We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly clean and very high quality”
Review of Golden Green Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Golden Green Hotel
Ranked #124 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Surprisingly the hotel is very clean and the quality of room can compare to 3 stars hotel, outside the building it might not look too attractive but really can't judge a book by its cover. The hotel is only 10 mins drive to uptown Charlotte and across is a vegan restaurant, that make it even better.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 88ek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
There are newer reviews for Golden Green Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2013

I have stayed in this green hotel several times when I travelled to Charlotte since 2009. It was clean and nice. I like it especially it was fully green - even the shampoo and bath gel they provided. The staff was friendly and helpful. I can see that they have been improving through these years.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Was forced to stay here because of the DNC but only stayed 3 days out of a five day stay. The 4th day the Whole hotel lost A/C with temps in the high 80's. I asked when it would be fixed and they said "soon, by tonight" Well when I came back at 10pm it still wasn't fixed and they then told me tomorrow. I was offered a fan. When tomorrow came it still was not fixed, and 90% of the hotel had left. I checked out and went next door to another remarkably nasty hotel the Econo Lodge, wrote a review bout them too. The owners lied to the guests trying to keep them in the hotel, but after 2 days most everyone left...and the hotel was full too. The rooms were not bad and the shower was nice, but none of that matters since it was 92 degrees in my room. Oh and the breakfast is pathetic, but that is getting to be the case at a lot of hotels nowadays.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank steve p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

In the first night I stayed in this hotel, the cold water faucet on my shower didn't work so only scalding hot water came out, water poured out of the ceiling when the person in the room above showered, the refrigerator leaked foul smelling water all over the floor and the wifi and TV didn't work properly. It actually got worse not better since on subsequent nights the power went out sporadically, the air conditioning stopped working, the stairwells smelled like urine and I noticed a few bugs in the hallways and stairwells. Every cab driver that dropped me off warned me to be careful, including one who advised that if I heard a commotion in the hallways, don't call the front desk, call the police. Because of a large convention and the fact I was part of a larger group, I was forced to stay at this hotel. If you have any other options, I strongly urge you stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: This hotel is not clean, not safe and you should NOT stay here.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AJB282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

I stayed at the Golden Green for 3 nights too long! The walls were dirty, the elevators smelled like cat urine, the hotel itself had an ungodly stench, the internet and wifi broke after day 1 and finally the last straw was the air conditioning breaking. The people working at the front desk were rude and unhelpful, especially in regards to the broken internet, wifi and air conditioning. The fact that this place is advertising itself as "premier hotel for clean and quality rooms" is extremely disturbing and misleading. Staying on a bench in downtown Charlotte would be cleaner and more enjoyable and you'd probably have a better chance of finding an internet connection.

Room Tip: Don't go here..EVER!
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JennaC522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Staff was incredibly rude. Hallways and rooms disgustingly dirty. Stained carpets and the ceiling in the bathroom was rotting and falling down. You would be safer and cleaner sleeping on the street.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Tyler H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

This place needs to be shut down! Rooms are gross and service is terrible. Drugs being sold right outside the rooms. I couldn't stay here, book a room anywhere other than here it doesn't get any worse.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank JamesNcharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Super 8 Charlotte Downtown Area
#112 of 178 in Charlotte
341 reviews
Continental Inn
#113 of 178 in Charlotte
53 reviews
Second Ward
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Uptown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montclaire South
Best Western Plus Sterling Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Green Hotel

Address: 3024 E Independence Blvd, Charlotte, NC 28205-7037 (Formerly Independence Hotel)
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Price Range: £48 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Golden Green Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Green Hotel is located on E. Independence Boulevard next to Ovens Auditorium within walking distance to Bojangles’ Coliseum and The Park Expo Center. The hotel is newly renovated with clean, quality rooms and meeting / Banquet facilities for up to 210 people at affordable prices. We offer Daily and Weekly pricing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Golden Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing