We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place in the Heart of Charlotte”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel
Ranked #16 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place in the Heart of Charlotte”
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Decided on a last minute trip to Charlotte for the 4th of July. Looked at Trip Advisor and went with this hotel. If you are looking for swimming then do not stay here, but if you want to be close to upscale shopping and good restaurants than this is the place for you. The symphony had a show within walking distance in the park and was outstanding. The staff was excellent and very helpful. We went to Carowinds and also the whitewater rafting center and had a great time. Was not disappointed by our choice for the families first visit to Chatlotte.

Room Tip: Parking may be difficult if you arrive late but back entrance allows for easy access so do not get d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRHR, General Manager at Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
It’s great to know that you trusted TripAdvisor reviews to select our hotel and it’s a delight to learn that you were not disappointed with your choice! The Fourth of July show at Symphony Park is always a great one and it’s so close for guests to enjoy. Though you may not have been interested in our indoor pool, for future visits, we are able to offer our guests the use of the Marriott SouthPark’s outdoor pool during the warmer seasons. Thank you for the positive review and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    534
    242
    68
    17
    23
See reviews for
204
227
44
278
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

One of my favorite places to stay. Great bedding, nice breakfast, great bar, good food for lunch or dinner. Salt water indoor pool is in lovely location and overall the hotel is in a great location....... Close to South Park mall, downtown, etc. Really enjoy staying here.

Room Tip: Try and get a corner room...a little unique
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMF1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRHR, General Manager at Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
It’s great to hear that we are one of your favorite places to stay in Charlotte! We appreciate all your positive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back so we can continue to impress you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Stayed for a weekend back in November of 2013. The second time we stayed on the property. Very clean. Front desk very accomodating. Was a little crowded with a wedding going on downstairs but everyone had time for anything I inquired about or requested. Corner room large and is effectively a suite. Lots of electronic plugins. Would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morkfork G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRHR, General Manager at Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
We enjoy receiving feedback from returning guests and we’re happy to hear that everything has been to your liking. We apologize for any inconveniences you experienced with the busy weekend but we appreciate knowing how helpful our Ambassadors were in assisting to your needs. Thank you for recommending our hotel and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

It was refreshing to see a hotel that actually looks even BETTER than it does in the online photos! The staff was awesome. I had 2 children traveling with me and they were all so sweet to the kids. It was a great hotel and I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The pool is small and indoors, but was nice because it wasn't crowded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbdeluca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRHR, General Manager at Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
We are happy to hear how impressed you were with our hotel upon your arrival and that we surpassed your expectations! We also appreciate you recognizing our Ambassadors on the level of service they provided during your family’s stay. Thank you for recommending our property and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Great location, walking distance to the SouthPark and great upscale restaurants like Ruth's Chris, McCormick & Schmicks, etc). The hotel rooms are nice and most have a view of the lobby area. The room service was great, too. My only issue was that a new staff member reactivated my registration by accident and I had to go through a few challenges in order to have the extra charge removed, but the hotel staff was very helpful throughout the process. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRHR, General Manager at Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for recognizing our hotel style and ideal location within SouthPark. I apologize for the mix up with your registration but appreciate your patience with our Ambassadors as they fixed everything. We hope you have the opportunity to return for another visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Booked 10 rooms for a group and stayed there myself. We were given a very good rate, the staff was easy to deal with and efficient, and once on-site I was absolutely delighted with the property, facilities and most of all the service. This is a wonderfully located, perfectly managed hotel and I would recommend it to ANYONE visiting Charlotte for any reason. I actually live in the Charlotte area so may not be staying here myself again, but it was simply outstanding ... and I am quite an experienced traveler!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeggyB3719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRHR, General Manager at Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
We appreciate your high recommendation for our hotel staff, service and amenities. It’s great to know that you and your group were able to enjoy our property and the SouthPark area during your stay. Though you may live in the area, we hope you have the opportunity to enjoy a stay-cation so we can see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm City, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Although a little more expensive, the location was great as we were visiting friends in the Southpark area and the abundance of restaurants & shopping nearby is the best it can be. Our room was very comfortable and the service was superior. Every evening at the check-in desk there was a complementary beverage and a sample of nuts all served in glass containers which was a nice touch. The Club Lounge served the very best evening h'orderves on any US Marriott I have been in and hot & cold complementary beverages were always available. I give the hotel top marks all around.

Room Tip: Get a room with club lounge access as it includes breakfast, comp beverages all day, computer w/prin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FLgolfer_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRHR, General Manager at Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
It’s great to know that you found your stay with us worth your while! The SouthPark area is ideal for discovering new restaurants that are local to our Charlotte city. We're delighted to know that we were able to provide you with the best evening h'orderves you’ve experienced. We hope you’ll find a reason to visit Charlotte again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Barclay Downs
Charlotte Marriott SouthPark
Charlotte Marriott SouthPark
#89 of 178 in Charlotte
37 reviews
Barclay Downs
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Charlotte - SouthPark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Charlotte SouthPark
#65 of 178 in Charlotte
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel

Property: Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel
Address: 5501 Carnegie Blvd, Charlotte, NC 28209-4627
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Barclay Downs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#5 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#6 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 264
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Renaissance Charlotte SouthPark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Charlotte
Charlotte Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing