it is very good. It is not too far from the airport and parking is not an issue. The service is excellent and food good. They also have a nice bar. The hotel is close to the south park mall and several good restaurants.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel before leaving for Europe. We were treated like royalty. We left our car for seven days, had complementary shuttle to airport, and a spotless room. Having a Marriott Gold card helped as well.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Stayed at this property because of the drastic price difference between here and downtown Charlotte. This was a great choice! the hotel look as though it was recently rennovated from teh lobby all the way up to the rooms. Everything felt new and clean. Front desk staff was great at recommendations to the Piedmont Row district that was in walking distance. We ended up eating dinner there onthe first night and breakfast there on the way home. There was one older gentleman who was acting as a valet/bellhop that made my experience memorable. He was much better than the lackidasical teenager who was at the door as we arrived. I had to ask him for help with the luggage. The older gentleman was a go getter and a real people person. Sorry i didnt get his name but he should be recognized. On duty Sunday morning Jan 20th.

Room Tip: Ask for n even room on the 5th or 6th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FastCheckIn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

If you have to choose one hotel to stay in South Park let this be the one! We stayed Dec.28-30th. It was decorated so nice for Christmas, with many trees decorated and a beautiful area with fire pits to sit at night. The staff were always cleaning and making sure everything was just perfect! My son is a chef with Ruth's Chris next door and didn't get to come to Tennessee for Christmas, so we brought it to him! So glad we picked this hotel, it was very beautiful and will be staying there again!! As for the staff, everyone was so friendly and helpful. Excellent!!

Room Tip: Right across from South Park mall and all the fine places to eat. Great workout room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 22,432,243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

Recently stayed here for a shopping weekend….great stay at an affordable price. Very convenient to the South Park Mall and restaurants. Quiet hotel. Fresh, hot cookies upon check in. Room was clean and decorated nicely. Room has a small fridge which is nice along with coffee and tea. I do have to mention that the sheets on the bed kept popping off as they seemed not to be big enough for the bed.

Visited the lobby bar for a glass of wine in the evening. Bar cleared out around 6:30 p.m. or so as folks went to dinner. Reasonable prices for beer but the house wine, although very good was a bit pricy at $9 per glass. Bartenders were attentive and friendly.

We did not eat here as we choose to treat ourselves to Sunday brunch at the nearby Cheesecake Factory. We also did not check out the pool or any other amenities. We were too tired from walking all over the mall.

Parking is free and ample. Valet parking is available too. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelprosc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Barclay Downs
Charlotte Marriott SouthPark
Charlotte Marriott SouthPark
#85 of 180 in Charlotte
58 reviews
Barclay Downs
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - SouthPark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fourth Ward
The Ivey's Hotel
The Ivey's Hotel
#1 of 180 in Charlotte
165 reviews
The Ballantyne, Charlotte
#8 of 180 in Charlotte
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel

Address: 5501 Carnegie Blvd, Charlotte, NC 28209
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Barclay Downs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#5 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#6 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range: £100 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover unparalleled luxury at Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel. We offering an award-winning combination of boutique elegance and contemporary style at our hotel in Charlotte, North Carolina. For business or pleasure, enjoy our great accommodations and superior setting near Queens University of Charlotte and SouthPark Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Charlotte
Charlotte Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing