We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel
Ranked #17 of 176 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

I have stayed at this hotel for business and pleasure. Each time, they have taken good care of me. The staff have been pleasent upon arrival. Rooms are always clean and inviting. Ambiance sets the tone for the stay. I haven't eaten at their restaurant, but there's always many people there. Restaurants are walking distance from the hotel. The surroundings aren't suspect, but rather comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRHR, General Manager at Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
It’s always great to read a review from a returning guest, makes us feel confident in our Ambassadors and their service. We appreciate your positive comments about our reception area, as well as the SouthPark area we are located in. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us and hopefully on your next visit you will have the opportunity to try our Flagstones Restaurant!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    509
    226
    65
    15
    22
See reviews for
195
212
41
262
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

This hotel is located in a nice area, primarily in a business park. Located near many dining options. The lobby was warm and inviting. Found the room to be clean and well organized. The bathroom was a nice size and the amenities were wonderful. I had the king executive corner room. Location of room was quite. The beds were extremely comfortable. A microwave and single serve coffee maker was in the room. Complimentary Starbucks coffee was offered in the lobby every morning. The bar was a fun place to hang out after a long day of meetings. Staff very friendly. Ate in the restaurant twice, nothing really to rave about, normal hotel food, in my option. The indoor swimming pool was nice, a little small but good for a quick dip to cool off. The valet service was quick to retrieve your automobile when you needed to leave. Alan the valet was always smiling and always greeting you with a warm smile and with a good morning or good evening. Complimentary wine is served from 5-7 as well as infused water. The only thing that I did not like was that the scent coming from the air vents was a over powering which caused me to have a slight headache. Over all, this is a great hotel with exceptional staff who is willing to assist you with what ever you ask. I will be staying here again, when in the Charlotte area. As a matter of fact, I will be staying here again mid August. I would highly recommend this hotel for both business and leisure travelers alike. Thank You Renaissance for a fantasic stay. See you in August.

Room Tip: The corner rooms tend to be quieter and larger. Arrive around 5 for the complimentary wine and infu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trvlguy39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRHR, General Manager at Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for offering your high recommendation of our property and we’re excited to know you’ll be returning soon! We appreciate hearing how much guests enjoy all the different things we have to offer on property, such as the indoor pool and complimentary coffee in our reception area. It’s also a personal pleasure to read reviews about specific Ambassadors, such as Alan; he is an asset to our team and will appreciate your comments about his gracious attitude and willingness to serve our guests. We look forward to seeing you in August!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed at the Renaissance Southpark this past week for several days. I was impressed with the friendly, helpful staff and the hotel is beautiful. We had a room with an indoor balcony. This was great for my kids because they were spending a lot of time in the room with grandma while I was away for a business meeting. The indoor pool is nice as well.
The rooms are very clean and well maintained. No issues at all. The lounge area is lovely and worked well for business travel and meetings. The funky chairs are great! Excellent stay.

Room Tip: Indoor balcony if possible. It overlooks the lounge/atrium area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MookieL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRHR, General Manager at Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
It’s great to hear that your extended time with us was impressive and enjoyable. We appreciate your compliments on our guest rooms, indoor pool and even the funky chairs! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and we hope to have future opportunities of hosting you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

I was recently put up here courtesy of us airways. After an exhausting day Maria at the front desk took excellent care. I was quickly looked after and up to my room in minutes. The restaurant and bar were ok for dinner.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben2184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRHR, General Manager at Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Maria will be happy to hear how much you enjoyed her tentative care during your unexpected stay with us. We understand that while traveling, things may not go according to plan but we appreciate knowing the room was to your liking. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boone, North Carolina
Level Contributor
134 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

The Renaissance SouthPark is across the street from Southpark Mall & there are many good restaurants in the area. The public areas are very nice, but the rooms are not very special or quiet. During my last visit there were wedding receptions occurring downstairs (Saturday stay) & some family groups on the 5th floor were going back & forth to different rooms, slamming doors, and talking loudly. If it hadn't been so late (& I wasn't in my pj's), I would have requested another room. Instead I had to listen to various noises coming from the room next door and in the hallway. If you avoid visiting on the weekend, you'll probably enjoy your stay. I didn't enjoy mine though.

Room Tip: Request a room at the end of the hall or bring ear plugs because the doors slam shut.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank demTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRHR, General Manager at Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, we’re happy to hear that you enjoyed the SouthPark area. We apologize for the disturbances you experienced on Saturday night. Had we known your were dissatisfied during your stay we would have worked towards a solution to further improve your time with us but we understand it was late in the night. Our Ambassadors are very devoted to our guests’ satisfaction and count on this type of feedback to help our hotel run successfully. Again, we apologize for the inconveniences you expereinced but hope for an opportunity to improve your opinion of our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
125 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

I had my wedding here in May 2014. This place is very modern and clean. My event planner manager, Erin, was great helping us planning and getting everything ready for the day. Definitely recommend doing ceremony at their courtyard because the big tree there i gorgeous along with jewels and lanterns on the tree. Also the hotel gave us the presidential suite for us to stay and it was super awesome! Friendly and great staff at this hotel!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alicia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRHR, General Manager at Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
First of all, congratulations on your wedding! We are honored to have been part of such a special and beautiful day. Erin is a great asset to our team and is always very devoted to her clients, I’ll be sure to pass your comments along to her. We’re happy that your time in our hotel, from the guest rooms to your ceremony and reception, were all to your liking. We hope you will return for more celebrations or even just a weekend getaway!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewartville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here unexpectedly when our flight was canceled. We were pleasantly surprised with the hotel. Very nice atmosphere, peaceful water features in the main lobby level. We had drinks and flat pizza that was tasty. Our room exceeded our expectations rm 627, quiet, very comfortable bed, down comforter and pillows, room reminded me of Hotel Sofitel, bath and body products by Aveda, room had a Keurig type coffee maker, microwave, and refrigerator. Separate living room & sleeping area. I would definitely stay here again! Everyone was very friendly and helpful, shuttle back to airport was right on time

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marilee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRHR, General Manager at Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel; though staying with us may not have been the original plan, we’re happy to hear that you found everything to your liking! We appreciate your comments about our new flat bread pizza and all our in-room amenities we have to offer. We’re glad that we could help make an expected stay so enjoyable and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Barclay Downs
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - SouthPark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barclay Downs
Charlotte Marriott SouthPark
Charlotte Marriott SouthPark
#52 of 176 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
First Ward
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
The Ritz-Carlton, Charlotte
#18 of 176 in Charlotte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel

Property: Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel
Address: 5501 Carnegie Blvd, Charlotte, NC 28209-4627
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Barclay Downs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#5 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#6 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 264
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, Ebookers and TravelUp so you can book your Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Charlotte
Charlotte Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing