We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Got to try it!”

McKoy's Smoke House and Saloon
Ranked #14 of 2,372 Restaurants in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$19
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Dining options: Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Decatur, Georgia
1 review
“Got to try it!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

BBQ is Great and the Mac n cheese and you get your money's worth. great location to the Four Points by Sheraton and light rail.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank gregory w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    133
    45
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worth, Illinois
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Burger & Brew”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My husband and I were in town for the Hot Rod Power Tour and staying at the Sheraton. We asked the gentleman at the front desk for suggestions and he mentioned McKoy's. We decided to check it out since it was within walking distance. Extremely pleased with the casual, relaxing atmosphere along with a great charcoal grilled burger and homemade mac & cheese!!! My husband had the pulled chicken sandwich and homemade fries. And yes, we split the fried cheesecake OMG...this meal was a supper way to start or trip. Service was excellent too.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MagRag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“smoked wings”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

great BBQ. smoked wings were awesome. portions were great. cool bar atmosphere but fine for families too.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank braxton w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twinsburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good BBQ”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Ordered - "Living the Dream"
Great name for a sampler plate

St Louis ribs, pork roast, chicken and pulled pork. All smoked over pecan wood

Ribs - 6 - The two ribs that I received were dry and not very meaty.

Pork roast - 7 - flavor and smoke ring was fantastic, but a little dry.

Pulled pork - 7 - very moist with a nice taste, not a lot of smoke like I would expected.

Chicken wing and thigh - 9 - absolutely fantastic, very smoky (not surprising because of pecan)

Collard greens - 8.5 - were great slightly sweet with a slight bit.

Fried okra - 4 - kind of mushy.

Great atmosphere. Did not get a chance to see the smoker or kitchen.

Overall dining experience - 7.5

Helpful?
Thank Scott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
103 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“So glad I took a chance!”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I were unsure, given the unknown area and the biker-themed Friday night (just not what we're into)...but I'm SO glad we decided to give it a shot! Not only was the food superb with great prices for massive portions, but the staff were so friendly that we felt like regulars! Would definitely recommend! If families are unsure, I saw several families eating just that fraction earlier (5.30-6.00pm).

Everything was perfectly cooked, and it's visitors speak for themselves: country stars, NFL stars and more. And a lot of screens with multiple sports channels. What's not to love?!

Helpful?
1 Thank sbrooks1623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed McKoy's Smoke House and Saloon also viewed

 

Been to McKoy's Smoke House and Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing