We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Sushi, Ambiance less so” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Zealand Cafe

New Zealand Cafe
Ranked #108 of 2,340 Restaurants in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: East Forest
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Sushi, Ambiance less so”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

The sushi here is both better and cheaper than anywhere else I've found in Charlotte. That probably explains why it is almost always crowded with a line waiting to get in. Still, the service manages to be efficient.

My way of dealing with this is to get to-go, as I find the inside dining to be too stressful to enjoy.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    35
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
152 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good Sushi Choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

It 's not fancy ... it's not fast food but it is a family run consistent restaurant that we enjoy to go to when we're casual. Good selection and service.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stuart G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Hands down the best Sushi in Charlotte”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

New Zealand should be number one here and I'm shocked that it isn't.This is in a small strip mall and used to be a secret. This is the freshest and best sushi in Charlotte. I've been eating here for 6 years now. The owner Jackie is a very nice man that is just trying to make his dreams come true! Kathy is the manager and has been for years. They are a great team. They know me and my family by name and always go out of their way to say hello. The servers there are personable and great at what they do. The big boss roll, master roll, lobster king roll, or any of there maki rolls are delicious. You get what you pay for that's for sure! The box dinners are delicious too and come with lots of goodies like crab rangoons, salad, skewers etc. Can't go wrong eating here. If there's a long wait get it togo!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nataliepurnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boca raton
Level Contributor
168 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“great rolls at good prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Went here on a recommendation from our waiters in a steak house the night before. They not only praised the food but also recommended we ask for Jackie the owner which we did.
Sat at the Sushi Bar which is small with only 5 stools. Met Jackie and he was most friendly and welcomed us to his restaurant. Had two orders of Gyoza (Pot Stickers) steamed and fried and three rolls: Master Roll, Lobster King Roll and Big Boss Roll all with Brown rice. The rolls were more than ample in size and content with a good variety of ingredients.
We eat sushi once a week near our home in Florida, so in comparison, a very good rating is high for us.
Worth the visit for the food and the friendliness.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Notanewbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
130 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Sushi, Big Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

This is another favorite of ours. We've been here several times for lunch & dinner
and have been impressed with the freshness of the food, inventiveness of the
preparation, and the solid consistency over a long period of time. This is a small
cafe which fills up at meal times. There is a nice vibe to the room & turnover is
fairly quick during the week. On weekends, there can be a wait for dinner. With
the recent sushi explosion in Charlotte, this place delivers on all levels.

The sushi menu is extensive & very fresh. The nigiri sushi selections are excellent.
Maki rolls are also available, with some standouts being a Volcano roll, Spicy Dragon
roll & a Caterpillar roll. Prices here are very reasonable.

Rounding out the menu are plate dinners including steak, chicken, noodles, seafood,
pork, & veggie paltters for those not eating sushi. Take out is also available. Check this
place out. You'll be very pleasantly surprised. Bring a group & share the plates!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Don D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed New Zealand Cafe also viewed

 

Been to New Zealand Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing