We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel I have ever seen”
Review of Golden Green Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Golden Green Hotel
Ranked #124 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Worst hotel I have ever seen”
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Staff was incredibly rude. Hallways and rooms disgustingly dirty. Stained carpets and the ceiling in the bathroom was rotting and falling down. You would be safer and cleaner sleeping on the street.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Tyler H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    6
    3
    5
    13
See reviews for
6
1
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

This place needs to be shut down! Rooms are gross and service is terrible. Drugs being sold right outside the rooms. I couldn't stay here, book a room anywhere other than here it doesn't get any worse.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JamesNcharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Charlotte hotels

Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2011

I have never been in a hotel so dirty. i didn't feel safe when i walked in the lobby. there was kids playing in the hall way.A guy outside the hotel trying to sale cd. and ect. no one was at the front desk doin check inn. when i did get someone. they where rude.there was no heat in the lobby or the room,when i ask bout the heat they sent up a heater for the room. how do u run a hotel with out heat. look like only half of the hotel rooms was for rent. someone need to call code informent on this place!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank catman49022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2010

This place should be shut down! The rooms were filthy. The staff was rude. The smoke-free environment reeked of marijuana. The clientele was scary and I never felt safe during my month long business trip. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone unless you're on the lam from the law or into drugs and prostitution...It's a true dump!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cianci64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2010

You can choose better...I chose this hotel because it was next door to the Bojangles arena. It was a business trip and I had read a few reviews and decided that it could not be that bad...I was dead wrong. The carpet was filthy w stains, you never really felt safe w the other guests, boogers on the wall next to toilet paper holder, hole around the shower head pipe was exposed(and so were you if there were a camera behind the wall) and did not have collar, found a half drank McCafe frappachino in my fridge, candy wrappers by the handfull next to the bed and the SMOKE FREE building WREAKED of smoke! (I had to shut off the A/C at night to not die in my sleep from second-hand smoke) I guess the topper, besides the smoke was when I had gone to grab for the iron and iron a shirt for the next day, I had grabbed for the iron and my hand touched on a pair of wet balled up panties that had been just recently thrown up by the iron!!!!!!!!!(I too heard the Pyscho music playing when my hand brushed them). Guess what management did????? Took $10 off my bill and sent me off with some vegetarian snacks.....You can choose better

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fourseasons24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, WA
1 review
Reviewed 3 November 2009

Not sure what the last guy was talking about. In town fork work and this place was great. Good value, clean, great service and AMAZING location. I was a block from the Arena. You can skip the cab and walk to everything you might need. I'll be back.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bryce1431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlie3444500
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2009

I wouldn't even let my dog sleep here! The people running this hotel don't know what they are doing. The water is filthy and the building unfit for habitation. It's like staying in the Third World in a 1 star dive!!!

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank charlie3444500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Rodeway Inn Charlotte \ Downtown
#133 of 178 in Charlotte
20 reviews
Continental Inn
#113 of 178 in Charlotte
53 reviews
Second Ward
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Uptown
East Forest
Best Western Plus Charlotte/Matthews Hotel
Second Ward
Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Green Hotel

Property: Golden Green Hotel
Address: 3024 E Independence Blvd, Charlotte, NC 28205-7037 (Formerly Independence Hotel)
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Golden Green Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Green Hotel is located on E. Independence Boulevard next to Ovens Auditorium within walking distance to Bojangles’ Coliseum and The Park Expo Center. The hotel is newly renovated with clean, quality rooms and meeting / Banquet facilities for up to 210 people at affordable prices. We offer Daily and Weekly pricing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing