We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a value hotel - I'd use it again”
Review of Continental Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Continental Inn
Ranked #110 of 177 Hotels in Charlotte
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“a value hotel - I'd use it again”
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Two big beds, an efficient a/c unit, sood size-television, refrigerator, microwave, clean towels, clean bathroom, and breakfast... what more could you ask for?
Complaints about noisey cars and other guests at 5am... that is because they are rude. No hotel can muffle noise from some moron walking outside your door talking loudly or slamming car doors, put responsibility where it belongs.
Lastly, the breakfast area is clean, there is cereal, milk, some fruit, hard boiled eggs, a waffle maker (if you want the carbs), juice, and pastries. Convenient and included.
Didn't have to ask the staff for anything, but the desk clerk was courtious, had my reservation, and gave me my room key quickly. Couldn't ask for more.

Room Tip: quietest room would be 2nd floor, furthest from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ed t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    16
    11
    3
    7
See reviews for
10
14
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

I have stayed at this hotel twice and there is never a disappointment. The rooms are clean,this hotel is really lovely and well maintained. Customer service was superb very welcoming.
If you are in Charlotte, this is the place to stay and the rates are good as well.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikunj6383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2012

I visited the Continental inn last week,I enjoyed my time there,the front desk staff was great,he helped me with all my questions and concerns,I really enjoyed my stay and plan to return in the future. Every hotel doesnt offer great customer service and and nice place to stay . I think the best customer service I have ever received . These make you feel very welcome, & bend over backwards to insure that all of your needs are met. Very warm & friendly people.
Thank you!!!

Room Tip: I would prefer room on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nilay857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

The first red flag was at check-in; at 10pm I had to check in using a secured glass enclosure. As we walked into the double room, the door hit against one of the beds, and our non-smoking room smelled of heavy smoke. The doors are on the outside of the building and I could hear people walking along the balcony upstairs, and of course people were yelling down to the parking lot. Room and building are old and outdated and although looked clean, we did not feel it was clean at all and none of us slept well. Never again would I consider this hotel.

Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank owgimela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Continental I, Manager at Continental Inn, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
I am sorry for the inconvenience caused. I am surprised with the review as everyone is so much praising about the staff and cleanliness of the hotel in its proximity. I hope this does not happen to you next time when you visit the place. On behalf of management i make sure you will love the place next time.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at (704) 597-8100.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Mill, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Totally amazed by the cleanliness of this place! its so awesome for the money yo pay! i mean anyone can get an awesome room by paying lots of money but this place you can actually stay for less while keeping standards!
definitely wanna go back again! ask for the rooms on the top most floor as they are less used and newer!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Continental I, Manager at Continental Inn, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
Thank you for the review regarding your recent stay at our property.



Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.



If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at (704) 597-8100.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Last year, we chose the cheapest hotel we could find (around 40 dollars) and it left something to be desired. This year, I considered higher star hotels in the $120 range, but based on the reviews here, decided that the Continental Inn would be a good compromise. I was disappointed, as all three people in my group both agreed that the cheaper hotel from last year was even better!
First, the staff was fine - friendly and helpful, but not enough to make this place "worth it". As for the room: When you open the door, it actually hits one of the beds and can't fully open because of the tight space. That bed also is within one foot of the air conditioner, making it difficult to sleep in because the air is SO CLOSE to your face. (I slept on the far side of that bed, but the closer side wasn't acceptable). The room was clean enough, one hair in bathroom, but no biggie. They gave us plenty of towels and pillows The beds were well made. However, at first, I didn't even think they had mattress covers, because I could feel the seams/grooves in the mattress. But after I got in bed, I realized they had the cheapest possible ill-fitting mattress covers, and all three of use complained about them sliding around and bunching up under the sheets. Also, the hotel rooms are outside entrances only, meaning every single car that drives into the lot makes noise and keeps you from sleeping. The walls are so thin that fellow guests rolling their luggage woke me up. I generally sleep quite well, no matter where, but between the bunched up bed, air conditioning, and noise, I couldn't sleep much at all. :( Lastly, another reviewer recommended the breakfast, and the hotel website mentioned the hot breakfast including waffles and eggs. This was one of my deal-makers. However, the breakfast consisted of two cereals, a few packaged baked goods, a waffle maker, some hardboiled eggs and some old bananas. They had terrible apple juice and Sunny D orange juice. They needed to refill the butter and silverware (had to eat my waffle with a spoon rather than a fork). Now, don't get me wrong -- I expect this breakfast at your typical cheaper hotel, but I had higher expectations here.
All in all, this hotel was not worth the money. I woulld have been satisfied with it had it been the typical $40-50 cheapy hotel -- for which I have lower expectations. However, for that extra 25 bucks, I expected better. I would not stay again, even if the price was right. I don't often do reviews, and I again want to say that I have no complaints about the staff... but the hotel itself was outdated, too small, and needed small upgrades to make it even acceptable. I have reasonable expectations, but this just is not the place for me.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank justanote85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Continental I, Manager at Continental Inn, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
Thank you for the review regarding your recent stay at our property.



On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.



I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.



If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at (704) 597-8100.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2011

Our family stayed here while visiting my uncle. The rooms were clean. The location was great. We had a a flat tire one morning and the staff was more than helpful with finding us someone to help.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MicInLasVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Continental I, Manager at Continental Inn, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
Thank you for the review regarding your recent stay at our property. We are happy that you liked the place.



By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.



If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at (704) 597-8100.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Charlotte UNCC
Red Roof Inn Charlotte UNCC
#109 of 177 in Charlotte
3.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
7.4 mi away
Super 8 Charlotte Downtown Area
Super 8 Charlotte Downtown Area
#113 of 177 in Charlotte
3.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
4.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charlotte/Northlake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Charlotte/University Place
0.1 mi away
Motel 6 Charlotte
Motel 6 Charlotte
#159 of 177 in Charlotte
3.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sleep Inn University Place
Sleep Inn University Place
#78 of 177 in Charlotte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continental Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Inn

Property: Continental Inn
Address: 1100 W Sugar Creek Rd, Charlotte, NC 28213-5420
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 177 Hotels in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Continental Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Continental Inn located off Interstate 85 in Charlotte. After a long, tiring day on the road, there's nothing better than checking into a motel that offers the best location, the most amenities and a totally stress free environment. If you want truly affordable Luxury, look no further! Choosing this Continental Inn will be the easiest part of your trip. At the Continental Inn, we want you to enjoy your stay and to help make sure that happens we offer beautiful, clean rooms, to help you relax at the end of a busy day. Amenities: Free hot deluxe Breakfast w/ Eggs and waffles, Free High Speed Wi-Fi Internet, Free Local and Long Distance calls, Micro/Fridge in rooms, Cable TV with HBO in All Rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Continental Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing