We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Strong BBQ offering”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sauceman's

Sauceman's
Ranked #38 of 2,354 Restaurants in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Strong BBQ offering”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

When we travel, especially in the South, our family likes to do the research and hit at least one good BBQ. Most often, we gravitate towards something that looks more like a stand than a restaurant. Sauceman's is a funky little place, and the food does not disappoint.

My son and I split a rack, which was very good. Your shirt will get stained. A little too much sauce on the rack, but the sauce, a traditional red, has just the right balance of twang and heat. The meat pulled easily from the bone, and it had a thick, woody crust. This is absolutely the choice if you dig the crust.

My daughter got a coarse chopped sandwich, eastern style white. The vinegar was not overwhelming and the key, of course, was the wood/smoke flavor.

Sides were killer, with probably some of the best collards I have ever had. Beans were solid, nothing fancy, nice and flavorful. The slaws, a red and a white, were both delicious. Hush puppies were spot on.

I engaged Octavius, the GM, and he was very kind and involved. He brought out a special white pepper sauce he claims had Alabama lineage. Very tasty. All around, a great experience and one I would highly recommend, at least if you enjoy being elbows deep in the process.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JimR310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    48
    9
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
McDonough, Georgia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not all the hype.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

Went there because of all the good reviews that were on this site. Maybe the chef was having a bad day when I went. Ordered the half rack of ribs with the white slaw and onion rings and
hush puppies. Portions were very good for the money. The best part was the onion rings very good flavor and the batter was flaky. Ribs had no flavor and were tough, slaw was okay a little runny for my taste. Hush puppies were sweet as well as dense.

The environment of the business was great loved the waitresses. Not a lot of parking places. So be warned.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank firgodes7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Best BBQ in Charlotte”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

We recently moved to the area and went looking for a good BBQ spot. So we took our family of 8 and ordered the tailgate special, fried corn, fried green tomatoes, red slaw and a meat sampler. Plenty of food for the bunch of us and it was all delicious! Staff was super friendly and even took a picture with us. Will definitely be going back again!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J_wilks04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Latham, New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“first NC bbq...not disappointed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Our first trip to Charlotte and our first NC bbq; this was our first stop based on reviews, and we were not disappointed. I had the pork, it was tender and delicious. And I think this was the first time I've ever had real hushpuppies, they have real flavor and texture - they were fantastic. White coleslaw was fresh and tasty. We were lucky, got there just before the lunch rush and got a table easily but the place sure filled up fast. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Very Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Stopped in to grab a quick lunch and was rewarded with some of the best BBQ I have ever had. They do BBQ and they do it very very well, any one of their menu items is a winner. Additionally their White Coleslaw has a very unique freshness to it that I have never experienced elsewhere, it is definitely something you should try. The only thing keeping it from being 5 stars is the cheese they use, it has a distinct "overly processed flavor" that I just can't get over.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank narv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Sauceman's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing